We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family camping trip-not so great”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canyon Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This place is way overrated. The staff needs customer service training and adult supervision. Their is a pool but NO lifeguard (it is supposed to be a kid friendly attraction) but that is about all their is to do. Campsites are very un-level (excess of 4 ft' to level and rocky. Not very RV or child friendly. Infested with ants, fleas and fly's. I carry spray with us but really didn't phase them much. We were placed in a different campsite & area than we had reserved. Which resulted in our neighbor campers being upset because they requested adjoining spots. Our breakers kept tripping in our RV as a result of exposed wire and ant infested plug in poles.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Although we appreciate your feedback on staying at a Jellystone Park, we will say that we believe this review is for another park. Although it is safe to say, when you are camping you will experience ants and flies, and in sandy places maybe some fleas, we are sure that the un-level sites up to 4 ft. would not describe this Campground Resort. We have many trees for shade, and level sites to accommodate all types of campers. Whether you are in a tent, an RV, or one of our Lodging, you can experience the fun of camping outdoors, and the comforts of home. We have 2 air-conditioned Comfort Stations, 2 Laundry Rooms, 1 is air-conditioned, 2 outdoor pools and a splash pad for the little tykes, and indoor pool with a spa. We hope that you will visit us in the future to see what a lovely Campground we do have, and hope you will have a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have to start off by saying we have stayed at this park many times in the last year and have had some great times. The staff was nice and if you have little kids they have great amenities. Three weeks ago we stayed here and things didn't seem to be the same. We were put in a horrible site, although we requested a site that we loved and were told it was available. Not true! When we asked why we couldn't have that site we were told that nothing is confirmed on what site you get. That would have been nice to be told over the phone before we found out we were stuck right by the pool with yelling kids all day. This weekend we went back only because we already had it booked. Upon check in they were already harassing us about those dang wrist bands. Our kids went to the pool and one forgot their wrist band at the trailer and the so-called "GM" told my kids to get out of the pool and she would wait for the parents to arrive with the wrist band. They tried to tell her that we were on our way with the band but she insisted that they leave the pool primises. Not exactly what I call "management" material at a "kid-friendly" park after spending $12 a day for extra wrist bands for them to do the amenties. They were so mad they didn't even go back to the pool again. Very unprofessional if you ask me. So with that being said, Yogi has seen the last of us and we did frequent the park about once a month. We'll take our business elsewhere where the kids are accepted and NOT harrassed by the manager.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for reviewing Jellystone Park ™ Hill Country. It is our goal to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful experience during their stay here and desire to come back. So we appreciate the feedback good and bad, as it helps us to re-evaluate the standards and policies of our park.
Guest safety is our TOP priority. We do require ALL guests staying in the park and their guests to be registered and we require them to wear wristbands. This insures that all people using our facilities are in fact guests registered to be in our park. When a reservation is made for a group, it pays for a certain number of people. The only time we charge additional fees, is if the number of guests exceeds that amount, or if they are Day Use guests of someone staying in the park. If there are people in our park, pool areas, etc., and they are not wearing wrist bands, they are asked to please put them on. They are given ample time to do so. If we go back and find that the guest has not put them on, we will remind them again. This is not to harass anyone. We have Policies and Procedures in place to make this a safe and happy place for everyone to stay. All paid guests are to have wristbands on so we know they are guests suppose to be here. Young guests in our pool areas are to be accompanied by an adult at all times. This is simply a safety precaution. We do not have a lifeguard on duty so it is the State Requirement.
There are sometimes unforeseen issues that come up in a Campground. We do our best when making a reservation to put everyone in a site that will best suit their needs while they are here.
Many times a guest will ask for a specific site or make reservations in a site that is not big enough for the RV they show up in. When this happens and we are booked, we sometimes have to maneuver other guests to accommodate. This can be an inconvenience to everyone affected. However, if there is a "group" of campers, and they have told us they are with another party, we DO NOT separate them. This is our policy when booking reservations. If in fact we are not aware of the group being together, that could result in a separation. Although we do make every effort to leave people in a site they have booked.
All Staff at Jellystone Park™ Hill Country strive to do our best to make our guests feel welcomed, and safe. It is always appreciated when our guests understand that we only have these Policies and Procedures in place to help aid in that. We hope you give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in our RV, had 50 amp service. Cable, septic, fresh water etc...
Has nice shower and bathroom facilities. Lots of entertainment, and they had shuttles that will pick you up and take you to the Guadeloupe River for some wonderful cold river tube floating. which is what we went for. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for posting a review for us. We love that most of our guests love this park and love making memories here. We are only 1/2 mile from the river so it makes a great place to camp. We work with an outfitter that offers a free shuttle when you rent their tubes. They will pick you up and bring you back when you are done floating. Then when you get back you can enjoy our pools, or any number of other activities we have in the park. It makes for a great break.
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband and I have brought our kids here twice now and have yet to be disappointed. Both weekends have been fun, relaxing and WELL worth our time & money. Prices are reasonable and accommodations are comfortable. We brought an RV our first trip, but most recently opted to stay in the cabins - and we're sure glad we did. Our son is 7 and our daughter is 4, and we all appreciate the fun, safe, clean environment. Definitely planning on returning. If you want a great place to take your kids and not go broke - this is an excellent choice for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stefanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you so much for you taking the time to post a positive review on Yogi Bear's Jellystone park ™ Hill Country. We strive to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and feel safe to be in our park. We are making improvements everyday and hope that you will come see us in the near future to see how we've grown. It is our goal to make sure our guests have happy memories from their stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I paid $556 for 3 nights in bare bones cabin that stunk and had only a dorm size refrigerator. The indoor pool is disgusting. The outdoor pool was the most fun part. It was a good campground but not vacation destination.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swtbobcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Hill Country. We always strive to keep rates as affordable as possible without sacrificing the quality of experience here at the park. Although we do need to charge for some of the amenities, there are many more that are included in the cost of the reservation. Some would include full access to the pools, the jumping pillow, the playground, volleyball, basketball, disc golf, horseshoes, and we always have a free craft during Arts and Crafts time. We also have free cable and Wi-Fi. Some of the other activities would include Hey Hey Rides, games, movies, Laser Tag, karaoke, Pedal Carts, a Gem Mine, a Jumping Pillow and may other fun things for families to do together. Children 3 years and under are always free as well.
It is our goal that our the park in general, and especially all of our Lodging is extremely clean, and in working order. And although the Lodge Rooms are a nice hotel like room we do offer Cabins with full kitchens and 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, and our new Cindy Bear Cabins even have a loft that the kids love!
We do appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come back to visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Was way over priced. For 159.00 a night you would expect more. You had to clean your own room at check out or pay an additional 25.00. You have to bring your own linen. At these prices it should be provided. Lots for kids to do but nothing for adults . You have to leave park for something to do. Rooms had a smell to it. Bed were hard as a rock and uncomfortable. cobwebs everywhere. unfriendly staff. After seeing room could not cancel and get a refund to go somewhere else. no refunds allow. Could have gotten a better room for the same price with everything some where else. Will not ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, Front Office Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

It is our top priority that our guest have a great experience at Jellystone Park Hill Country. One of the ways we accomplish this is by having our top notch Clean Teams do a fantastic job on keeping all of our lodging spotless. We have bed-bug-free sanitized mattress covers and offer linens to our guests for a nominal fee, should they need them.

We are excited that we have so many amenities to offer our guests to enhance their "camping" experience, such as, an indoor heated pool and spa, an outdoor pool and splash pad, a water balloon blaster, Hey Hey Rides, arts and crafts time, candy bar bingo, disc golf, basketball, jumping pillow, volleyball, pedal carts, and the Best of all, Yog Bear!

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to make thing right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This park offers folks three options for accommodation...bring your RV or trailer, rent a cabin or hotel room or put up a tent. It's situated shouting distance from the Guadalupe River where hundreds of tubing enthusiasts descend on warm days. Canyon Lake and various rustic bars and restaurants are also nearby. Since we booked at the last minute for Memorial Day weekend, only campsites were available. Basically this place is like a camp for families with lot of activities for kids. They have an indoor heated pool and a trio of joint outdoor pools (one that is like a beach/sprayground for toddlers, a three-foot deep pool perfect for elementary school aged kids and a deeper adult depth pool). Definitely a laid-back place. Other activities for during the day include pedaled go-kart rentals, tennis, basketball (I think), a playground, a forest dedicated to laser tag, a pool-side inflated fort-like area dedicated to water balloon wars and some wet inflated mound kids can climb/jump on (but that was out of commission). Looks like they also have a hiking trail but it seemed pretty limited. They also offer an arcade building and evening events such as arts and crafts, live music, movies and a Hey Hey (tractor) ride. Because of bad weather we only stayed one night, so the only evening activity we participated in was the Hey Hey ride and it was a rowdy bit of fun (they encourage whooping and yelling to passerbys). The place was full of an impressive array of RVs and the cabins and hotel rooms appear to be clean and accommodating (albeit a bit humble). Some cabins appeared nicer than others, with front porches and flat-screen tvs, but again we really were only glancing in from outside. The type of folks there ran the gambit...a wide blend of ages and classes, many bringing what appeared to be extended families and friends...which means lots and lots of kids. The negatives about the place include that the campgrounds where we pitched our tents were littered more than what you would see at a state or national park. Doesn't seem like staff goes around often to pick up the trash. And although there are lots of Yogi Bear souvenirs on-hand, the local store doesn't offer any healthy food options, only junk food. Also it'd be nice if recycling bins were provided (we expect them living in Austin, but perhaps the local Canyon Lake area government doesn't support it). And I bet it can get loud at night, especially on popular weekends like this one (Memorial Day), because the place is relatively dense with campers. We were a bit more isolated. So in a few ways they definitely could improve the quality of their facilities. But overall it is a happy, carefree family place, and I would bet most anyone can afford it (our reservation for three nights of camping was about $110 total but if you think of all the activities you get out for that it's reasonable.) Plus how many places can your kids just run free? Their speed limit is set to 5 1/2 miles per hour on camp grounds. And the staff were very nice and welcoming, which always makes a difference.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChaseAustinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Jellystone Park ™ Hill Country. We value our guests feedback and hope that we continue to grow and make our campground a better place to stay.
We offer many amenities for all ages of people. Volleyball, Basketball, Disc Golf, a Jumping Pillow, Indoor and Outdoor Pools with a Splash Pad and a Spa. Movies, Arts and Crafts, Hey Hey Rides, Wet or Dry, Rocket Launching, a Gem Mine, Ice Cream Socials, Laser Tag, and Pedal Carts, are a few that we offer. It does make for a great time.
While cleanliness is of the upmost importance next to safety, we do admit it is difficult sometimes to get all of the little pieces of trash left on the ground. We do ask all of our guests to be sure to clean up their area before they leave to help aid in this lacking area. We do have several dumpsters with 3 recycling bins at each station, and a recycling station outside of Jellystone Hall™ that are close and accessible for everyone in the park.
Our Store is a fun place to shop for souvenirs and any small grocery needs you may have. Water, Gatorade, soda, juice, milk, tea, chips, ketchup, mustard, relish, mixed nuts, trail mix, breakfast bars, fruit roll ups,mac and cheese, an assortment of soups, cereal, along with candy, chips, and other camping needs. We strive to offer something for everyone. We do not sell tobacco or alcohol, though.
All of our guests feedback is important to us. We continue to strive to be a better place to visit.
Thank you again, and come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
11.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels
12.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 33 in New Braunfels
551 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#1 of 33 in New Braunfels
787 reviews
19.4 mi away
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country

Address: 12915 Fm 306, Canyon Lake, TX 78133-4585 (Formerly Maricopa Ranch Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canyon Lake
Price Range: £56 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Hill Country Hotel Canyon Lake
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country Canyon Lake, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing