We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Comfort in the Panhandle!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint Comfort in the Panhandle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Beautiful grounds and exceptionally well decorated with peiod antiques! The rooms were very comfortable and the beds were exceptional! The owners were kind and considerate and arranged accomodations for our late arrival. The breakfasts were tasty and the French Toast was world class! The front porch offered a soothing respite from a long, but enjoyable trek through Palo Duro Canyon! Highly recommend the Hudspeth House!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chloe Room--very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captredball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Your kind words are such an encouragement, as we strive to offer hospitality with the upmost priority. It was a pleasure to host you and your friends during the "birthday" getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    28
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
190
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed two nights in the Chloe room and visited Palo Duro Canyon, the history museum and town square. The Hudspeth House is beautifully maintained by Jill and Van, who are very friendly and prepare a terrific breakfast. The room is spacious and comfortable for two people. The history includes Georgia O'Keeffe taking many breakfasts here when she taught at the college for several years.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Autumn is a wonderful season to spend in our area! After taking in Palo Duro Canyon, I'm sure you see how Georgia O'Keeffe was inspired by it's vast beauty and array of colors. We are pleased that you let us host you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A gracious welcome to the lovely common area, the Sophie Room exactly what we expected, and just the help and guidance we needed to enjoy Palo Duro Canyon, Canyon City and its attractions. The restaurant suggestions were excellent, the encouragement to visit the Museum right on, and their own breakfasts superb. Would return for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We really do have a nice variety of restaurants in this small town and an incredible museum that would rival any in a large city. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in the Lighthose room. It was just as described on the website, charming,comfortable and intimate. We were very pleased with our choice, even having to climb two full flights of stairs to get there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMcGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
There is something cozy about small rooms. We are happy that you found our website pictures and descriptions to closely reflect our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Hudspeth House is a lovely restored home with wonderful caretakers. Jill and Van really make you feel at home. Enjoyed Palo Duro Canyon and would like to return again and see the "Texas" musical. Would definitely stay at Hudspeth House next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Glad that you appreciated our historic 1909 structure...lots of character and history in old homes. We look forward to serving you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

What a hidden gem. I travel through the Texas Panhandle region every year, and found this hidden gem a few years ago. This is the best place to stay near Amarillo, and is very convenient to the Palo Duro Canyon.

Truly wonderful rooms, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. The Georgia O'Keefe room at the top of the stairs is especially nice.

The breakfast is very tasty and filling. The oatmeal waffles are worth the calorie splurge, definitely give them a try.

The hosts are warm, welcoming, and friendly. Highly recommended, a great destination, and a great value. A+++.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We have enjoyed hosting you and your sightseeing friends in the past and found your wife to be a joy as well. Several couples like yourself find our location to be a good halfway spots on their way to Colorado or New Mexico. Thanks for returning to us each year and sharing us with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in Canyon overnight after seeing the musical "Texas" out at Palo Duro Canyon. Little town of Canyon is about 20 minute drive from the outdoor musical site. Like most B&Bs Hudspeth is restored home. Full of vintage furnishings, serves a great breakfast, and has very nice period rooms. Only negative was the bath was soooooo small. Could barely sit on the toilet and could hear every word thru the shower wall from the bath right next door. But it's a minor gripe to an otherwise wonderful experience. And to make it even better if you call ahead they will get your musical tks and dining passes for you included in total cost. Saves lots of hassle!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNEAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your helpful comments and purchasing the TEXAS package this summer. We have partnered with TEXAS the past 3 years to provide guests a great place to stay, eat and tickets to the outdoor musical for one price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
9.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
14.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing