We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect set up for our family.”
Review of Canyon Lake Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canyon Lake Ranch
Southlake, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect set up for our family.”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Canyon Lake Ranch. The basketball court, hot tub, pool, and the longhorns were awesome....and gave the kids something to do while we were there. We also had Grandma with us so allowed separate bedrooms and bathrooms. Grandma enjoyed walking around the ranch. The ranch is centrally located to many great sites and things to do around the area. Was nice to have a spot to go after site-seeing that was away from the more crowded areas.
The things most important to us were great: cleanliness, decent beds, HOT water!, location, the house is as advertised, and the owners went out of their way to ensure we had anything we needed...and extras like the cookies, wine, and fruit upon our arrival! There are some things in the house that could be updated/repaired, but none were significant enough to put a damper on our stay. If you are looking for spa-like luxury in linens/decor this not the place for you....but if you are looking for a unique family-oriented, great location...this is it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Nice little get away spot. Would be nice to have at least one king size bed in one room. Hot tub didn't work properly on second night, but was good when working properly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry_railey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at the Longhorn cabin with our dog. It was a quiet and relaxing visit, and we took advantage of the hot tub, porches and grill while we were there. The fenced yard made it perfect for dog owners. This is not the place to go to be constantly busy or pampered, but it was just right for us! The cabin was clean and tidy. Obviously with a well you have to deal with the sulfurous water, but that's how country water smells. We will definitely return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CFLHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Having pool and hot tub to yourself was nice and the reason we picked this place. BEES like crazy... even inside the house... I spent lots of time killing bees... probably 30 or so in the 2 days we were there. Entry door did not lock and I had to lock my son and I in one of the rooms since I was scared of someone just walking in (although there is not any traffic out there in the country). Beds were small size but bed linens were very nice. Very nice views... for the price I was disappointed in the poor septic system that seemed to smell up the bathroom (smell coming from water in sink and shower). Closet door fell off when I tried to open it and one bathroom we could not use since every time you flushed you had to open the tank and fix the ball thing. Indoor sauna did not work for us. For the price and by the description I thought that the robes and welcome basket would be higher class -- the robes are not the thick white ones you get at a spa type place ... they are just used old small/short length robes. We had a good time but would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texan1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My family of 5 stayed in Starview Lodge on Aug 1-4th and was really pleased with our stay! If you are looking for 5 star accomodations..this isn't the place for you, but if you are willing to look past the lack of "fluff" and let the beauty of the area be your judge...then you won't be disappointed. Quaint cabin with it's own kitchen was what attracted me! We didn't have to eat out every meal while on vacation..which was a wallet saver! The ONLY thing I would say that needs to be addressed is the fact that we continually had wasps inside the house...not a swarm, but one by one, they would appear inside throughout our stay...The Longhorns were SO fun to feed and the hikes on property were great!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riggsy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clranch, Owner at Canyon Lake Ranch, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Dan and I were amazed to hear about the wasps and immediately dealt with them. Why they suddenly appeared is a mystery to us, as Starview Lodge has been in use almost every day this summer. However, the house has been treated and the problem resolved. Robbi.
PS. . . and . . . I thought we have "fluff" complementary wine, a fresh fruit basket, cookies, soaps by Bath and Body Works and bedside chocolates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The B & B is very nice. Loved having a pool to ourselves. We love coming to the hill country. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memepappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTIN
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We were looking for a very relaxed time together to recharge our batteries and we certainly found exactly that at the Starview. It was wonderfully quiet for reading, resting and even an afternoon nap. We chose the Starview because of the pool and it was better than we expected, it is surrounded by lovely plants and the view was wonderful. We found the kitchen table perfect for bridge and we were able to do some walking between rain showers. The hosts were gracious in greeting us and then left us to ourselves until we were ready to leave, even the longhorns seemed delighted to have us as guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 4MYTRAVEL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
6.2 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
19.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
4.2 mi away
The Lakehouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lazy H Lodge B&B
Lazy H Lodge B&B
#2 of 6 in Canyon Lake
31 reviews
4.7 mi away
Still Water Ranch Condominiums
Still Water Ranch Condominiums
#8 of 14 in Canyon Lake
14 reviews
6.0 mi away
Canyon Springs Country Lodge
Canyon Springs Country Lodge
#14 of 14 in Canyon Lake
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Ranch

Property: Canyon Lake Ranch
Address: 1610 Fm 484, Canyon Lake, TX 78133
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Canyon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swimming Pool, Hot Tubs and Pet Friendly near Canyon Lake. More private than a bed and breakfast and much nicer than cabins and cottages, Canyon Lake Ranch offers a choice of two highly inspected romantic vacation homes on our Longhorn Cattle Ranch near Canyon Lake. Guests are welcomed with a basket of fresh fruit, complementary wine, great cookies and bedside chocolates. Starview Lodge sleeps up to 6 guests (2 queen bedrooms, 1-1/2 baths). Swimming Pool, Wi-Fi, sauna, stone fireplace, half basketball court, horseshoes and shaded pool deck area. Longhorn Lodge sleeps up to 8 guests (3 bedrooms – 2 queen, 1 two singles, 2 baths). Secluded location, shady fenced yard that welcomes pets (extra charge), covered parking, two porches. Both centrally air conditioned homes have private hot tubs, satellite television, DVD, completely equipped kitchens, are fully furnished, have charcoal grills, guest robes and hot tub towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Ranch Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing