We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2008

The Hudspeth is a wonderful bed & breakfast! Jill and Van are the new owners. They've been there since May 2008 they said. They checked us in around 6. Gave us homemade snickerdoodle cookies and tea. The room was very clean. The decorations are tastefully done. Amarillo was only 15 minutes away so it was easy to get a nice dinner. In the morning Jill made us a delicious breakfast. We had a mango and yogurt parfait with their homemade granola (best I have ever had) and Jill's special "Palo Duro Sunrise" breakfast and some blueberry cobbler. Overall, it was such a great B&B experience! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend with a loved one.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pugpennies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2008

My husband and I wanted to visit Palo Duro Canyon on our way through the Amarillo area and found the Hudspeth House on Trip Advisor. com. It had good reviews and we were interested in the fact that Georgia O'Keeffe had often eaten in this house when she taught in Canyon. The hosts were very friendly and accomodating. We needed to leave very early before breakfast, but we were given some to-go food to enjoy on our way home. We chose to stay in the economical room that used to be the servant's quarters. Very cozy, but with everything we needed. This is a much much nicer option for staying in this area than your typical chain hotel/motel. We would definitely choose the Hudspeth House again when travelling in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KathyDTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We had such a fabulous time at the Hudspeth, and we love Canyon, Texas. Jill & Van have found their calling as excellent InnKeepers. And their daughters are just precious! They pay great attention to any detail that will make their guests stay more comfortable and enjoyable. Tips on the local sites, wonderful tea time and gourmet breakfast with LOTS of coffee helped provide us with an amazingly wonderful weekend. What a bummer to return to our real life after being pampered at the Hudspeth. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dawnshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Jill & Van are friendly, thoughtful inn keepers and we enjoyed our stay. We will tell our friends and relatives about the Hudspeth House and the interesting things to do in Canyon.
Don & Sandy Copeland
Ponca City, Ok.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sande67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

This was the 3rd time to stay at the Hudspeth and we have decided to keep coming back until we have tried all the rooms! It is a great base to stay to visit our student at WTAMU. Very homey and Jill, Van and the girls are great hosts!! The breakfasts are marvelous with beautiful presentation!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YelloRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We have limited experience staying at B&Bs but we had a wonderful time at the Hudspeth House. The house itself is very charming and well decorated. We learned that Georgia O'Keefe once lived in that very house. Great location within the city of Canyon (just a short drive to Palo Duro Canyon, downtown Canyon is within walking distance and Amarillo is also a short drive).

Jill and her daughters were wonderful. They offered great recommendations for area restaurants (both in Amarillo and within Canyon).

We had the unfortunate experience of a flat tire and Jill was very nice to recommend a tire repair shop and to let us stay a bit longer at the B&B and gave us some coffee while it was being fixed.

We stayed in the Lighthouse room, which was relatively small but very warm and inviting. The bathtub was a very nice touch, but make sure you're traveling with someone you know very well because it's in the middle of the room.

The breakfast was great! We had sausage omelet/quiche with homemade juice, muffins and yogurt with homemade granola that was filled with chunks of mango (which was delicious!)

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank wutangy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

I booked the Hudspeth House for my husband's birthday get-a-way. We loved the property. The rooms were beautiful and more importantly clean! The beds were like sleeping at home! I would definitely recommend staying at the Hudspeth House when you are in the Amarillo area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
9.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing