We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hideout on the Horseshoe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Resort at Schlitterbahn(New Braunfels)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wimberley Inn(Wimberley)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
47
25
16
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
25
16
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverround the clockfull size refrigeratormicrowavedeckcabinfireplacefreezersuitcasestreeswoods
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Pros
1) The cabins were very close to the pictures posted on the website.
2) Tubes were included in our stay.
3) Cabin was clean.
4) Bed was relatively comfortable.
5) Friendly staff.
6) Grounds are very nice.

Cons
1) We made the mistake and chose a cabin without a kitchen sink. This created a problem for us because we had planned on cooking most of our meals at the cabin.
2) The barbeque grills were very far from our cabin so grilling wasn't an option.
3) The view to the river was covered with trees.
4) Only one window unit in bedroom so could not close door or kids would be too hot at night.
5) Very close to the street so you can hear road noise and doesn't seem like too much of a cabin.
6) Zero closet or counter space. We had to live out of our bags the entire time.

I feel better pictures of each cabin would be helpful. Although the stay was ok, we probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you plan on cooking, chose a room with a sink.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

There was no mention of free tubes or free transportation to the river when booking. This would have been good information to have before we bought and brought our own tubes. Also there is no mention that you have to be finished tubing by 6pm or they will charge you an $80 per person late fee to come get you after 6pm. Also there is no mention of a free catered meal in the Pavilion at 6pm ( I guess they are trying to entice you to get off the River by 6 to eat), we would not have brought all the groceries for dinner on Saturday night had we know there was a catered meal. Cabin is in need of repairs, faces coming off drawers, TV not working most of the weekend. For $1200 for 2 nights we expected a lot, and were very let down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Not only was it extremely hot, the walls were paper thin. The loft style "cabin" had 1 window air unit. Even with the air unit on high, the downstairs never cooled off. I felt like I was at summer camp with the style of the cabin and the fact that we could hear everything from the cabins next to us. Also, you have to share your "balcony" with the rest the guests (1 long deck with sliding doors out to the community balcony). For $300 a night, I expected a lot more. If you are looking for a poorly designed room on the river with all night partying, then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a luxury cabin on the river fitting for a family, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO STAY!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanyaL362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We were lucky to have stayed at relatively low-season (April) before it got too hot here in Texas. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids and got a 'groupon'-type deal. We were happy they let us use it even on a holiday weekend (minimum 2-day stay). Our cabin had one comfortable bed, a spacious bathroom, a living room area (pull-out sofa for our 2 kids), a fridge, freezer and microwave (not a full kitchen). Having driven there from Houston, we took some groceries and utensils - do not expect to make dinner there, all you can really make are sandwiches or microwaved meals since there is no oven nor utensils.

The property is beautiful and there are places to sit and watch the river or go tubing...nice place to go IF and only IF it is low season. Even though there were no concerts when we went, I could not sleep because the walls were PAPER THIN and we could hear our neighbors ALL NIGHT LONG.

They have stand-alone cabins available which looked nice but I'm sure they are pricey. If you must stay here, go for those, especially since you can't choose your neighbors.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in their smallest cabin for a two night tubing trip with our teenagers, but it was just fine for this sort of trip. It was clean, roomy, the a/c did a good job in the August heat. The cabin had a covered front porch with a great view of the river (though the ceiling fan on the front porch was missing, which was a problem for sitting on the porch in August-we called the office but they did not replace the ceiling fan while we were there).
The view was very scenic from the porch. The staff was nice, and they do a good job with their tubing shuttle service. When you first arrive, you have to go to their nearby off site office to check in, and it was somewhat difficult to find. Their website could do a better job with giving directions to their office. All in all, it was a pretty location, comfortable, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Many of the cabins connect to one another. Some of the reviews I read indicate that there was sometimes noise from the neighboring cabin. We had a stand alone cabin, and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnordt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews