We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated”

Haby's Alsatian Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Castroville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nothing special here. We tried a pastry and some pumpernickle. The latter was ok the pastry not so much

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DGSymmank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    35
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Get There Early!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a fabulous Alsatian bakery. It has everything you could want for all occasions. Bakery goods are so good that they are served at Sammy's across the street and at the 3 Cedars Ranch B&B as a welcome pastry for their guest.
Just get there before late afternoon as most of the good stuff is long gone. Prices are reasonable for the quality of the bakery goods.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NoCents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy treats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This is a fun local bakery. Understand Sammy's Diner & Haby's are related? This is a full on bakery so not really sure what makes it Alsation. They have good sale on day old. The wedding cookies were best I've had. Croissants were perfect & buttery. You'll find something to love.

Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Baked Goods!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stopped here on our way out of town to take cookies to friends we were visiting. We did not leave with just cookies! Bread, cinnamon rolls, cookies and a cherry pie. Brought the unbaked cherry pie home as a treat for my family and it was absolutely delicious. Will definitely stop here again when we are in town!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJeanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Good bakery for take-out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Haby's is a fine bakery for over-the-counter breads, cakes, cookies, muffins, doughnuts, etc.
If you want a sit-down restaurant, go to Sammy's across the street and you get the same baked goods.
I think their apple fritters are the best anywhere, but others say the cookies (maybe 25 varieties) are their flagship product.
You can have a good time here and sample Alsatian treats.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haby's Alsatian Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Haby's Alsatian Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing