We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If was wonderful! We loved the hot tub and sauna!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Lake Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canyon Lake Ranch
DFW Texas
1 review
“If was wonderful! We loved the hot tub and sauna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

If was wonderful! We loved the hot tub and sauna! The weather was cold in March but we are hoping to return in the summer to take advantage of the pool. The stars at night were beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBtrips001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

My family enjoyed our stay and will recommend it to our friends. It was night when we arrived and the lights were on with cookies on the table, wine in a bucket and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtrcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

The service was excellent. Upon our arrival, we were met with complimentary homemade cookie and wine, as well as chocolates on the bedside tables. The cabin was decorated with antiques and had incorporated portions of an old bank vault and teller station into the kitchen area. The master bath included a sauna. But we preferred the outdoor hot tub and swimming pool, where we could enjoy the view of the nighttime stars, unfiltered by any city lights. Other amenities included high speed internet, for those who like to stay in touch via email, etc., and cable TV.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TEXAS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

PROS: The location was as described on the web-site. It was comfortable and very quiet. The Longhorns provided a rustic touch. Giving the cattle "Cow-Cookies" was a nice daily diversion. The pool, sauna, and hot tub were very nice even though the pool pump had just broken the day we arrived. A well appointed selection of books were available to read. The TV had a DVD/ VHS tape player attached. Sat. TV was available too. The kitchen was equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster
CONS: Because the ranch is "in the country" the ground / well water has a sulfur smell which makes showers and daily clean-up an aromatic adventure. There was a faucet (carbon) filter in the kitchen that stopped working on the 2nd day of the visit. Because the house was on a septic system, the owners posted signs in the bathroom NOT to flush toilet paper but instead to place in a zip lock bag! The patio door does NOT lock. The internet connection was not activated. The kitchen is best described as "Art Deco" if was functional but did not have an oven or dishwasher.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BohicaNaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Overall the Starlight Lake House was a lot of fun and a relaxing vacation spot. Located on a ranch, it's got rustic appeal including longhorn cattle to feed. The pool / hot tub were nice and the surrounding garden was lovely. However, there were three draw backs: 1) the lake house is literally in the owner's back yard as it is a converted cabana, 2) the door didn't lock and the window treatments did not close completely for privacy, and 3) the water - smell and taste were horrendous.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Our trip was planned as a group vacation with several other couples to float down the Guadalupe River but our plans fell apart just days before we were due to leave. So my boyfriend and I went by ourselves and had an amazing time!!!! The cabin was awesome! The "In Keepers" are very nice and down to earth people! We took advantage of every amenity the cabin had to offer, from the pool, hot tub and dry sauna in the master bath. The back roads are perfect for motorcycle rides too! We have already started looking at our calendar to book another trip back to the same cabin! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!
We loved this place!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amc3girlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

My husband and I arrived at the Stargate Lodge on Friday afternoon. The door was open and we were greeted by a big bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine with two glasses. We didn't see our hosts, although their home is just above our "cabin." The lodge is the size of a small house, with a huge great room with fireplace and tons of comfy seating. The kitchen counter is an old bank tellers counter - neat. The two bedrooms are large and very nicely decorated. 1 1/2 baths for two people were more than adequate. There's even a sauna/steam bath!
The lodge faces a large swimming pool around which there's a big patio with chairs and tables. Unfortunately, the weather had been cool and the pool wasn't quite warm enough to enjoy. However, the hot tub above the pool was warm and a real pleasure. There were pots of flowers everywhere.
We had a very relaxing week-end exploring the area, enjoying the wineries and local attractions. The owners didn't stop by until Sunday night and were so friendly and personable.
Anyone looking for a private getaway with a private pool and hot tub at a hotel price, should consider Stargate Lodge. It is aptly named when you sit next to the pool in the evening and look up at the sky!

  • Liked — Lots of space
  • Disliked — The pool was cold.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank boltsnnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
6.2 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lazy H Lodge B&B
Lazy H Lodge B&B
#2 of 6 in Canyon Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
16.0 mi away
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
T Bar M Camps & Retreats
#17 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Mt Gainor Inn
Mt Gainor Inn
#1 of 5 in Dripping Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#4 of 19 in Wimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hideout on the Horseshoe
Hideout on the Horseshoe
#6 of 14 in Canyon Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lake Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Ranch

Property: Canyon Lake Ranch
Address: 1610 FM 484, Canyon Lake, TX 78133
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Canyon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swimming Pool, Hot Tubs and Pet Friendly near Canyon Lake. More private than a bed and breakfast and much nicer than cabins and cottages, Canyon Lake Ranch offers a choice of two highly inspected romantic vacation homes on our Longhorn Cattle Ranch near Canyon Lake. Guests are welcomed with a basket of fresh fruit, complementary wine, great cookies and bedside chocolates. Starview Lodge sleeps up to 6 guests (2 queen bedrooms, 1-1/2 baths). Swimming Pool, Wi-Fi, sauna, stone fireplace, half basketball court, horseshoes and shaded pool deck area. Longhorn Lodge sleeps up to 8 guests (3 bedrooms – 2 queen, 1 two singles, 2 baths). Secluded location, shady fenced yard that welcomes pets (extra charge), covered parking, two porches. Both centrally air conditioned homes have private hot tubs, satellite television, DVD, completely equipped kitchens, are fully furnished, have charcoal grills, guest robes and hot tub towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Ranch Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing