We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Thundering Buffalo's Grill & Saloon
Ranked #36 of 48 Restaurants in Canyon
Restaurant details
Aubrey, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We found nothing to dislike about this place and nothing outstanding, either. It has a good selection of food and drink, including alcohol, and pleasant wait staff. The atmosphere is typical tavern style. Our food and the service was good. At the end of a day on the road which concludes in a small West Texas city, that's good enough. I wouldn't hesitate to go back if our travels being us back to Canyon. With a beer and a glass of wine to go with the fish and tumble (potato chips) the bill for two including tip was $37.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Despite the other reviews, we visited this restaurant because it was right next to our hotel and we didn't want to drive anywhere after traveling all day. The food and service were okay - nothing special but not terrible either. We were delighted to be able to sit outside as that is generally not bearable in the summer in Houston. Due to the smoky interior, I would not have enjoyed eating inside. Since it was past 9 pm, we had to order from a limited menu but they did honor the "kids eat free on Weds." special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scrapper08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Basic food, nothing unique on the Menu”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We were on a road trip and staying nearby. The place looked interesting so we stopped in. I ordered the Herdsman burger and curly fries, my wife had the French Dip with blue cheese and homemade chips. Both are respectable examples of basic tavern food. The service was well above what we expected. The waitress was friendly, did all the little things correctly.

Bottom line we walked out with a tab under $25 (with a 20% gratuity). We would not hesitate to eat there again.

I should add this was during the summer and no college students were around.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, TX
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The only bar/restaurant in Canyon”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Standard burgers, wings, etc. Some dinner entrees. The big attraction is that they serve alcohol in a dry precinct. The nachos and fajitas are good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasRed79109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thundering Buffalo's Grill & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Thundering Buffalo's Grill & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing