We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent RV camping with the kids!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canyon Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent RV camping with the kids!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for Labor Day weekend and had a great time. All the RV hookups were working properly. We were given the camping location we were told about when we made those reservations. I was extremely happy to get two RV spots right next to each other as requested at reservation time. They had activities for the kids all day, everyday. The Pancake Breakfast was great. The Outdoor pool/splash pad area was great for the kids to cool off in. I would liked to have see a larger pool area due to the size of the campground, it just isn't big enough to accommodate everyone at the park. We did avoid the pool at certain peak times when it was too full. The indoor pool was slightly heated but not freezing as I have found at some indoor hotel pools. We rode our bicycles everywhere, it was very bicycle friendly!! The staff were mostly young high school and college kids but they were all friendly. Our kids also enjoyed the playground area near our RV spot. We never entered a cabin or lodge, so I can't advise on any of those.

Room Tip: View their map online and request a RV spot farthest away from all the activity to have some peace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaelinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our Camp Resort. It is a fun, filled, place for families, and we are growing and improving all the time. We have added 4 new Cabins, a Gaga Ball Court, and we are about to get a brand new, HUGE, playground. Maybe in the future we can add to the Splash Zone, too. Stay tuned for more on our website, and we look forward to your next stay with us. We hope you experience will be another great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    161
    72
    45
    30
See reviews for
588
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Canyon lake this past winter/spring and loved it. Plenty for the kids to do, playground, pool, jumping pillow, crafts, etc.. very friendly staff. Grounds were always clean and well upkept. We made sure we booked in again before we left and the kids can't wait to get back to the best campground in Texas!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you very much for letting our future guests know how much you and your family love this Campground. We do our very best to keep it clean for the kids, and keep them busy during the day.
There is so much to do, that many of our guests say there is not enough time in the day to do it all. Thats great! Hopefully, it gives them a reason to come back and stay with us. We sure are glad you will be joining us again this Winter. We look forward to seeing you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon Valley, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We went to Jellystone Hill Country for the first time in August 2013. It was a great experience. We went in our class c motorhome therefore I am not familiar with the conditions of their lodging. I was very impressed with their community restrooms. They were kept very clean down to the floors and showers. Several times a day we saw staff close down the restroom to be cleaned. Great job. We were unaware of a burn ban and mentioned to a staff that us not being able to use there ground pit was going to prevent us from making smores. He quickly said that he would lend us a little weber grill. He did not have to do that and we were all impressed with his generosity. We borrowed it throughout our 3 day stay. The kids loved the pool and splash pad. The wet and wild hay ride was very fun. Next time we will be prepared by taking our soaker guns. The rv hook ups were a plus for the husband. The cost per night for the rv site pad was very affordable for this family of 5. We will be returning yearly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Jellystone Park™ Hill Country. We really do have the best staff. They are always willing to help our guests to make their stay fun and memorable. Even the Clean Teams takes pride in our park and their areas of responsibility. Many do not realize all the hard work that goes into a Campground that is running 24/7, 364 days of the year. Especially with all the guests that are through here during the summer months. And although we want all of our guests to feel special and cared for while they are here, sometimes we fall short at doing so. So it is great to hear that we did accomplish what we try so hard to do for our guests. Kudos and a Shout Out for the Staff here, and the guests like you who appreciate our efforts.
We really do love our guests ! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canyon lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Rooms look like motel six with no sheets and no anything. If you do go bring everything you need down to dish soap and trash bags. We received conflicting information from all staff members the entire weekend and were constantly being reprimanded for things we were told we were allowed to do. If you have a question don't even bother asking. Park clearly cares more about squeezing every last cent out of people than safety of children. The activities were just sad and overpriced. The fridge was broken in the room and after two maintenance visits never got fixed before we left. You would be better off sleeping in your car than staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our Campground. We always appreciate feedback on our facilities because it gives us the opportunity to make our Campground a better place for our Guests and their family and friends. Since we are a Campground, we do ask that you bring your own linens and towels. However, all of our Lodging has full bathrooms, and kitchenettes with a 2 burner cooktop, a small refrigerator, a large sink, microwave, toaster, and a coffee pot along with complimentary coffee with all the extras,or full kitchens with utensils, pots and pans, even stoves. We have very clean rooms, with Top Notch mattress covers on them as well. We are sorry if the refrigerator door was not working properly. We do keep extra replacements on hand because accidents do happen.
We offer all kinds of activities for our guests. Most of them are included in the rate of the reservation. We have 2 outdoor pools and a Splash Pad, 1 indoor pool and a spa, a Jumping Pillow, Volleyball, Basketball, Horseshoes, Disc Golf, and a Shuffle Board Table, and Arts and Crafts where there is always a free gift.
We offer Laser Tag, Pedal Carts, and Sand Bags for the Gem Mine, and these do require a minimal fee for the quality you get for each.
For the safety of our children and their families, we do have Policies and Procedures that we set for our Campground. We do require that ALL guests are registered to be in this park. If they have visitors, they are also required to be registered to be in this park. Again, this is for the safety of everyone who is staying at Jellystone Park ™ Hill Country. The registered guest who checks in is informed of all the Policies and Procedures at time of their arrival. They sign a form acknowledging these policies, and most comply to them. This makes for a happy, safe environment for everyone.
We hope you will give us another try to better our standing with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This place is way overrated. The staff needs customer service training and adult supervision. Their is a pool but NO lifeguard (it is supposed to be a kid friendly attraction) but that is about all their is to do. Campsites are very un-level (excess of 4 ft' to level and rocky. Not very RV or child friendly. Infested with ants, fleas and fly's. I carry spray with us but really didn't phase them much. We were placed in a different campsite & area than we had reserved. Which resulted in our neighbor campers being upset because they requested adjoining spots. Our breakers kept tripping in our RV as a result of exposed wire and ant infested plug in poles.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Although we appreciate your feedback on staying at a Jellystone Park, we will say that we believe this review is for another park. Although it is safe to say, when you are camping you will experience ants and flies, and in sandy places maybe some fleas, we are sure that the un-level sites up to 4 ft. would not describe this Campground Resort. We have many trees for shade, and level sites to accommodate all types of campers. Whether you are in a tent, an RV, or one of our Lodging, you can experience the fun of camping outdoors, and the comforts of home. We have 2 air-conditioned Comfort Stations, 2 Laundry Rooms, 1 is air-conditioned, 2 outdoor pools and a splash pad for the little tykes, and indoor pool with a spa. We hope that you will visit us in the future to see what a lovely Campground we do have, and hope you will have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have to start off by saying we have stayed at this park many times in the last year and have had some great times. The staff was nice and if you have little kids they have great amenities. Three weeks ago we stayed here and things didn't seem to be the same. We were put in a horrible site, although we requested a site that we loved and were told it was available. Not true! When we asked why we couldn't have that site we were told that nothing is confirmed on what site you get. That would have been nice to be told over the phone before we found out we were stuck right by the pool with yelling kids all day. This weekend we went back only because we already had it booked. Upon check in they were already harassing us about those dang wrist bands. Our kids went to the pool and one forgot their wrist band at the trailer and the so-called "GM" told my kids to get out of the pool and she would wait for the parents to arrive with the wrist band. They tried to tell her that we were on our way with the band but she insisted that they leave the pool primises. Not exactly what I call "management" material at a "kid-friendly" park after spending $12 a day for extra wrist bands for them to do the amenties. They were so mad they didn't even go back to the pool again. Very unprofessional if you ask me. So with that being said, Yogi has seen the last of us and we did frequent the park about once a month. We'll take our business elsewhere where the kids are accepted and NOT harrassed by the manager.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing Jellystone Park ™ Hill Country. It is our goal to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful experience during their stay here and desire to come back. So we appreciate the feedback good and bad, as it helps us to re-evaluate the standards and policies of our park.
Guest safety is our TOP priority. We do require ALL guests staying in the park and their guests to be registered and we require them to wear wristbands. This insures that all people using our facilities are in fact guests registered to be in our park. When a reservation is made for a group, it pays for a certain number of people. The only time we charge additional fees, is if the number of guests exceeds that amount, or if they are Day Use guests of someone staying in the park. If there are people in our park, pool areas, etc., and they are not wearing wrist bands, they are asked to please put them on. They are given ample time to do so. If we go back and find that the guest has not put them on, we will remind them again. This is not to harass anyone. We have Policies and Procedures in place to make this a safe and happy place for everyone to stay. All paid guests are to have wristbands on so we know they are guests suppose to be here. Young guests in our pool areas are to be accompanied by an adult at all times. This is simply a safety precaution. We do not have a lifeguard on duty so it is the State Requirement.
There are sometimes unforeseen issues that come up in a Campground. We do our best when making a reservation to put everyone in a site that will best suit their needs while they are here.
Many times a guest will ask for a specific site or make reservations in a site that is not big enough for the RV they show up in. When this happens and we are booked, we sometimes have to maneuver other guests to accommodate. This can be an inconvenience to everyone affected. However, if there is a "group" of campers, and they have told us they are with another party, we DO NOT separate them. This is our policy when booking reservations. If in fact we are not aware of the group being together, that could result in a separation. Although we do make every effort to leave people in a site they have booked.
All Staff at Jellystone Park™ Hill Country strive to do our best to make our guests feel welcomed, and safe. It is always appreciated when our guests understand that we only have these Policies and Procedures in place to help aid in that. We hope you give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in our RV, had 50 amp service. Cable, septic, fresh water etc...
Has nice shower and bathroom facilities. Lots of entertainment, and they had shuttles that will pick you up and take you to the Guadeloupe River for some wonderful cold river tube floating. which is what we went for. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrRangerSmith, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for posting a review for us. We love that most of our guests love this park and love making memories here. We are only 1/2 mile from the river so it makes a great place to camp. We work with an outfitter that offers a free shuttle when you rent their tubes. They will pick you up and bring you back when you are done floating. Then when you get back you can enjoy our pools, or any number of other activities we have in the park. It makes for a great break.
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
10.3 mi away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#4 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
9.7 mi away
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
#18 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country

Property: Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country
Address: 12915 Fm 306, Canyon Lake, TX 78133-4585 (Formerly Maricopa Ranch Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canyon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Hill Country Hotel Canyon Lake
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Hill Country Canyon Lake, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing