We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“44th Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I wanted to surprise my wife on our 44th Anniversary so I ordered the package deal which was one night there and two tickets for "Texas" along with a back stage tour and a program. Really nice place, very old but very comfortable! I've never had a room with the bathtub in the middle of the room! Pretty cool! There is only 8 rooms and the A/C for ours was controlled in room 7. Not a problem for us though as we found a fan in the closet that cooled us down just right. Great place to stay for special occasions. Close to all local attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: The more advance notice you can give, the better due to only having eight rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RayLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

What a celebration...44 years of marriage! We love that you planned a "staycation" from Amarillo to stay with us. We hope to be a part of another anniversary in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We planned our trip on the spur of the moment. We were going to Canyon based on availability of TEXAS play tickets. We stayed in The Chloe room. Beautiful house. Our room was the perfect size. Very comfortable bed. Quiet, except for a doggie barking. Breakfast and coffee service were beautiful. Love the front porch. Sat out there in the morning rocking with my hot tea/ coffee. Peaceful morning. Jill and Van are attentive hosts. Purchased a cookbook. Atmosphere and service are tops!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 895randeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Sometimes, "Spur of the moment" trips are the most enjoyable. Thanks for letting us be a part of your Texas panhandle experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast during our visit to Palo Duro Canyon in June. What a nice place. We stayed in the Sophie room, which was a little small, but we didn't mind because we weren't in the room much. The breakfast was so delicious. We also loved the front porch with all the rocking chairs. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The bathroom in the Sophie Room is very small, but otherwise, it's a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherylGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

The porch is a favorite spot with our guests when the weather is nice...fun to watch main street activity in a small town. We appreciate you letting us host you during your summer travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Hudspeth House B&B was a great place to stay while visiting Palo Duro Canyon. We stayed in the Lone Star Room, which was decorated with the Lone Star and lots of red, white and blue. Very patriotic. We had a wonderful nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. In the morning, there was coffee and tea before breakfast where we could visit with the other guests. The breakfast was scrumptious!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank so much for taking the time to share your opinion of our place and our service with future guests. We hope you return and can stay with us longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Jill and Van run an outstanding bed and breakfast, room was clean and very nice, period furniture a plus, breakfasts were outstanding, will visit again next time we are in the area. History of the house also a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aflemi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We really appreciate you staying with us. For a couple who appears to travel often, your opinion matters greatly. Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

David and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hudspeth House B&B. The inn is tastefully decorated and our room was perfect. Van and Jill go out of their way to make recommendations and help in any way they can. Breakfast was outstanding! We appreciated not feeling rushed so we could talk with the other guests before and during the meal. We would certainly return for another stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddn77304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Your three night stay with us was the perfect amount of time to see the attractions in our area. I'm glad you decided to drive the scenic 207 road one day(breathtaking, right?). Relaxing on the porch in the afternoons also seemed to suite you well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I decided to stay at this bed and breakfast for our anniversary trip. Along with plans to hike in Palo Duro Canyon, we were looking forward to staying at a bed and breakfast for the first time. We have both traveled a lot, staying in many different types of establishments -- Hudspeth House is at the top of our favorites!

In truth, old fashioned hospitality just can't be beat! We were greeted very warmly (both Van and Jill are such kind, genuine people) and shown our room -- it was beautiful (Chloe). After a nice dinner (we chose to drive to Amarillo although several wonderful eating establishments in Canyon were suggested), we came back to a very quiet room and comfortable bed. It was perfect!

Coffee was served at 7:30 am as well as some wonderful conversation with several guests staying there. Breakfast (served at 8:30 am) was outstanding!!! (I need to get the recipe to the amazing dish Jill made.) Again, the conversation was most enjoyable. (We even delayed our hike an hour just so we could stay and visit.)

Upon leaving (we would have stayed another night if they had had a vacancy -- shame on me for not making reservations sooner), we were given some great information on hiking trails in the canyon. I am so thankful we listened because it made both of our hikes much more enjoyable. (Starting the CCC trail at the amphitheater instead of mid-point or at the top was such wonderful advice!)

Overall I can't say enough good things about this place. It was perfect! Thanks for all the personal touches. We will definitely be coming back and have told all of our family and friends about it.


Will and Krysta

Room Tip: There are all different types of rooms to choose from depending on your need. Chloe was perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillandKrysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I know your little boys keep you quite busy, so a little getaway was much needed! It was nice that you got to enjoy some good conversation at breakfast and yet a full day in the Canyon too. Please keep us in mind for another future anniversary celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
14.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range: £72 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing