We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great overview” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum

Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.00*
and up
Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum Admission
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dubbed the largest history museum in Texas, visitors are wowed by the more than three million artifacts pertaining to the vivid past of the Panhandle region. Exhibits explore subjects such as Western heritage, paleontology and fine arts.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great overview”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We liked the variety of exhibits from autos, indians, oil drilling, weapons, and prehistoric skeletons. I think we managed in about 2 hours to see a good selection of the entire museum.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    55
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

After looking at the huge hole in the ground we decided to check out the town and found this place. It was pretty fun seeing the old things and learning the history of the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I'm not a museum person, but my husband is so we went. I found this very interesting; it held my interest throughout. Nice selection of female fashion of various eras. Lots to see and fun to walk around this art deco building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank purplegrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“very good museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was traveling through and I wanted to know more about the history of the Texas Panhandle. I really made of good choice by choosing this museum, that's for sure! The museum is very large. I could not stay long enough unfortunately as my husband who doesn't like museums was with me (we came all the way by car from Canada)... I really liked the Pioneer Town, it was really awesome. As I was travelling all the way from Canada, it was interesting for me to know what crops grow here and what people are living from (agriculture, oil, etc.). They also showed the different people that lived in the area first (American Indian, people of Spanish origin coming from New Mexico, Americans etc.) The only thing I was a bit disappointed about is that they didn't say a thing about the droughts that affect the area and how the people (especially farmers) deal with it. They showed a video about how farmers have been living for the past century but not a word about droughts. I would suggest to add something about it.

There was a nice souvenir store. We found the museum really hard to find. There are good signs on the road but it is very easy not to see the museum as it is part of the university.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluff Dale, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Museum Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This museum has a bit of everything, It is so well displayed, you can spend hours
wandering around. The volunteers were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely
be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing