We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Gennaro's Trattoria
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated, Gennaro's Trattoria serves authentic Italian cuisine, originating from Naples, Italy, made from fresh ingredients. Gennaro's Trattoria's motto is "che mangia bene, vive bene" or, "who eats well, lives well." We invite you to enjoy and enrich your life by dining with us.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This place was great! Also have very good gluten-free options! My wife and I had the same thing for lunch and I had it the regular way and my wife had it gluten-free and I liked hers better!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cinchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Glad to read we could meet all of you and your wife's gluten-free needs! Thanks for the compliments, and know that you're welcome back any time.

Hope to see you soon,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    56
    20
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GEORGETOWN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gennaro's Trattoria”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Absolutely first rate--yum, yum. We had the calamari and lamb meatballs, the osso bucco, and the frutti di mari. Again, yum, yum.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOHN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
John, I'm so happy to see you enjoyed everything from the calamari to the frutti di mari. You're welcome back for another meal with us any time!

Until then,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good with a hiccup”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We visited with a party of five on a Thursday night. The place was packed, but we were seated in about 10 minutes. The waitress was friendly and helpful as we chose our meals. The appetizer arrived promptly and they brought excellent warm fresh breads. Then came a delay of about an hour before our dinner arrived. The waitress checked on us regularly and a guy in a chefs hat also came to assure us our dinner would be out shortly. We all enjoyed our food and dessert. I am not sure what their problem was, but it did detract some from our experience. The low rating for service should be not reflection on the waitress who was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. We strive to deliver a great meal by top-notch service, so I want to personally apologize for the long wait. This certainly isn't typical of us, and while it's no excuse, we did have an off-night that Thursday. It's not something we like to admit, but in the restaurant business, we run into a few hiccups from time to time.

Still, please know that this is a rare occurrence for us, and I'd love the chance to prove that to you if you're willing to give us another try. You mentioned that you enjoyed your meal from the breads to the dessert, and with that in mind, I hope you'll come back again soon.

All the best,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We have been here twice and had the same experience both times- amazing food, great service but it is very busy (reservations recommended) and it can get pretty loud (this is the only downside).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Amazing food and great service? Sounds like a successful night out, Anthony! You're right, it can get loud sometimes, but we like to think that adds to the cozy, Italian feel. Still, I appreciate your comments, and while we do the best with what we can, the noise factor is something to consider moving forward.

Hope to see you soon,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“You need to check this place out.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have driven by this restaurant several times but always thought it would be too expensive. We went by last night and decided to check it out. We had no idea what we have been missing. First of all, the prices are great! My wife and I ordered the Lasagna. We also got a nice salad and bread with it. The bread was to die for. The Lasagna was awesome and a nice size portion. We are already planning our next trip. Oh, and everyone that works there is so personable and friendly. It is definitely worth the trip from San Antonio!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gennaro D, Owner at Gennaro's Trattoria, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for finally stopping in for some lasagna, Roger! I'm glad you and your wife enjoyed your meals with us. Hope to see you again the next time you're both in the area.

Until then,
Gennaro, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gennaro's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Gennaro's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing