We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Seattle, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I felt compelled to write this review so as to express our appreciation and thanks for our recent stay at The Hotel Alsace & Spa. We arrived on Wednesday, June 11, 2014 in advance of my wife’s nieces wedding on Sunday, June 15. Having never visited the Texas Hill Country, we made the decision to spend an entire week at the Spa – we’re sure glad we did!

From the moment we checked in we were made to feel like ‘family.’ The entire staff did everything to make us feel welcomed, pampered and exceeded all our expectations. Having travelled all over the world in luxury properties, they could learn much from your staff about hospitality.

We’d like to share some truly memorable experiences we had with members of the staff, and what they did personally to take care of us.

Front Desk: Tiffany (she wore a name tag that read, “Front Desk,” who we subsequently called Ms. Desk) was always smiling, efficient and professional. Liam – what a great personality, always cheerful and tremendously accommodating – except when he wasn’t able to help, then he was super-duper apologetic and we came to know him as, “Mr. I’m sorry.” Liam told us that his mom had always taught him the importance of quickly admitting when you couldn’t help with an, “I’m sorry.” Fortunately Liam was almost always able to accommodate us. You’ve got another winner in Jennye, who personally came to our room to replace light bulbs – super friendly with a, “do whatever it takes,” to please the guest attitude. Not only did Jennye replace the burned out bulb in our room, she left a spare with us – nice touch! Then there’s Ambrose – what can we say, never mess with a guy from Texas who carries a sidearm. Ambrose is naturally friendly, however we think he must work a lot of graveyard shifts as we didn’t see him as much as the others. Finally, staffing the front desk was Leahandra – she’s got leadership written all over her, it is clear that the staff respect her, look up to her and value her example of how to take care of guests. Leahandra is a consummate hospitality professional and know the hotel must be happy that she’s leading the team.

In the Spa we got to know Heather, she gave Tom a facial in which he promptly fell asleep about half way through – and woke up feeling and looking younger! She’s a star and has a gift for making people comfortable – Heather does amazing stuff with the face and skin. Sheena gave Tom a mani/pedi, what a great cosmetologist – we had a lively chat covering everything from life, love to the pursuit of happiness, which, as a single mom with four kids has to be challenging. Loved Sheena!

One can’t talk about a hotel stay without mentioning the chambermaids. Liz, Maria, Roxy and Margie seemed like they were always working (we asked them if they ever went home) and made a special point each time we saw them to ask if there was anything we needed or wanted. Our room was always immaculate and restocked with clean/fluffy towels and toiletries. They seem to work great as a team and are genuinely in good spirits – we’ve stayed at plenty of hotels where the cleaning staff act and behave like third class citizens – not the case at the Hotel Alsace. What we will never forget was that Liz worked on her 55th birthday, wow what commitment and devotion to the hotel and team. Tom felt honored to be able to sing Happy Birthday to her.

We did experience one unfortunate ‘ordeal’ while there; the pool went ‘sour.’ The pool turned funky swamp green and had to be drained, cleaned and refilled. That meant that for one full day during our visit we were neither able to swim nor cool off in the pool. We elected to stay poolside, read and enjoy a bottle (or two) of wine. That’s when we got to meet Emmitt. There’s no harder worker in ‘showbiz’ than Emmitt. The way he went after cleaning that pool, especially in the midday heat, was impressive. Emmitt is a nonstop worker (tough when I consider he’s got twin 12 year olds at home) and could not have been more apologetic (reminded us of Liam) about the pool being closed and assured us he’d work as diligently and quickly to bring it back to life. And bring it back to life he did, the next day the pool was a beautiful azure and totally welcoming – it was a joy to swim and cool off in. We continued to see Emmitt around the property and he always had as smile and a big hello for us, repeatedly asking if we needed anything to make our stay more enjoyable – not something you’d typically hear from maintenance. Robert on the other hand was always busy taking care of the grounds and clearly takes great pride in his work.

Unfortunately, we didn’t really get to know the restaurant staff; our experiences there were limited to the complimentary buffet breakfast (loved the Texas shaped waffles!), the wedding ceremony/party Sunday and family/wedding party buffet lunch on Monday. We can tell you that the beef served after the wedding was spectacular. Not that the restaurant staff were less than attentive, we just never ‘connected’ with any of them – they were busy doing what they do – keeping the place clean and the buffet well stocked.

In closing, we just needed to share what a great little gem of a place you The Hotel Alsace is. If only we lived a little closer, they’d see a lot more of us.

Room Tip: Pick the valley view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom N. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    68
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
72
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Alsace for 4 nights and had the most amazing experience! Every single staff member seemed to go above and beyond to keep us happy from the desk clerks to the maids to the groundsmen. We would absolutely love to spend another weekend/trip here. The ONLY downside was that the breakfast has no protein, just carbs. But overall, great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jalexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Upon entering, the registration desk and hotel room both had a stagnant old smell. Not what I expected from a spa resort. Some of the window panes to our room's balcony were so dirty they where hard to see out of. The balcony's Adirondack chairs where too dirty to sit in with light colored pants. Bed was comfortable. I would have felt better having nice blankets versus the fancy comforter that did not appear wash worn but certainly used. The continental breakfast was the usual cold pastries, cereal, and fruit. we did not visit the spa and since our stay was in the middle of the week the restaurant was closed. The grounds and restaurant were immaculate. This hotel could easily host a small wedding and reception. You do hear the "swoosh" of passing traffic on the highway but I consider this quite compared to the city noise. We stayed at Laquinta in San Antonio years ago and it was triple the noise, dirt, and price. If we visit the area again we will return to Hotel Alsace.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Worst place we have ever stayed. The rom was ding, bedspread frumbked, breakfast service was nil, not even a working coffee pot. Such a disappointment. Place is in dire need of a complete renovating, waste of money!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ceragem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Our disappointments were no hot tub- (at a spa?)
Sister was charged for 50 minutes at Spa but only given 40.Twice! Prices not a bargain either.
Breakfast a little disappointing to brother- ask for sausage and waited for it. Then found out there was none. Lunch made up for the breakfast- great buffet & free!
Water did not drain well in bath tub in one room.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely views off the back of the property. Our room was clean, well appointed, comfortable bed, and roomy. We did have dinner in the dining room, the food was served at proper temperature and was well seasoned. The property was quiet and restful. Breakfast consisted of starchy carbs and no protein, skip this and go explore the other options in Castroville.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappell Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We enjoyed a two night stay courtesy of groupon. The rooms were clean and the staff was quite helpful. The name "spa & resort" is a misnomer as this hotel is a hotel with a spa - no resort what so ever. But I do have to say the stay was comfortable, the town history was interesting and the lunch that was served was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gramps3421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castroville
Far West Side
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Regency Inn
#2 of 3 in Hondo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort

Property: Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Address: 1651 US Hwy 90 W, Castroville, TX 78009
Region: United States > Texas > Castroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring big city amenities in the country, Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort is located just minutes from downtown San Antonio. Our quiet boutique hotel offers breathtaking views overlooking the Medina River Valley & historic Castroville; our full service property includes 38 newly remodeled guest rooms, spa services including customized skin & body treatments, several meeting spaces and a restaurant featuring fine Alsatian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alsace And Spa Resort
Hotel Alsace Castroville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing