We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”

Pepito's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Canyon
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Pepito's has been in Canyon for a long time now and is close to being second generational. My kids liked it when they were in grade school, and now both have graduated college and still ask to go to Pepito's when they come back home for visits. The menu hasn't really changed much over the years -- sorta reminds me of that old adage, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." The menu has lots of Tex-Mex staples and classics, but also has some owner family recipes that are tempting. Wait staff is usually composed of local university students, and kitchen staff are usually family members who all trace their training back to a grandmother. Quality and taste are always very good to outstanding. Their best feature: it's all consistently good, unlike many other, similar places, especially the chains.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    32
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Walk in and the smell of B.O. is overpowering”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This place is always busy, and I have no clue why! The one and only time I went in, the smell of Body Odor was so overpowering I lost my appetite and left!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilsJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The food was okay but I am so spoiled by California's Mexican restaurants. I had a cheese enchiladas, taco and tamale with a side of rancho beans. It was good but not great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Granddarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay food but nothing to brag about.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Came here based on good reviews and just weren't too impressed. The restaurant is cute on the inside but the food wasn't as good as other reviews made it out to be. The staff seemed very over worked and tired even with a small crowd of tables to wait on. It's okay food but nothing to brag about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SPayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice little surprise”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We needed to find something fast and close so we landed here. We were a little wary because the outside leaves a little to be desired, but once inside it was a cute, clean place. The food was really good, which is the most important thing, right? I would definitely eat there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_TXMom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepito's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pepito's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing