We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
502 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Several couples went here using a Groupon which included breakfast, lunch and $50 spa credit. We went during the week as the price was cheaper that way. The rooms were very large and included a nice deck overlooking the valley below. Due to the time of year we went though, the best time to sit outside was morning. Not their fault of course. The pool and surroundings were nice and also had the great view. I had a sugar scrub at the spa and that was a nice experience. The downfall of the place was the breakfast. It was mostly bread products. We had to ask for more fruit and the milk was about to spoil too. The only protein offered was a hard boiled egg which they ran out of our last morning there.
All in all though the experience was nice and it was a good getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to have a better view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank houstonnative47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    68
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
46
72
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The pool is very cool, with lush landscaping and a tropical feel. Very nice. The town is pretty charming too. Breakfast was way above average for a hotel, with my wife even complimenting the cook (most of the time, we're just lucky to get a free breakfast to save a couple bucks). I wouldn't call this place a "destination" - but it's high quality and fun for both families and couples. It's off the main road, but still quiet. The folks at the front desk were very nice and welcoming. We enjoyed watching a wedding going on too. Sluckumms approved!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sluckumms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Creek, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I just celebrated her 60th birthday and also our anniversary at the Hotel Alsace. Our room was wonderful. It had a large deck with a marvelous view of the Medina Valley. The restaurant was excellent. Great service and even better food. My wife was very pleased with her massage and the pool was nice.All and all it was a great weekend. The next day we stayed at La Cantera for 3 times the price and wished we had stayed one more day at the Alsace. We will definitely go back often.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same set up, with a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mobettah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel overlooking the valley right off the main road. it looks like it's been recently remodeled. We were very pleased with the room and the pool. However be sure that you get a 2nd story room. We made the mistake of asking for the ground floor (there are only 2 stories) and the lady above us must have been moving furniture all evening and then early am stomping around in high heels. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were on our way to our summer camping trip at the Frio River and this is a good place to stop on the way if you don't want to drive through. There is also a Spa that I understand is very nice, but I didn't have time to experience this. Castroville is a very nice little town with some historic sites also.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd story room. Also ask for one away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I booked a stay with the Hotel Alsace with a Groupon. The weekend was meant as a "baby moon" before we have our first child in October and the Groupon came with the room, breakfast, lunch and a $50 spa credit.

First, Castroville is an absolutely splendid little town - very quaint, everyone is friendly and if you are looking to relax and escape the city, this is the place to do it. There is a very small "town square" area with cute little shops and antique stores.

We arrived on Friday night and check-in went smoothly. The woman at the front desk (Jenny, I believe) made a great recommendation for dinner (Cora's 471 Grill). We got into our room and it was clean, fresh and very Texas (stone floors, dark furniture). The french doors of most of the rooms look out over the valley of the French-inspired town, but ours butted up against a country road. Still a great view, but not the best view in the place.

We went down to the pool on Friday night and it was wonderful. We caught the sunset over the valley and stayed there until the stars came out.

We had lunch at the hotel on Saturday afternoon. The menu had plenty of options and the portions were gigantic - be prepared.

Now, for the downsides.

The continental and complimentary breakfast every morning is meager - one or two types of biscuits/rolls, a couple of pastry options, maybe some fruit, two options of cereal and waffles.

When we booked the stay at the hotel, we also booked two spa appointments - massages for myself and my husband. We were really looking forward to them, but it turns out that they were never actually booked. So we had to scramble and figure out how to use our $50 spa credit that would expire when we checked out. The staff was very accommodating in figuring out what to do, but we ended up only being able to book one appointment and I came home without a massage.

There was a wedding on the property on Saturday night and while there is an overflow lot on the other side of a small road, there is no signage preventing wedding guests from parking directly in front of the rooms meaning hotel guests need to walk from the overflow lot. That's just something that might be considered by the staff for the future.

Wifi was available, but required a password. We didnt' ask for one, but I'm sure it would have been made available if we had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in buildings one or two, they have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blosom8376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here with girlfriends recently with a Groupon voucher. it is definitely a step above the typical small town roadside lodging. Our rooms were bright and spacious and very, very clean. Each had a private balcony and, being upstairs, it was very quiet. The pool area is great. We all had spa treatments which we enjoyed but the worn/torn linens and "tired" blanket on the massage table were a disappointment. The breakfast, as others have mentioned, is minimal but adequate and the dining room is very attractive. The staff treated us well and the receptionist was most helpful.

The one thing we experienced, which also impacted our experience at the Hotel Alsace, was that most of the restaurants (including dinner at the hotel) and shops were closed Monday through Wednesday/Thursday. We found a couple of shops open on Tuesday and had a great lunch at the Castroville Cafe but we are planning to return for their Christmas celebration in early December in order to fully experience Castroville.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room...very quiet and the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texastraveler516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkins
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have stayed twice at this hotel, and were very happy with both experiences. The room was clean, spacious, and we had a lovely balcony view of the surrounding area. In addition to the free breakfast, the lunch buffet is very good. My favorite thing to do here is take advantage of a massage or facial at the spa while my husband enjoys a round of golf nearby.

Room Tip: We prefer second floor to get a balcony room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radams78101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castroville
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
Far West Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort

Property: Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Address: 1651 US Hwy 90 W, Castroville, TX 78009
Region: United States > Texas > Castroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring big city amenities in the country, Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort is located just minutes from downtown San Antonio. Our quiet boutique hotel offers breathtaking views overlooking the Medina River Valley & historic Castroville; our full service property includes 38 newly remodeled guest rooms, spa services including customized skin & body treatments, several meeting spaces and a restaurant featuring fine Alsatian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alsace And Spa Resort
Hotel Alsace Castroville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing