We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starview Lodge”
Review of Canyon Lake Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canyon Lake Ranch
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The sweetest secret in Canyon Lake Texas lodging is the Starview Lodge at Canyon Lake Ranch.
Robbi And Dan Boone have made the Starview Lodge a truly beautiful hill country private enclave for a family to stay, cook, explore, and enjoy a Hill Country ranch. Feed the Longhorn cattle and swim in private pool. Don't be turned off by the mineral water coming from the spigot with a bit of a sulfur smell. The Starview Lodge is definitely a place to view the Texas Skies.

The Browns

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

First, let me start off by stating that we originally planned on going to this property in the spring, but had to cancel our trip last minute due to my son being hospitalized and our friend having surgery. When we were rescheduling our trip for late summer, the property owner would not confirm our reservation until the day before we were to leave. This was extremely frustrating for us and our friends that were going with us. I feel that the property owner is a poor business person.

About the house, the property and land were beautiful. However, the house is rather small, even for 2 couples and the sulfur smell in the water was unbearable. I thought I was going to through up when brushing my teeth. Also, the beds are VERY soft. If you have back problems, this could be an issue. No dishwasher as well. I felt that the interior (including the TV) was outdated. I would not rent this property again. There are too many other good options out there, and at better prices. I think that pest control would be a good idea for the owners as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeAnn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Longhorn Lodge provided adequate space for our family of 6. One of the bedrooms did not get as cool as the rest. A ceiling fan may have helped. Knowing the property utilized private water well, it was hard to get past the strong sulfur spell whenever the water was used. Grandchildren really enjoyed feeding the 5 longhorn cows that roam the property. Because other family members were staying in the Starview Lodge we were able to enjoy the beautiful pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Lots of nice, big windows throughout. We stayed at the Longhorn during December and my favorite thing was to sleep with all the blinds completely up and see all the stars. It's such a pretty sight when you come from a big city.
Also, enjoyed grilling burgers and steaks on the roomy, decked patio (there's a great meat market in nearby New Braunfels--Granzins) and then roasting marshmallows for s'mores at the chimnea while looking at the stars. Simple is better.
The beds were very comfortable and clean. They had nice, faux-effect heaters in the bedrooms.
Gruene, NB and even Canyon Lake have unique, fun attractions. Our faves were the Canyon Lake Gorge tour www.canyongorge.org. and the Snake Farm www.exoticanimalworld.com.
Longhorn allows pets so our dog enjoyed being with us this time instead of being boarded. Feeding the cows was fun and they were so friendly!
Overall, the ranch and the rural setting was so relaxing and such a break from the city. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaimeVoyager1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

I would go back tomorrow. A unique Texan experience. This place is quaint and lovely. If you don't want to be disturbed and want peace and quiet. This is the place for you. There are plenty of places to eat a few miles away. We took a lot of food and groceries to barbecue and it was a good idea as the shop is a long way away. The hot tub was great fun. Our Labrador loved playing in the fenced off garden. The long horns were fantastic and definatly love the cookies.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mondie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

First my family and I took a small vaction to canyon lake and stayed at the Canyon Lake ranch (Starview Lodge). Overall the facilities were good. Rustic atmosphere. Beds clean and comfortable. Back porch was great to eat evening dinners under the stars. Kids really liked feeding the cows. Kids swam in the pool every day. However, their pool is in the process of being fixxed, so it did have some cleanliness issues. The jaccuzzi was warm but the jets were weak. And the wireless connection was spotty at times. I spoke with the owners about all the above and they were very responsive and appreciative toward our input of the likes and dislikes.

But like I said, overall it was an enjoyable vacation for my family and me.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Had a wonderful 2 days at the Starview. Great to have complete privacy with a pool and hot tub. The accomodations were very comfortable and we had no complaints. Took walks around the ranch, very relaxing. Overall a wonderful expierience and will definently return for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jlange106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
6.2 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Lakehouse Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Lazy H Lodge B&B
Lazy H Lodge B&B
#3 of 6 in Canyon Lake
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Mystic Quarry
Mystic Quarry
#2 of 14 in Canyon Lake
36 reviews
17.5 mi away
Gruene River Inn
Gruene River Inn
#7 of 12 in New Braunfels
101 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#5 of 19 in Wimberley
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Ranch

Address: 1610 Fm 484, Canyon Lake, TX 78133
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Canyon Lake
Price Range: £151 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swimming Pool, Hot Tubs and Pet Friendly near Canyon Lake. More private than a bed and breakfast and much nicer than cabins and cottages, Canyon Lake Ranch offers a choice of two highly inspected romantic vacation homes on our Longhorn Cattle Ranch near Canyon Lake. Guests are welcomed with a basket of fresh fruit, complementary wine, great cookies and bedside chocolates. Starview Lodge sleeps up to 6 guests (2 queen bedrooms, 1-1/2 baths). Swimming Pool, Wi-Fi, sauna, stone fireplace, half basketball court, horseshoes and shaded pool deck area. Longhorn Lodge sleeps up to 8 guests (3 bedrooms – 2 queen, 1 two singles, 2 baths). Secluded location, shady fenced yard that welcomes pets (extra charge), covered parking, two porches. Both centrally air conditioned homes have private hot tubs, satellite television, DVD, completely equipped kitchens, are fully furnished, have charcoal grills, guest robes and hot tub towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Ranch Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing