We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canyon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Superb location!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Being adjacent to the university and a straight 12-mile shot from Palo Duro Canyon benefits both the guest and Holiday Inn Express Canyon. In addition, the world-class Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum is just down the street, something that justifies another night's stay in our opinion.

Go elsewhere for a "hotel experience." The hotel enjoys its location and resulting high demand, "very" high demand according to the hotel staff and what my wife and I saw. During our stay, the numerous turnaways from walk-ins and last-minute callers were continuous. We felt smart to have reserved a space well in advance to get under that roof.

I've already spoken of three things that drive the elevated price: university, museum, canyon. As a hotel experience, however, we thought Holiday Express Canyon was overpriced compared to other locations using this brand. Minor touches could have made a difference, and we think they matter. "The art is in the details." Pull the weeds around the entryway, wipe the breakfast tables when customers leave, and install vent fans in the bathrooms. ABOVE ALL improve the weak, painfully slow wireless connection. (In 2014, practically on a university campus? S'up with that?)

Breakfast was very crowded, understaffed, and poorly presented for crowd control. The very nice lady managing the breakfast all by herself was friendly in the craziness while working nonstop. There were too many people for the space, and the space itself was very poorly managed with almost everything on the buffet crowded into an overcrowded corner. Spread it out! (This is something we have experienced at other corporate hotels.)

The wonderful staff is why we give this place a Very Good rating. It has good reason to be stellar, we think, but it doesn't have to be because the business is there, in spades.

Get a reservation - and help the sincere staff not have to explain continually why you cannot get in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    84
    32
    15
    11
See reviews for
105
45
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights while visiting Palo Duro Canyon. All staff were very friendly, room was nice, I recommend Holiday Inn Express Canyon if you visit this area. Full breakfast was just OK taste.
We didn't have a chance to enjoy the swimming pool, but it looked nice with jacuzzi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimicalarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The manager, Angel Torres, was disrespectful and rude. When I went to check in he did not have the room I had reserved, with 2 doubles. I had four people with me so this was important. He said this was all he had and could make no substitutions. When I stated that I had booked over a month in advance to get this room he replied that he would cancel the room and not charge me for the night. How generous! No effort to apologize or offer any compensation. When I asked if he had any rooms with 2 beds he said they were reserved for other guests. When I stated that I also had a room with 2 beds reserved he told me I had NO ROOM and he was calling the police if I did not leave. I told him I had no other reservations and did not intend to leave. He then gave me the "wrong' room and we checked in reluctantly. I was with my guests and they all commented they had never seen anything like this. I have been a business traveler for over 20 years and neither had I ever been treated so rudely. Plus I was staying on points which shows that I have been a loyal guest over the years. He later apologized to my wife for his behavior and said he hoped I was not too upset. Not even enough integrity to say it to my face. I sent this email to Holiday Inn and the hotel with absolutely no response,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Siena74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canyon, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Siena74,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had with your room reservation and the service you encountered did not live up to your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnsboro, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were traveling as a family with my dad, sister, niece and my daughter, so we had reserved a 2 bedroom suite with a sofa bed. There was a king size bed and a queen size bed.. It was perfect for us. Close to the canyon and about the price for two rooms. Great breakfast and coffee downstairs most of the day. Just down the street from the Panhandle Plains museum, located on the college campus. It was a mild day for Texas in July but the AC worked great and had separate controls for each room. I like a soft bed and the queen size bed was pretty firm, but I didn't check the King size bed. Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the elevator are pretty noisy, so pick one on the ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurer2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I decided to ride to Canyon, Texas to see the Palo Dura Canyon. We didn't reserve a room in advance and were lucky to find this nice hotel. Check-in was good. The room was very clean and comfortable. Loved the shower head and the soft bed! Breakfast was good too! Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stopped for two nights and had an outstanding stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was amazingly friendly. They had a nice pool that entertained my older children and they are extremely pet friendly. It is walking distance to the Prairie Plains Museum, as well as several eating establishments. I will definitely stay here again should my travels take me back to the Canyon area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Got into this hotel after stopping at another Holiday Inn Express in Amarillo after a long drive. It was about 12 AM. The first hotel did not have any vacancies for one night, so she called this one and they said they had one for one night. We drove over and got in right away.

The hotel was nice and the room was very clean and comfortable. We slept well and got up and had breakfast. The staff was very friendly, the hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
14.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canyon
Address: 2901 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to Palo Duri Canyon. Winner of 2009 Best of Canyon Award for 2 consecutive years. Brand new look, same great service! Let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Canyon show you what 'Great, Texas Hospitality' is all about at our beautiful hotel located in Canyon, Texas. Canyon is a Texas Main Street City. Palo Duro State Park is located 12 miles from our hotel, this is the 2nd largest Canyon in the US, with hiking, biking, horseback riding trails, Jeep rides, and cowboy breakfast on the rim of canyon. It is also the home of the 'Texas outdoor musical drama. There are also many tourist attractions within walking distance, including the Panhandle Plains Historical Museum, which is one of the largest historical museums in the state of Texas. West Texas A&M University is located within one block of the hotel. The WTAMU Event Center is located within two blocks of the hotel. Two eighteen hole golf courses within 10 miles. Amarillo, Texas is approximately 18 miles offering American Quarter Horse Museum, Cadillac Ranch, PRCA Rodeo, Ranch Rodeo, Wonderland Park, Discovery Center, Splash Water Park, Sports World and major shopping malls. Downtown Amarillo is approximately 20 miles from the hotel on I-27. Excellent hunting areas are close by. Buffalo Southwest Café is located directly next door. Visit Canyon, TX and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canyon Hotel Canyon
Holiday Inn Canyon
Canyon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing