We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food - They will exceed your expectations”

Italian Garden Cafe
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - They will exceed your expectations”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

You would never expect a REALLY good authentic italian rest to be on the North Side of Canyon Lake in the middle of nowhere. A++

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KickBak-n-Yak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    69
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Branch
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a great choice”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a great place to eat. They feature Italian & Greek food. We love it, from fresh salad to amazing baklava.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arazzmatazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So good - excellent surprise”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

No you are not in little Italy - forget the piazza in Rome, you are in Texas Hill Country. The food is a shock to the system - Italian flavors and dishes seemed superior to those that are Greek inspired. We enjoyed every dish - we went back 2 days in a row! The first night veal Marsella , and 2 pasta dishes Alfredo sauce and a carbonara - the ravioli appetizer, and we got stuffed grape leaves and gyros plate. Enjoyed every bite. Much better food then we expected to find - enjoyed it so much we got a pizza the next day - pizza margarita was out standing - clumps of basil and slices of tomato - the crust was very Roman - crispy and tasty. A little disappointed with the Greek vegetable palate we also got to go a the tahini needed a little more olive oil - at a condo so had none on hand to solve this minor dilemma - Greek salad was fine and dolmas acceptable. Stick to the Italian menu and the gyros you will not be disappointed. We will be going back anytime in this area - thats for sure. Strongly reccomended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jposttx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Canyon Lake has grown up and this restaurant, with both Greek and Italian traditions, is one example. Starting with good freshly baked bread, the meal was far better than we expected. The "spinach pie" (spanakopita) and chicken marsala were both exactly what they should have been and very good. The quality of the bread and the perfectly cooked chicken showed mastery of cooking basics, so I would expect other dishes to be just as good. Portions were huge and prices reasonable, so there was nothing not to like about this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have dined at this restaurant and have never been disappointed in the food or service. The restaurant is clean and the staff's friendly. We will diffently return again and again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Italian Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Italian Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing