We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“motorhome”
Review of The Black Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Black Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Fearby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fab weekend camping, certainly a bonus with the good weather. Beautiful scenery and plenty of walks too. Masham town centre and Druids Wood being just 2 of them. Campsite quiet and relaxing. Pub food OK but a bit pricey. Toilets and showers fine, clean and plenty of hot water. Excellent range of beers in pub. Would definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here on Monday night and was very impressed, the room was fantastic with amazing views of North Yorkshire, the food in the restaurant was excellent as well as the Breakfast worth every penny and would defo stay here again fully recommended.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've stayed in dozens of pubs over the years on biking trips and this was one of the very best. It ticked all the boxes I need in an overnight stay; friendly staff, big room, great shower and cracking breakfast. Looks a bit like a 'drinkers pub' from the outside but that belies the overall package once you get through the door. The staff were friendly and efficient and couldn't have done more to make the stay a good one. Great bar with good ales and even better locals to spend time with! Food was excellent on the evening (fish and chips) and the breakfast one of the best I've had - some of the thickest bacon rashers I've ever seen! Room (room 9) was big, spotlessly clean, full of every mod con needed with a large bathroom and powerful hot shower. Parking round the back was secure for the bike and a great place to sit with a pint looking down the valley. At £75 not the cheapest place, but definitely not the priciest - felt like good value for money. Great stay, will definitely be back if in this neck of the woods.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a great size with large bathroom although is up some steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night mid week voucher break in a secluded cellar room. Very friendly with a large choice of good food, breakfast was great, I have never had bacon rashers so thick. My partner enjoyed the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The weather wasn't on our side, a bit damp so will try to return here when the weather improves.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed on the campsite with a group of friends during a canoeing trip to this part if Yorkshire.
We booked a table for dinner on Saturday evening and made good use of the pub in the evening and used the breakfast service too.
The whole party enjoyed their various meals very much and the selection of drinks available including some alcohol-free ones was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank s-teal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just back from 2 nights. Room was massive (room1), we paid for the upgraded room. Room was spotlessly clean and so was the bathroom. Shower worked well and water was piping hot. Heating in the room is underfloor however it was really hot (24.5 degrees) asked for it to be turned down which she did but this wasn't During the first night I woke up 3 times and had to stand at the door to let the heat out,during the second only twice.

Breakfast was good, bacon was the best I've tasted and more like bacon skeak. They do not however use skimmed or semi skimmed milk. It's full fat all the way. The land lady did however goto her flat and bring me a small jug of her own. I still can't believe that they did not have a choice.

We had dinner on both evenings, there isn't a choice of places to eat unless you drive.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JaneDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We saw an offer for this accommodation with Living Social and asked friends, 2 couples if they were up for it, so when the suggestion is yours you are always concerned will everything be ok!! Our concerns were completely unnecessary. Accommodation suburb, absolutely huge bed but because the room was really big and I mean big it was great, and very comfortable. We ate on our first night and the "fearby whale" was just that and enjoyed by two of the party. The breakfast was fantastic and choices extensive, where do you get offered smoked haddock, kippers, and full breakfast to name some. The bacon is the best I have ever had, thanks to Rodgers butchers also in Masham (2 miles from the hotel), 3 purchases of which was made before we left. Although rooms for the offer were limited we upgraded for £10 per couple per night still so very worth the money spent, but in saying that we would return and pay the normal price.

Room Tip: Any superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HONESTY573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fearby
1.5 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
428 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
421 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#3 of 7 in Masham
230 reviews
2.2 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Inn

Address: Fearby | Nr Masham, Fearby, Masham HG4 4NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham > Fearby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fearby
Price Range: £61 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Swan Public House comfortably nestled in the Yorkshire Dales at Fearby Nr Masham. Our 17 century Public House offers a warm traditional welcome as you would expect in the Yorkshire Dales. Enjoying three continuous generations of the McCourt family our pub now provides guest accommodation accompanying our Ales and food, "An ideal base to explore the Yorkshire dales and beyond" The public bar and majority of rooms overlook the Burn valley with 40 mile views of the Vale of York and local moors. The Bar is well stocked with Black Sheep and guest ales with a host of supporting lagers, bottle beers and soft drinks. Home-cooked bar meals are served during lunchtime and our bistro is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Black Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Masham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing