We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bakery”

Haby's Alsatian Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Castroville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Restaurant details
Walden, Tenn
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

No place to eat so not really a restaurant. This is simply a wonderful bakery right on the highway in Castroville. Like a honey bun, honey?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank civilwarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get there early”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Although we had heard that you need to get there early, we didn't make it. By the time we visited in the afternoon many of the trays were empty and some of the items we bought seemed dry and a bit stale. Their macaroons, however, were very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank texastraveler516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great pastries”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place has some awesome sweets!!! They have a large selection and it is amazing. This is a must if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
610 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“No One Likes A Sugar Rush Better Than I?”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Did you ever see the Lays Potato chip commercial where the catch phrase was, "Becha Can't Eat Just One"? Walk into this bakery and I bet you can't walk out with just one item. At least that's the way it happened to us.

Start with the selection of a fresh loaf of bread. Like everything else there are many sizes and types to choose from. Meanwhile the smell of all the fresh baked goodies is stirring your olfactory glands to a frenzied crescendo. So, work your way quickly along the long glass display counter filled with seemingly endless sweet temptations to the regular coconut macaroons, "1/2 dozen please (they have turkish macaroons with dates and nuts too)". Next are all the deliciously topped, glazed and filled doughnuts, "2 powdered sugar coated, blueberry filled Bismarks, thanks", and over to the fruit and cream cheese filled danish, "2 blueberry please".

Only make one pass along the pastry counter or you are bound to add to your bags of sweet treat treasures before you are quick enough to pull out the credit card and end the calorie laden buying spree. Believe me, one pass will give you all the carbs and sugar you should have for a week. But who's counting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Not A Restaurant... Just a bakery.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Not sure why this is listed as a restaurant? We drove out there today, thinking we could stop and have lunch, but when we walked in, it was clear there's no dining in and no menu-- only a bakery counter. The baked goods looked average (and not particularly well-stocked; lots of empty trays in the cases) but there was such a line of folks waiting at the register, we left without trying anything.

Helpful?
Thank eva2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haby's Alsatian Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Haby's Alsatian Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing