We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hideout on the Horseshoe
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Bulverde(Spring Branch)(Great Value!)
US$133
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wimberley Inn(Wimberley)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Resort at Schlitterbahn(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince Solms Inn(New Braunfels)
US$142
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
47
25
16
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
25
16
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverround the clockfull size refrigeratormicrowavedeckcabinfireplacefreezersuitcasestreeswoods
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Not only was it extremely hot, the walls were paper thin. The loft style "cabin" had 1 window air unit. Even with the air unit on high, the downstairs never cooled off. I felt like I was at summer camp with the style of the cabin and the fact that we could hear everything from the cabins next to us. Also, you have to share your "balcony" with the rest the guests (1 long deck with sliding doors out to the community balcony). For $300 a night, I expected a lot more. If you are looking for a poorly designed room on the river with all night partying, then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a luxury cabin on the river fitting for a family, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO STAY!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanyaL362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We were lucky to have stayed at relatively low-season (April) before it got too hot here in Texas. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids and got a 'groupon'-type deal. We were happy they let us use it even on a holiday weekend (minimum 2-day stay). Our cabin had one comfortable bed, a spacious bathroom, a living room area (pull-out sofa for our 2 kids), a fridge, freezer and microwave (not a full kitchen). Having driven there from Houston, we took some groceries and utensils - do not expect to make dinner there, all you can really make are sandwiches or microwaved meals since there is no oven nor utensils.

The property is beautiful and there are places to sit and watch the river or go tubing...nice place to go IF and only IF it is low season. Even though there were no concerts when we went, I could not sleep because the walls were PAPER THIN and we could hear our neighbors ALL NIGHT LONG.

They have stand-alone cabins available which looked nice but I'm sure they are pricey. If you must stay here, go for those, especially since you can't choose your neighbors.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in their smallest cabin for a two night tubing trip with our teenagers, but it was just fine for this sort of trip. It was clean, roomy, the a/c did a good job in the August heat. The cabin had a covered front porch with a great view of the river (though the ceiling fan on the front porch was missing, which was a problem for sitting on the porch in August-we called the office but they did not replace the ceiling fan while we were there).
The view was very scenic from the porch. The staff was nice, and they do a good job with their tubing shuttle service. When you first arrive, you have to go to their nearby off site office to check in, and it was somewhat difficult to find. Their website could do a better job with giving directions to their office. All in all, it was a pretty location, comfortable, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Many of the cabins connect to one another. Some of the reviews I read indicate that there was sometimes noise from the neighboring cabin. We had a stand alone cabin, and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnordt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I’m writing this just so people will know what to expect as we wish this information had been known to us prior to our booking. I'm giving this an average rating but actually did not have a good experience at all. I will take some responsibility for this as I did not know this area was party central for those going to concerts. We stayed in one of the loft cabins and as noted on their site it was very small. Beds were comfortable but only had a window air unit in the loft area. However, this did help to drown out all the noise/yelling in the units on either side of us during the night. The inside seating for the dining table was missing a chair and when I called to inquire was told that particular units table only had 3 chairs. Futon was sort of ragged. However, outside property was beautiful, had we been able to enjoy it. Parking and unloading is very difficult. Some people tried to unload and reload in front of the cabins blocking entry and exit. There is only one single lane in and out. It would certainly help if the facility improved the access to the property and the parking.

If you are expecting a nice quite time then I would not advise this property if your stay is in conjunction with a concert at the White Water Amphitheater (managed by the same company). Unfortunately, excessive drinking and partying by other guests is what we experienced during our stay. Of concern was when a guest from an adjoining unit told us we might want to invest in earplugs and informed us that they were thrown out of the last place they stayed.

Our cabin shared a long patio with many other adjoining units. As soon as we arrived we noticed other guests using the patio table right outside our patio door. Know that just because you have a table outside your patio door doesn't mean it is yours to use alone. Cabins connected to both sides of us had more than the 6 people allowed (at least visiting) and they all dominated the seating on the patio during the entire weekend. The only time we had access to the seating outside our door was in the early morning hours while the other guests were sleeping it off. When the patio table was available I could not enjoy myself because of the profanity used while outside. Thank goodness we did not have any children with us. We did not inform the staff as we felt this would only cause more problems. We had already spent so much money on a two night stay and with the property fully booked we knew they had no additional cabins. Therefore, we had nowhere to go. Live and learn.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank 4sons1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Hideout on the Horseshoe was the perfect backdrop for our wedding weekend. We rented out all 19 cabins, and guests were amazed at how nice they were! We enjoyed many of the property's areas- the outdoor fireplace as a gathering spot for family where we enjoyed wine and cheese, the beautiful landing right down by the river for the younger folks, and the playground for the little ones. I was impressed with how friendly the staff was- they helped our elderly guests get around with golfcarts, they helped decorate the grounds for the wedding, and they were very helpful with suggesting restaurants and fun venues. We absolutely loved this place and will be back soon! Thank you Hideout! :)

Room Tip: All cabins had a refrigerator and microwave- bring snacks! Also, check out their interactive website stayandfloat.com to see exactly what each room looks like!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews