We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet Family Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
The perfect place for a summer vacation in the country
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The perfect place for a summer vacation in the country
Can you beat the record of 14 deer at one front porch feeding?! Ariel view of Dream Away Cabin.  A secluded home in the woods.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The perfect place for a summer vacation in the country
Can you beat the record of 14 deer at one front porch feeding?!
Ariel view of Dream Away Cabin.  A secluded home in the woods.
Bedroom#1: Custom log queen bed, 500+ thread count bed sheets, en suite bath w/jacuzzi tub
Kick back and relax in a hammock made for two under the shady trees...
View of kitchen from the living area
The antique chest is a treasure chest of family games and toys for the little ones
Kick-back and relax on the front porch single and double rocking chairs
Make memories story-telling, strumming guitar or roasting marshmallows around the fire pit!
Winding path on the property leading to the cabin.
Exposed cedar beams throughout the cabin
Bathroom#1: En-suite bathroom with jacuzzi tub and shower
Relax in the beautiful jacuzzi tub after a long day out on the trail ..
Bedroom#2: FULL/QUEEN custom log bunk bed, 500+ thread count on bed sheets, picture windows
Bathroom #2 / Mud room: Shower, vanity sink, full size washer & drier, large washing sink
Feeding deer from the front porch
The perfect place for the cozy holiday season!  Fully decked out with seasonal trimmings
Frequent visitors - deer, foxes, badgers, eagles ...
Relax in a rocking chair on the front porch and be inspired by the canopy of stars above
Hancock Equestrian trail - just 10 minute stroll from the cabin
The lack of light polution at Dream Away makes for an astronomer's paradise!
Texas Hill Country wineries are becoming recognized across the US for their award winning products
Enjoy many wine tasting rooms in the area.  Second only to Napa, nearby wineries are exceptional!
Wild flowers are abundant and beautiful in the Hill Country.  Best during March - May.
Happy Fall, y'all!  The cabin has seasonal decorations throughout the year
Nearby Marble Falls is a must for hiking and exploring the river
Lake fishing or fly-fishing in the famous trout stocked Guadalupe, Canyon Lake has it all
Sea World - just a short one-hour drive away.  A fantastic family day out
The beautiful Guadalupe River in the fall - Canyon Lake
The lake offers skiiing, wake-boarding, tubing, jet skiing, scuba diving, wind-surfing and more
A selection of local wines from the Texas Hill Country - local wine tasting tours available
Cozy fireplace in the living area
New, luxurious cedar log cabin in the heart of the Texas Hill Country
Explore dinosaur tracks and fossils at Canyon Lake Gorge
Schlitterbarn Water Park - just 20 minutes away.  Fun for the whole family!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canyon Lake, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jkodom
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Family Vacation”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin was the perfect place for my family to get away and relax for a few days. We really enjoyed slow mornings on the front porch watching the deer. The owners provide a small bag of deer corn to give the deer (one of many small, well thought out details) and the deer are used to being fed by people. They would come out when they heard my kids' voices while we sat on the porch in the morning. They would come close enough for the kids to throw the corn to them, but kept their distance.

The location is great. A short walk to the lake. A short drive to Wimberley, San Marcos, and other interesting places (I loved driving the Devil's Backbone!).

There are neighbors around, but the area was quiet. Thanks to the trees and brush, we felt pretty secluded.

This cabin is at the top of our list for the next time we go to Canyon Lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel P
1 review
“Great getaway spot to reconnect with the family.”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cabin was very clean and well thought out with amenities. We all liked the wood beams and exposed log wall interior. The cabin is very close to the lake where we went kayaking. The location is also relatively close to Wimberly, San Marcos, and Natural Bridge Caverns. It was a great balance between access to things to do and having a quiet place to rest at the end of the day. The deer were also a nice treat. We had a great time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for reviewing Dream Away Cabin, Miguel. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It's about making memories and we are happy that we had a small part of it. Hope to host y'all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magali201...
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Pretty log cabin”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cabin is very recent, furnished in the Texas style, very confortable and cute. The owner took great care of decorating nicely. Also, there are deers on the property, and there was a packet of deer corn for us to feed them.
One of the bedroom is furnished with an amazing king size bunk bed made out of logs! My Kid enjoyed it very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deers were so cute (except for that big one who bossed them all around)
Liked least: There was a problem with the shower in one of the bathrooms, so we used the other bathroom. The owner was responsive and called a plumber.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSNAustin
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“First-Class Accommodations at Canyon Lake”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Dream Away Cabin is a beautiful cedar log cabin at Canyon Lake. Secluded, spotlessly clean, and incredibly quiet, this cabin offers modern facilities and the optimum ability for comfort and relaxation near the lake. (Best fishing spots are a car drive away.) An entire family of deer come around to munch on the deer corn. Next time, we'll bring our telescope. Our personal standard in reviewing vacation rentals is whether we could live there, and regarding the Dream Away Cabin, our response is an emphatic Yes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality of the cabin.
Liked least: We stayed only two nights.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L. Scott...
1 review
“secluded and very clean”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

we had poor weather but the fireplace and feeding all the deer was fun. we bought firewood and deer corn and enjoyed the rain on the metal roof.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the cabin despite the poor weather. We provide our guests with a bag of deer corn but it is not unusual for them to want to purchase more, just like you did. Deer feeding is so much fun! We have seen 19 deer at one time right at the front porch! Hope the memories you created will last a lifetime...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1fields1
Golden, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“November Stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The cabin was very clean and furnished with a lot of charm. It was frustrating though not to be able to use the fireplace. The owners should consider converting it to gas. If you plan on cooking be aware that the kitchen is sparsely furnished without a cutting board, mixing bowls, or simple things like even salt and pepper. Also, the whole inside of the cabin is lined with cedar and the odor is overwhelming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and private.
Liked least: The cedar smell inside is overwhelming and gave me a migraine.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for staying at Dream Away Cabin. We're glad to hear that you found it to be clean and charming. It is a new cedar log cabin so the lovely cedar aroma will welcome you as you walk into the cabin. A cedar cutting board is provided though it has such a unique shape that people may not recognize it as a cutting board. A regular cutting board has since been added so it's more recognizable. We have also added mixing bowls, more pots and pans. However, if you need something more specialized like a roaster or electric mixer, then you might want to bring those. If you're cooking, you might want to bring all your ingredients, including salt and pepper. We have some in the cabin but it is not a standard offering, neither is sugar or Splenda, creamer, etc. Lastly, the fireplace is now available for use for those cold, cozy nights
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: New Log Cabin Beauty and Smells
Liked least: rained a lot while there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
We are so glad to hear that you had a terrific time at Dream Away Cabin. This is what we strive for. Congratulations on your engagement! We hope to host you both again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;