We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Colombian delight”

Casa Vieja Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 318 Restaurants in Carrollton
Cuisines: Colombian, South American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic Colombian delight”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My In-laws, who are from Medellin, Colombia, decided to take my husband and I to this restaurant during our visit. This was my first time dining at a Colombian restaurant, and I was not disappointed. Every platter is served in abundance, each one traditional. Make sure to try a yucca and chicharron plate, which you can dip into the tasty encurtido (salsa). You can even try Colombiana, a common soda from the country. The owner even provides a genuine touch to the atmosphere by decorating the walls with traditional miniature houses, a common piece in Colombia. You truly feel as if you've stepped into Colombia while dining here.

So if you're craving a unique, delicious meal with many choices of meat and vegetables, step into casa Vieja! A country within a country.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Actually was only looking for the empanadas. I have been to Colombia on 3 different occasions. I love those empanadas but cannot find local. On the Border has them but the crust is like an apple pie. lol I was promptly seated and and actually had a very nice waitress but she could not understand english well. Another waitress helped her. I ordered the empanadas and a order of arepas which I also like. The arepas were okay but not original. The empanadas were perfect and I ended up ordering 4. lol Since I did not eat all my arepas they offered to deduct from my check. I refused it was not their fault. They also have Colombian soft drinks available if you desire. I had one and it was very good. Food is excellent and not expensive. I will go back often.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cottontop100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Soooo Goooood”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The food is delicious, specially the empanadas. Service is generally just "ok", I have never had any bad experiences.

If you want some good food, that isn't Mexican, come here.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyclical00GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 28 February 2009

The food here is amazing. We had a black sausage appetizer and then the brisket empanada plates for our main course. Outstanding! I was even drawn to the corncakes despite the bland flavor. On the other hand the service was horrible. There were only two other tables in the place and still never really saw our waitress. Maybe we upset her when we asked for sour cream, which apparently Columbians don't use. When we asked, the waitress quickly replied that Columbians are not from Central America, as if we insulted her. Well my girlfriend is from Central America and was quite insulted by this remark. So here it is: If you are NOT in a rush and don't mind being ignored but are in the mood for some great authentic Columbian cuisine, then this place is great. If you are from Central America, stay away because they don't like you or your requests here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redskinedmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“the only and best colombian place in dallas”
Reviewed 9 July 2008

the only and best colombian place in dallas

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Casa Vieja Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Vieja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing