We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and well maintained and exactly what I was hoping for.., safe and convenient.”
Review of Buffalo Inn

Buffalo Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffalo Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Came in for a college activity and wasn't sure what to expect considering it is a small older hotel. The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. AC worked great with no weird smells (big deal to me). I would recommend bringing extra pillows and a towel or two. Towels are small... And can fit around a small child. Right across from the college and WAY cheaper than the other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Charming 1950s vibe. Clean, well maintained, nice staff, great price, and great alternative to the cookie cutter big chain hotels. The shower in our room was a little uncomfortable, and the breakfast is nothing to write home about, but overall we highly recommend the Buffalo INN!

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms, but room #9 had a bad shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

In May, 2013 I stayed at the Buffalo Inn in Canyon Texas. I wanted to see the Panhandle Plains Historical Museum which is actually right on the other side of the street in the West Texas A&M University complex.

The Buffalo Inn is really nicely decorated outside and in, comfortable, safe, and while there aren't extra amenities, everything there works perfectly and is spotlessly clean. It is probably the cleanest motel - outside and inside - that I have ever stayed in.

The price was very modest and the proprietress was very gracious. I highly recommend the Buffalo Inn.

Greg

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garym1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

First of all, that picture of the pool is NOT of Buffalo Inn.

The rooms are not particularly clean; there is little more than a couple of travel-size soaps in the bathroom (no shampoo or any other toiletries); the room is warmed/cooled by a horrible electric heater/AC unit under the window, but there is still a ridiculous draft; and our mattress HAD bed bugs.

This place was $67 dollars to stay at...and although the surrounding hotels were $20 dollars more, I would say it's worth the extra expense to just go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jsleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A nice place with fridge and microwave, free wifi and clean rooms. Conveniently located. Certainly a good option for the area. Free coffee but few amenities. Right down the street from a new Asian restaurant that was FABULOUS!! The Asian Garden.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahTravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I am always leery of independent motels, especially ones that were built before I was born. Lately my wife has gotten me to trust AAA and most of the reviews here. We saved about $30 - $50 by staying here and were rewarded with a very clean, neat room and a perfect nights sleep.

My only complaint was the towels were thin and scratchy. But for the savings, I'll carry a couple towels and use my own. The shower was interesting, it was basically a shower cave that was kind of cool. I imagine if there wasn't sunlight beaming through the glass block at one end it could be dark, but I found the shower to be quirky and functional.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Texsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just married in canyon went in just before the wedding got a room an got there. Late that night room had plenty of towels soap tp an room was fully furnished with micro an fridge new 27 inch flat screen tv the service was great the furnishings were all new great lighting new air conditioner an a small breakfast an who needs a coke Machine when all the local businesses are so close including a 24 hr mcdonalds thank you buffalo inn for a fantastic stay after our special day

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foreverforalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.5 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
16.1 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#25 of 72 in Amarillo
415 reviews
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Inn

Address: 300 23rd Street, US Hwy 87 & 217, Canyon, TX 79015
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Price Range: £51 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Hotel Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing