We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Get Together”
Review of Canyon Lake Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canyon Lake Ranch
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Get Together”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Longhorn Lodge provided adequate space for our family of 6. One of the bedrooms did not get as cool as the rest. A ceiling fan may have helped. Knowing the property utilized private water well, it was hard to get past the strong sulfur spell whenever the water was used. Grandchildren really enjoyed feeding the 5 longhorn cows that roam the property. Because other family members were staying in the Starview Lodge we were able to enjoy the beautiful pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Lots of nice, big windows throughout. We stayed at the Longhorn during December and my favorite thing was to sleep with all the blinds completely up and see all the stars. It's such a pretty sight when you come from a big city.
Also, enjoyed grilling burgers and steaks on the roomy, decked patio (there's a great meat market in nearby New Braunfels--Granzins) and then roasting marshmallows for s'mores at the chimnea while looking at the stars. Simple is better.
The beds were very comfortable and clean. They had nice, faux-effect heaters in the bedrooms.
Gruene, NB and even Canyon Lake have unique, fun attractions. Our faves were the Canyon Lake Gorge tour www.canyongorge.org. and the Snake Farm www.exoticanimalworld.com.
Longhorn allows pets so our dog enjoyed being with us this time instead of being boarded. Feeding the cows was fun and they were so friendly!
Overall, the ranch and the rural setting was so relaxing and such a break from the city. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeVoyager1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

I would go back tomorrow. A unique Texan experience. This place is quaint and lovely. If you don't want to be disturbed and want peace and quiet. This is the place for you. There are plenty of places to eat a few miles away. We took a lot of food and groceries to barbecue and it was a good idea as the shop is a long way away. The hot tub was great fun. Our Labrador loved playing in the fenced off garden. The long horns were fantastic and definatly love the cookies.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mondie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

First my family and I took a small vaction to canyon lake and stayed at the Canyon Lake ranch (Starview Lodge). Overall the facilities were good. Rustic atmosphere. Beds clean and comfortable. Back porch was great to eat evening dinners under the stars. Kids really liked feeding the cows. Kids swam in the pool every day. However, their pool is in the process of being fixxed, so it did have some cleanliness issues. The jaccuzzi was warm but the jets were weak. And the wireless connection was spotty at times. I spoke with the owners about all the above and they were very responsive and appreciative toward our input of the likes and dislikes.

But like I said, overall it was an enjoyable vacation for my family and me.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Had a wonderful 2 days at the Starview. Great to have complete privacy with a pool and hot tub. The accomodations were very comfortable and we had no complaints. Took walks around the ranch, very relaxing. Overall a wonderful expierience and will definently return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jlange106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We've stayed at Canyon Lake Ranch several times over the last year and each time is a true "Texas" country getaway. The 1/2 mile road to the ranch goes through a wide pasture, up a hill, past a windmill, and through a cattle guard. The Starview Lodge features a huge living - kitchen - dining area plus two bedrooms, one full bath with a shower and a half bath.

A pool and patio are directly in front of the lodge with lots of shaded seating and a outdoor dining table. Perfect for a comfortable stay!

Our grandkids had a lot of fun feeding the gorgeous and friendly Longhorn Cattle. All they had to do was walk up to the "cow cookie" bucket and the cattle came right up. What fun!

Highly recommended if you want a casual country place to stay that is within an easy drive of tubing, the lake, and centrally located between New Braunfels and the hill country.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Went with my niece and friend, we are ladies in our 40's & 50's. Just the perfect get away, relaxing, in the country and quiet. Stayed at the Starview Lodge with pool and hot tub. Everyone was a delight to work. We were well taken care of. This is on a ranch, so it is not a penthouse. It is clean and comfortable,, more of a cabin/lodge feel. With 2 bedrooms and fold out couch in large living dining room. Two tables for dining, plus nice outside area by pool for relaxing, dining. You are out in the country away from all the city noises and problems, near Canyon Lake. They have another home for rent on property if needed and a bed and breakfast in San Antonio.

Room Tip: I like to sleep in a dark room, so the bedroom by the greenhouse was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
6.2 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lakehouse Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Lazy H Lodge B&B
Lazy H Lodge B&B
#2 of 6 in Canyon Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Canyon Springs Country Lodge
Canyon Springs Country Lodge
#14 of 14 in Canyon Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
16.0 mi away
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
#16 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mt Gainor Inn
Mt Gainor Inn
#1 of 5 in Dripping Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Ranch

Property: Canyon Lake Ranch
Address: 1610 FM 484, Canyon Lake, TX 78133
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Canyon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swimming Pool, Hot Tubs and Pet Friendly near Canyon Lake. More private than a bed and breakfast and much nicer than cabins and cottages, Canyon Lake Ranch offers a choice of two highly inspected romantic vacation homes on our Longhorn Cattle Ranch near Canyon Lake. Guests are welcomed with a basket of fresh fruit, complementary wine, great cookies and bedside chocolates. Starview Lodge sleeps up to 6 guests (2 queen bedrooms, 1-1/2 baths). Swimming Pool, Wi-Fi, sauna, stone fireplace, half basketball court, horseshoes and shaded pool deck area. Longhorn Lodge sleeps up to 8 guests (3 bedrooms – 2 queen, 1 two singles, 2 baths). Secluded location, shady fenced yard that welcomes pets (extra charge), covered parking, two porches. Both centrally air conditioned homes have private hot tubs, satellite television, DVD, completely equipped kitchens, are fully furnished, have charcoal grills, guest robes and hot tub towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Ranch Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing