We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend With Wife & Dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Cat Spring B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights in the Lehmann house with our two dogs. The fact that BlissWood is dog-friendly is a huge bonus for us, because we always travel with our dogs and if there is somewhere we want to go where they can’t go, we often don’t go at all or don’t stay as long.

This trip came after my wife’s stay last month with several of her friends in a different house at BlissWood. She talked it up so much that I wanted to go too, and we had a great time! The house was very unique. With all of the antiques and heritage pieces, it definitely gave a somewhat old and rustic feel, while still having all the comforts of home! The washer and dryer were nice amenities to have, especially when travelling with dogs! We always bring several old “dog towels” to dry them off and clean their feet before they come inside if it has been wet or muddy, so it was nice to be able to do one load of laundry. I was told by the owner that the long wooden dining table was made by her grandfather and that lots of other pieces in the Lehman house were special family items, which I thought, was neat.

We brought food to cook two breakfasts, two lunches, and one dinner and the house had a neat old stove, a nice cold fridge, and all of the pots, pans, knives, and other items we needed to prepare our meals. We were surprised to find a chest of games in the dining room and enjoyed Battleship, and taught ourselves how to play Sequence! We enjoyed long walks with our dogs around the property, and also went horseback riding which was something I had not done in years! It was a lot of fun.

While it was cold this past weekend, we were dressed appropriately and the weather didn’t affect our plans really at all. The staff at BlissWood was very willing to change the scheduled date/time of our horseback ride due to rain, and we ended up having a beautiful Sunday morning ride throughout the acreage among the cows and other wildlife. One of the ranch dogs followed us along the entire trail ride! The bison were magnificent. The owner and staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. Saturday night we ate at Carol’s restaurant which was amazing too. I’m glad my wife encouraged us go stay at BlissWood together. We both look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: This trip has been my only experience staying at BlissWood overnight. I have to say the Lehmann hous...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

So glad you were able to come with your wife and dogs and experience BlissWood, and thank you for your time in posting the review about your experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Log Cabin. It was very cozy. The weekend was a bit rainy but we didn't care because the cabin was so warm and homey. They decorated it for Christmas which made it extra special. Skeeter was helpful and very flexible which was necessary since the weather was being finicky. My favorite part was the animals. We were glad our dog could come with us. He really loved playing with Cookie and BeBe. We hope to go back, maybe in the summer months and try a different cabin. It is a great little getaway without being far from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thanks for choosing BlissWood to celebrate your anniversary with hubby and your furry friend. It's nice that he had playmates here, too! Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My fiance and I spent Thanksgiving at Blisswood. We stayed in the Lanai House and it was perfect. We enjoyed the quiet retreat and the waterfall/pond. We had a terrific time trap shooting, exploring the property and surrounding areas. We also ate at Carol's and had some of the best steaks we have ever eaten. We loved Skeeter and enjoyed visiting with him and also found Carol and the rest of the staff very hospitable. We plan to return with friends soon. It was so nice to rest, relax, disconnect from our busy lives and just enjoy each other's company. Thanks for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Look at the features of all the houses. All are unique. The Lanai house had a nice little kitchen...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thanks for the review and glad that you got to rest and relax and that you enjoyed staying at the Oasis. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a great time. We went horseback riding, skeet shooting and fishing. It was great to relax in such a beautiful area. We will be back again, next time hoping to bring our other daughter and son in law.
We also ate at Carols restaurant and the food was amazing.

Room Tip: Everything we needed was provided for in the house. The beds were comfortable. The house was ver...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Wonderful that you and your family enjoyed yourselves here and found everything comfortable and enjoyed the food at Carol's. Thanks for taking your time on a Sunday to post the review. Looking forward to your return trip with more of your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The Aloha room at the oasis was more than cozy!! Loved the fact that I could step out and enjoy all of the beautiful scenery right there at the porch. The room was bright and soothing.Really impressed that some rooms at the Oasis have what I would call green house porch like sitting areas complete with furniture and temperature control.What a great way to start a morning with coffee in hand.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jennchaneyworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Happy that you got to experience the Aloha Cottage at the Oasis and that you loved the scenery and enjoyed your morning coffee. Thanks for taking time to post the review. Hope to see you return in 2014?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The weekend was all that I hoped it would be and I found Carol an exceptional host. The weekend we went it expectantly came a "Blue Norther" and temps dropped in the 30's! We had the Cherry Blossom suite and it was pre warmed for us with Champagne waiting! We then went to our reservations at Carol's Restaurant and asked to join the table with Carol and the regulars. The conversation was lively and we met many new friends. The food was excellent and we wound up staying till closing! The next day we were treated to a tour of the cabins and the surroundings and especially the picturesque lake and it was wonderful. We enjoyed ourselves so much we stayed an extra night forgoing our concert tickets we had at Gruene Hall that night!

Room Tip: Cherry Blossom Suite was in an area away from the actual rustic setting and among green houses and a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Many thanks for taking your precious time to write a review. I'm glad that you stayed the extra night and gave up Gruene Hall! Hope to see you again at "my table" soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I were not able to make it home to KY for Thanksgiving so we decided to look for a place close to Austin, TX that we could have a special getaway and enjoy the holiday. Blisswood was perfect, especially since they are so dog friendly. We were able to bring our dog to enjoy all the wonders of nature with us. We selected to stay in the Log Cabin, which was cozy and perfect. Skeeter and Carol, are great and very personable, and really made us feel right at home. My husband and I were able to enjoy our time by taking walks to all the many lakes on the property, fishing, trap shooting, ax throwing, interacting with all the amazing farm animals, drinking coffee while rocking on our front porch, or simply sitting by our cabin fireplace playing cards. Great place to reconnect without all the interruptions of daily life. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: The Log Cabin is right in the action, if you want to sit in the morning drinking your coffee and see...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

BlissWood may not be your "Old Kentucky Home"; however, I'm glad you chose use for a close second for your Thanksgiving celebration! Thanks for that choice and for taking your precious time to post a review. Hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Spring
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sealy
15.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus
20.8 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
14.1 mi away
Super 8 Sealy
Super 8 Sealy
#1 of 4 in Sealy
212 reviews
21.1 mi away
Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch

Address: 13205 Frantz Road, Cat Spring, TX 78933-5113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Cat Spring
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Spring
Price Range: £171 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch is an authentic Texas experience like no other. Unwind in the peaceful country setting amidst majestic live oaks, open ranch land, and our fully stocked fishing pond. Choose from 18 unique Texas Hill Country lodging options including turn-of-the-century Texas Homes, a Hawaiian themed Oasis, The Enchanted Cabin by the Lake or a contemporary Texas ranch house. Enjoy simple life in the calming surroundings of our working Texas Hill Country guest ranch, where animals abound including horses, chickens, dogs, cats, pot bellied pigs, deer, peacocks, and even American Bison. Enjoy numerous ranch activities including horseback riding, archery, animal feeding tours, fishing and more! Our breathtaking 650 acre Texas guest ranch is ideally located only an hour west of Houston, and 2 hours to San Antonio and Austin. Come experience a laid back and authentic Texas experience, perfect for romantic getaways and family vacations alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blisswood b&b At Lehmann Legacy Ranch Hotel Cat Spring
Blisswood Bed And Breakfast At Lehmann Legacy Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing