We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, not great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The host and hostess were excellent. Friendly, and helpful. Everything was clean, and decorated pleasantly. Location was perfect. The bed was comfy, but high. Really, it helped to have the step stool getting in and out. The bathroom was very tight. Too small for ease of use. The shower was so small it was difficult to use it comfortably. There is a very cozy room downstairs for drinks and conversation. Plus, Georgia O'keefe used this home for room and board between 1916 and 1918, according to the Museum one block away. Historically cool.

The breakfast was spare our first morning, Saturday, as we had to leave very early morning for the Palo Duro Trail Run. Coffee and light snack, understandable. Sunday the breakfast was served at 8:30am, but we had to leave for home at 7:15 am, and nothing was available, not even coffee. Disappointing. Noise at night from a nearby train track woke me more than once.

I might stay here again, but might also consider someplace quieter, and with a larger, more functional bathroom.

Room Tip: One with a lower bed and away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We appreciate your comments and wish you had experienced a better night's sleep. Unfortunately, there is a busy train track that can be heard throughout town and can be a bit annoying during the winter months when the wind blows from the north and no leaves on trees to quiet the sound.
The room you chose does have a very small bathroom which is stated on our website. There are larger rooms that offer more space within the bathroom. It was a busy weekend and other rooms may not have been available.
We did accommodate our guests that were participating in the early morning run in the Canyon with coffee, fruit, yogurt and bagels. As stated in our policies and confirmations, our "sit-down" breakfast is served at 8:30am and coffee is available beginning at 7:30am. We regret that you were unable to join us, but definitely understand when guests need to get on the road earlier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    28
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
191
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Beautiful grounds and exceptionally well decorated with peiod antiques! The rooms were very comfortable and the beds were exceptional! The owners were kind and considerate and arranged accomodations for our late arrival. The breakfasts were tasty and the French Toast was world class! The front porch offered a soothing respite from a long, but enjoyable trek through Palo Duro Canyon! Highly recommend the Hudspeth House!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chloe Room--very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captredball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Your kind words are such an encouragement, as we strive to offer hospitality with the upmost priority. It was a pleasure to host you and your friends during the "birthday" getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed two nights in the Chloe room and visited Palo Duro Canyon, the history museum and town square. The Hudspeth House is beautifully maintained by Jill and Van, who are very friendly and prepare a terrific breakfast. The room is spacious and comfortable for two people. The history includes Georgia O'Keeffe taking many breakfasts here when she taught at the college for several years.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Autumn is a wonderful season to spend in our area! After taking in Palo Duro Canyon, I'm sure you see how Georgia O'Keeffe was inspired by it's vast beauty and array of colors. We are pleased that you let us host you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A gracious welcome to the lovely common area, the Sophie Room exactly what we expected, and just the help and guidance we needed to enjoy Palo Duro Canyon, Canyon City and its attractions. The restaurant suggestions were excellent, the encouragement to visit the Museum right on, and their own breakfasts superb. Would return for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We really do have a nice variety of restaurants in this small town and an incredible museum that would rival any in a large city. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in the Lighthose room. It was just as described on the website, charming,comfortable and intimate. We were very pleased with our choice, even having to climb two full flights of stairs to get there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMcGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
There is something cozy about small rooms. We are happy that you found our website pictures and descriptions to closely reflect our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Hudspeth House is a lovely restored home with wonderful caretakers. Jill and Van really make you feel at home. Enjoyed Palo Duro Canyon and would like to return again and see the "Texas" musical. Would definitely stay at Hudspeth House next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Glad that you appreciated our historic 1909 structure...lots of character and history in old homes. We look forward to serving you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

What a hidden gem. I travel through the Texas Panhandle region every year, and found this hidden gem a few years ago. This is the best place to stay near Amarillo, and is very convenient to the Palo Duro Canyon.

Truly wonderful rooms, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. The Georgia O'Keefe room at the top of the stairs is especially nice.

The breakfast is very tasty and filling. The oatmeal waffles are worth the calorie splurge, definitely give them a try.

The hosts are warm, welcoming, and friendly. Highly recommended, a great destination, and a great value. A+++.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We have enjoyed hosting you and your sightseeing friends in the past and found your wife to be a joy as well. Several couples like yourself find our location to be a good halfway spots on their way to Colorado or New Mexico. Thanks for returning to us each year and sharing us with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
9.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
14.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing