We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Jill and Van run an outstanding bed and breakfast, room was clean and very nice, period furniture a plus, breakfasts were outstanding, will visit again next time we are in the area. History of the house also a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aflemi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We really appreciate you staying with us. For a couple who appears to travel often, your opinion matters greatly. Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

David and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hudspeth House B&B. The inn is tastefully decorated and our room was perfect. Van and Jill go out of their way to make recommendations and help in any way they can. Breakfast was outstanding! We appreciated not feeling rushed so we could talk with the other guests before and during the meal. We would certainly return for another stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddn77304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Your three night stay with us was the perfect amount of time to see the attractions in our area. I'm glad you decided to drive the scenic 207 road one day(breathtaking, right?). Relaxing on the porch in the afternoons also seemed to suite you well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I decided to stay at this bed and breakfast for our anniversary trip. Along with plans to hike in Palo Duro Canyon, we were looking forward to staying at a bed and breakfast for the first time. We have both traveled a lot, staying in many different types of establishments -- Hudspeth House is at the top of our favorites!

In truth, old fashioned hospitality just can't be beat! We were greeted very warmly (both Van and Jill are such kind, genuine people) and shown our room -- it was beautiful (Chloe). After a nice dinner (we chose to drive to Amarillo although several wonderful eating establishments in Canyon were suggested), we came back to a very quiet room and comfortable bed. It was perfect!

Coffee was served at 7:30 am as well as some wonderful conversation with several guests staying there. Breakfast (served at 8:30 am) was outstanding!!! (I need to get the recipe to the amazing dish Jill made.) Again, the conversation was most enjoyable. (We even delayed our hike an hour just so we could stay and visit.)

Upon leaving (we would have stayed another night if they had had a vacancy -- shame on me for not making reservations sooner), we were given some great information on hiking trails in the canyon. I am so thankful we listened because it made both of our hikes much more enjoyable. (Starting the CCC trail at the amphitheater instead of mid-point or at the top was such wonderful advice!)

Overall I can't say enough good things about this place. It was perfect! Thanks for all the personal touches. We will definitely be coming back and have told all of our family and friends about it.


Will and Krysta

Room Tip: There are all different types of rooms to choose from depending on your need. Chloe was perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillandKrysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I know your little boys keep you quite busy, so a little getaway was much needed! It was nice that you got to enjoy some good conversation at breakfast and yet a full day in the Canyon too. Please keep us in mind for another future anniversary celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We enjoyed our perfect one night stay here. Hudspeth House is gorgeous and beautifully decorated. The hosts and guests were very friendly and we enjoyed visiting with them. Breakfast was gourmet and excellent. The perfect location to stay if you are going to see the "Texas" play in the canyon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaylie71253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

You said we were your last stop after a 3 week vacation...so glad we could end it on a good note! Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went here on our honeymoon. It was a wonderful place, with a rich history. They prepare a delicious breakfast, and Van and Jil were a very sweet couple running it. I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for a weekend away!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We were honored that you chose us to host you as you start your new life together. Please come back and celebrate an anniversary in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This bed and breakfast is so beautiful. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it had a very comfortable king size bed in a huge room that included a claw-foot tub in the bathroom. The service was wonderful and the innkeepers made you feel so welcome and they were knowledgeable about the area. In the morning Jill and Van served a wonderful breakfast of homemade breakfast enchiladas that melted in your mouth and lemon poppy seed muffins that were to die for. It was a wonderful experience and I will definitely back again and recommend it to anyone who is headed to Texas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LLEYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Nice to have some fellow Okies venture our way. It was a joy to have you stay with us and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversation on the porch during the evening. Boomer Sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I decided to go to Texas on our honeymoon. We got a few looks, but we are quite glad with our choice.

We spent a week at the Hudspeth House, and it sounds like this was one of the longer stays people had with them. We stayed in two different rooms, due to our preferred one being already booked for part of our stay. Both were nice, wonderful places to stay in their own unique ways, but the O'Keefe was our favorite.

Van & Jill were amazing and friendly hosts. They provided us with restaurant suggestions for Canyon and Amarillo that were spot on each time, gave us hiking tips for the Palo Duro Canyon, suggested other day trips and local attractions, and were genuinely pleased to have us stay with them.

Breakfast was always delicious; a simple yogurt and granola fruit parfait with some hot items each day. The green chile eggs and pumpkin scones were our favorites.

Cookies and tea were available each afternoon in the main floor sitting room -- a nice touch, though we wished they would be left out a little longer than they were in case our schedule didn't quite fit.

The inn itself is in good shape, is clearly maintained with an eye towards historical authenticity, and everything from the claw-foot bathtubs to the paintings talked of this being a view of Old Texas still with us.

Canyon itself is a moderate-sized town with some decent restaurants -- Napoli's was one of our favorites. The Panhandle Plains Historical Museum is absolutely HUGE (and gets a "how did THIS wind up in a town so small?" comment a lot, I'm sure) and worth a visit. Palo Duro Canyon is nearby, and gorgeous, and a great destination itself. And, of course, Amarillo is nearby with plenty more dining and entertainment options.

Breakfast is served with everyone at one big dining table (unless they're really full, and have to split into two). The opportunity to visit with other guests was great; they all seemed to have interesting stories or experiences, and even shared tips about trails in the canyon.

I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prairiecode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for sharing such detail of your stay with our future guests. Having you both stay a week really allowed us to get acquainted with you. You were here on some very cold days, but explored many places in our area. Yes, people can't believe we have a such an incredible museum in a town of 12,000 people. It is a must see! Now that you bought one of our new cookbooks, you can make pumpkin scones whenever you like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
14.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range: £72 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing