We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming historic home, beautifully furnished” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming historic home, beautifully furnished”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed for two evenings - toured the history museum, saw the Texas show, and hiked around Palo Duro Canyon. Couldn't have had a nicer place to come "home" to. We also found our fellow guests to be super friendly and enjoyed visiting with them over coffee each morning, just before breakfast was served. They also have a very nice collection of books about the history of the area, which are fun to browse.

Room Tip: The couple above us (3rd floor) asked if we heard them in the morning because they said the floors w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kb-austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
So glad you made time to visit the Panhandle Plains Historic museum...truly a gem in Canyon! The morning conversations among guests during coffee and breakfast provides good stories and laughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    28
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
190
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Lovely home and our rooms were very nice and comfortable. Our hosts Jill and Van could not have been more gracious and accommodating. We have to return next year to see the Texas show and we will definitely stay here again.
Breakfast was amazing.
The other guests were very friendly and talkative and I think the atmosphere in this home makes people more out going.
Thank you for a great stay. I recommend this B&B, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrytraveler021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We definately want you come back to enjoy the TEXAS musical next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The house itself is gorgeous and full of character, the owners are wonderful and friendly hosts, and it makes for a beautiful getaway. The tea and cookies being served at check-in were delicious, the coffee was available at 7:30 in the morning which was fantastic, and the breakfast was amazing. I highly recommend visiting this lovely bed and breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Georgia O'Keefe room which features a bathroom that is the size or nearly the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Most of our guests have traveled at least 4 hours before arriving at our B&B. However, we love to host locals like you to experience a nice getaway without having to go far. We hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My sisters and brother stayed one night in this lovely B&B. We were greeted most graciously by Jill and given a quick tour of the rooms we were staying in. The tea and brownies were delicious, the rooms were charming and quite comfortable. The breakfast was very enjoyable and filling. Our only regret was that we forgot to purchase Hudspeth House mugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
It was so fun to see a group of sisters accompanied by their brother spending time together. Even though he was a little outnumbered, he seemed quite happy to be with family. Thank you for choosing Hudspeth House to unite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was our first stay at any Bed & Breakfast and we can truly say it was picture perfect. Jill and Van are most gracious hosts, the lodging was excellent and breakfasts most yummy. It was ...like visiting old friends. We would recommend the Hudspeth House without any questions or qualifications.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Bed and Breakfast are definately a unique lodging experience. They all offer different amenities and surroundings. Thank you for letting us be your first B&B. We know that you will enjoy searching for others throughout your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had the downstairs room, spacious and beautiful and so comfortable. Lovely dining room with delicious breakfast. Great place to stay, canyon and musical wonderful and gracious host & hostess! Can't wait to go again!
ADA room needs a stool for shorter people to get up on the bed which is higher than most but really comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmlld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
So glad you enjoyed the TEXAS musical! This is their 48th season and better than ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a delightful experience to stay in the Hudspeth House and particularly in the "Hudspeth Room." Jill and Van were gracious hosts, and Jill's breakfast was a culinary delight. I would like to return and invite my sister to share this wonderful experience at this delightful bed and breakfast. After living in Canyon while attending the university, my sister and I lived in bare bones apartments for college students. It was so nice to return to sleep and dine in style. My husband and I had a great time visiting with our breakfast mates. My only regret is not taking the time to swing on the porch swing or rock in the rockers. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The Hudspeth room has a comfy king size bed and is on the first floor so you don't have to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danadavistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
We would love to have you return with your sister and enjoy some time on the porch. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
9.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
14.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing