We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Worst place we have ever stayed. The rom was ding, bedspread frumbked, breakfast service was nil, not even a working coffee pot. Such a disappointment. Place is in dire need of a complete renovating, waste of money!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ceragem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    68
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
72
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Our disappointments were no hot tub- (at a spa?)
Sister was charged for 50 minutes at Spa but only given 40.Twice! Prices not a bargain either.
Breakfast a little disappointing to brother- ask for sausage and waited for it. Then found out there was none. Lunch made up for the breakfast- great buffet & free!
Water did not drain well in bath tub in one room.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely views off the back of the property. Our room was clean, well appointed, comfortable bed, and roomy. We did have dinner in the dining room, the food was served at proper temperature and was well seasoned. The property was quiet and restful. Breakfast consisted of starchy carbs and no protein, skip this and go explore the other options in Castroville.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappell Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We enjoyed a two night stay courtesy of groupon. The rooms were clean and the staff was quite helpful. The name "spa & resort" is a misnomer as this hotel is a hotel with a spa - no resort what so ever. But I do have to say the stay was comfortable, the town history was interesting and the lunch that was served was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gramps3421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleside, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We enjoyed ourselves very much at the hotel, two nights and the view from our room was fantastic. My husband says he was quite happy with his stay and commented on how polite everyone there was.

The lunch buffet was fantastic, the room was clean, well appointed and the wine we had in our room was reasonably priced. Everything about our stay was perfect.

The bed was comfortable and I would like to know where the mattresses are purchased because we want one of them here at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank optomistic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We enjoyed walking into a very clean & up to date room (no carpet) which smelled so good. The balcony out looking over the Hill Country was great! We were told the breakfast was free and were expecting more than a Continental, so disappointed in that, but were very surprised with a great lunch - with a beautiful full window view from the restaurant.

The service was friendly and helpful, from the hotel and restaurant and restaurant staff.

The big thing that we missed was a hot tub since it was early spring and too cold for the outdoor pool. Saying that, the pool area was very peaceful and relaxing to sit by, listening to good music that was low enough to enjoy reading a great book. This was amazing. We loved our Sibling's Trip, with sisters and brother.

My sisters and I took advantage of the Spa, but found it mediocre in comparison of the spa's we have in Dallas. It looked good and we were taking full advantage of the options available. This was the most disappointing, it seemed too hyped for the services we received. My sisters can leave their reviews as they were much more disappointed than I. It seems the timing was the most problematic, as my technician arrived late and finished with me early to make up for it.
Over-all, I would stay there again and again. I wouldn't spend my money at the spa, but I would take another good book, enjoy being close to San Antonio, enjoy the local park, hiking and being with my sisters & brother.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoGoJOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Groupon package gave a great value for two nights just west of San Antonio. View from balcony was very nice, check in by Ambrose as friendly as we have ever experienced. Also found everyone we spoke with to be very friendly. Breakfast in the dinning room was another bonus surprise. Would not hesitate to return when in the area again. The room was very clean and spacious.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castroville
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Far West Side
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#18 of 355 in San Antonio
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort

Property: Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Address: 1651 US Highway 90 W, Castroville, TX 78009-2601
Region: United States > Texas > Castroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring big city amenities in the country, Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort is located just minutes from downtown San Antonio. Our quiet boutique hotel offers breathtaking views overlooking the Medina River Valley & historic Castroville; our full service property includes 38 newly remodeled guest rooms, spa services including customized skin & body treatments, several meeting spaces and a restaurant featuring fine Alsatian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alsace Castroville
Hotel Alsace And Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing