We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place for a lame visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canyon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“nice place for a lame visit”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is very clean place located near the west texas state university campus. Clean rooms and safe parking. You can walk on the campus nearby for exercise if the wind is not blowing 500 MPH!!!! No complaints about this motel but the town is dead and dry as they get. Don't plan on any social hour anywhere for 20 miles.

Room Tip: This is a dry city so no drinks for visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    78
    29
    15
    10
See reviews for
96
43
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was my fourth time to stay at this hotel, and I have been happy every time. It is right around the corner from WTAMU. The front desk staff are nice and helpful, the hotel is clean and quiet. The rooms are large, and there is free wi-fi. The air conditioners in the rooms work great! The parking lot is on the small side, and the elevator is small and loud, but we've never had a problem with it. I've only gone down to the free breakfast once, it was a typical continental breakfast, not the greatest food, but they did have cereal and it will hold you over until lunch. Canyon is a small town, but Amarillo is only a 15 minute drive away if you need a mall or restaurant. Pizza places will deliver to the hotel, and once we ordered from the restaurant next door and they delivered to the hotel, but I'm not sure if they still do. If you go to Canyon in the summer, be sure to see the show TEXAS in Palo Duro Canyon. Very entertaining! We will stay at the Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4andadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on the first floor. The hotel was very average, but conveniently located to The Palo Duro Canyon. The walls were very thin and the floor above us squeaked! This made for a disturbing sleep. Breakfast was decent and served its purpose. The shower had very poor drain and shower head probably should be updated to conserve water.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canyon, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Gkwigs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I wanted to give this hotel 3 1/2 stars but there wasn't an option. I would say it's between "good" and "very good." The hotel is dated but clean. The carpet is what makes it look so dated. As others have stated, the elevator was pretty scary. I have never heard anything like it in my life. We took the stairs when we could to avoid it. Our two bedroom suite was nice and clean and had three TVs! We didn't have much chance to watch TV but wow, that was nice. The beds were very comfortable. Our air conditioner didn't work very well, though. It worked in the living room area but not the bedroom. There were two showers which I didn't expect, but it was almost comical because the showers my kids used had a blinking light that reminded us of being in the middle of a horror show. I literally had to close my eyes when I was in there so I wouldn't get dizzy. I am sure they would have fixed it if I had called but I didn't bother.
Breakfast was okay but not as good as I've had at other hotels. Still, a nice option.
All in all, we would stay here again. It's right down the street from the Panhandle Plains Museum and not far from the canyon. It is the closest hotel without staying in the park itself, but it is not as close to the canyon as we hoped and thought. It's not exactly a hop, skip and a jump.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_TXMom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Conveniently located in town. Bedding was comfortable. Rooms are quiet and good isolation from noise. Doors close quietly but securely.

Not a lot of food options nearby. Between the holidayinn and the alternative (a best western which is immediately adjacent) there is a restaurant called thundering bufflao. It is the only place in town that serves alcohol. Margaritas are good - food items were traditional bar/pub fare

The inconveniences part.
Regarding the noisy elevator (the previous contributor mentioned) - yes its still noisy. And the inspection certificate expired on may9-2013 (i stayed there in early june).

The wireless pw they gave me upon arrival did not work. They desk gave me another and it worked ok until the following morning. But then it indicated it was invalid (not too much of an issue since i had a wireless hotspot on my phone via pdanet). But I did mention to the front desk, and they said the pw changes each tues morn. The individual at the desk did provide an updated one, but it didnt work initially either and required another.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyBtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canyon, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear JimmyBtx,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Also, thanks for pointing out the convenience of our location.

I am truly sorry for the discomforts you had with the noise from the elevator. Additionally, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience our WiFi service has caused you.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here one night before going to see a show over at Palo Duro Canyon. From the other reviews I expected a nice Holiday Inn Express. First thing I noticed when we walked in was that the hotel was dingy looking. The front desk person was not very helpful. We then headed to our room and the walls and the floors near the elevator were dirty and the elevator sounded like it was about to fall apart! It was a bit scary! I have never heard an elevator sound so bad. The carpet in the elevator looked really dirty. The halls were warm and again did not look or smell inviting. Our room however did appear clean. The bed was fine. The AC worked well and the internet was good. Even with this, I would not stay here again as I just was really surprised how bad everything else appeared.

Room Tip: One where you don't have to use the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsg560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canyon, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear dsg560,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that note please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

I hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

I specifically chose this hotel bases upon the EXCELLENT service I got when I booked the room, arrived to the hotel, and stayed for a few days. I was excited about coming back and receiving the same wonderful service only to be highly disappointed that the overall service was nowhere NEAR what I experienced before. There was no hot water the 1st night, but I thought maybe it was because they were doing a significant amount of laundry and didnt complain, but did ask for an extra chamomile tea bag for my room and was told by the front desk that there was none. Night 2 STILL without hot water I called the front desk only to be put on hold for so long I had to hang up and wait for the line to be free. When I told the girl there was no hot water she told me that no one else had any complaint --- so I asked her "well do I news to move hotels or arrested you going to give me another room?!" And with a "I could care less" tone informs me that it doesn't matter to her what I do... since we were in the middle of dressing for an event we were heading to (hence the need to shower with hot water), we chose to take a room that she said "its all we have left. This was the same person who told me that there were no rooms available when I had asked if I could make a reservation for an extra night, yet when I hung up and went online to make a reservation for a extra night, there were plenty of rooms available INCLUDING a king suite with a whirlpool tub, per the room description.
There's just NO sense of "yes, we want you to come back again! " this go around.
We have to come back here in June---- I will look for another hotel to stay in.
Very sad... if this is the way HI has become towards their Priority member guests, or ANY quest, it's time for me to choose another hotel for my trips both business ad personal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canyon, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Sam R,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with your room accommodations and the service you received which affected your stay negatively. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
646 reviews
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canyon
Address: 2901 4th Avenue, Canyon, TX 79015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to Palo Duri Canyon. Winner of 2009 Best of Canyon Award for 2 consecutive years. Brand new look, same great service! Let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Canyon show you what 'Great, Texas Hospitality' is all about at our beautiful hotel located in Canyon, Texas. Canyon is a Texas Main Street City. Palo Duro State Park is located 12 miles from our hotel, this is the 2nd largest Canyon in the US, with hiking, biking, horseback riding trails, Jeep rides, and cowboy breakfast on the rim of canyon. It is also the home of the 'Texas outdoor musical drama. There are also many tourist attractions within walking distance, including the Panhandle Plains Historical Museum, which is one of the largest historical museums in the state of Texas. West Texas A&M University is located within one block of the hotel. The WTAMU Event Center is located within two blocks of the hotel. Two eighteen hole golf courses within 10 miles. Amarillo, Texas is approximately 18 miles offering American Quarter Horse Museum, Cadillac Ranch, PRCA Rodeo, Ranch Rodeo, Wonderland Park, Discovery Center, Splash Water Park, Sports World and major shopping malls. Downtown Amarillo is approximately 20 miles from the hotel on I-27. Excellent hunting areas are close by. Buffalo Southwest Café is located directly next door. Visit Canyon, TX and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canyon Hotel Canyon
Holiday Inn Canyon
Canyon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing