We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This bed and breakfast is cute, homey, and was the perfect place to stay for us to explore Palo Duro and Caprock Canyons -- beautiful Texas state parks! At Hudspeth, we had a delicious and gourmet breakfast each morning - the 'Palo Duro sunrise' egg dish was my favorite. The owner's are very friendly and helpful with suggestions around the area, everything from restaurants to shopping to the best hiking trails. My husband and I were in the Sophie room and were very happy with everything. It is an interesting piece of history and unique to stay in the same place as Georgia O'Keefe did in the past. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneandJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
How nice that you got to explore both Palo Duro & Caprock Canyon...both beautiful but different. The Palo Duro Sunrise dish we served gets it's name from the warm colors of the paprika, cheese and cayenne blended on top of the egg, sausage and gravy combination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    28
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
190
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We really enjoyed our weekend and could tell all the little details had been carefully considered. A highlight for me was the homemade orange scone. :) I would recommend this B&B to others staying in the area!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KSirakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
So nice the weather worked out for your hiking plans in the Canyon. Thanks for staying with us and we will have the scones ready next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Hudspeth House is a charming, well-kept old house with a very interesting history -- it was actually built from a Sears & Roebuck boarding house kit! The rooms are gorgeous and very comfortable, and the gracious owners will treat you like old friends. Breakfast, served in their beautiful dining room, was delicious. My favorite thing was the porch swing -- such peace! Will definitely stay there again on our next trip to this area!

Room Tip: Be aware that the Lighthouse Room, on the 3rd floor, does NOT have a shower. You will bathe in a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We were impressed that you had done your research on all the great finds in Canyon and Amarillo...trail rides, drive-in movie theater, great restaurants and more. The weather was nice for relaxing on the porch after your fun-filled day. We hope you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Thank you for a lovely stay. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts were delightful and hosts friendly, helpful and kind. Would appreciate a more in depth list of things to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We are glad you chose to stay with us for several nights and explore our area. The Canyon is amazing, the Museum is loaded with history and our downtown square is occupied with quaint shops. It was great that you were able to enjoy it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on way to Route 66 from Dallas. Warm friendly welcome with tea and home made cookie, helpful advice on local restaurants, lovely house well looked after and inviting and a nice cosy room at the top to sleep in


Only thing to note is that the trains do make a lot of noise through the night and by morning won't be so quaint a noise as when you first heard them but don't let that put you off this is the best place around by miles

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maryandbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for including Canyon and our B&B on the itinerary for your Route 66 trip! You really did your research and planned a fun-filled time in the U.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have been to many B & B in Europe, in U.K,. and Hudspeth House is now rated very high on my list. I will recommend it to my friends in Europe The owners very friendly. Clean room and perfect breakfast. Very quiet and you feel like being at home. Well done. Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: The Lighthouse room was perfect. On top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Well it was quite a treat to have a Swedish Chef stay with us. We, along with our guests enjoyed hearing about your chef duties at the horse ranch back in Sweden and the stories of your travels in Texas and New Mexico. Also, I want to now search for lingonberries to cook with!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was my first time to stay at a B&B and I really enjoyed my stay at the Hudspeth House. The owners were very friendly and accommodating of my very late arrival and very early departure a couple days later. The room was very nice, the bed extremely comfortable, and breakfast was great.

I will definitely say there again if I am back in Canyon, TX.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are so glad to be a part of your first B&B experience and hope you will be led to try many more in the future. Bed & Breakfasts are unique and a great way to converse with other travelers in a warm and friendly surrounding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
9.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing