We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Cat Spring B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed in the Enchanted Cabin for our anniversary & did the Anniversary Package as well. There is not one thing we would change except to make our stay longer! What a beautiful place! The cabin was beyond perfect, the horseback ride completely relaxing & the picnic at the Enchanted Lake at sunset was breathtaking. My husband did not want to leave! If you are looking for a place to go to relax & rejuvenate this is it. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thanks for choosing BlissWood for your anniversary and also thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed relaxing and rejuvenating here. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

A beautiful guest ranch away from everything. Stayed at the Dog Trot House in the magnolia suite. Suite was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. We road horses in the morning had a mid day massage, shot trap in the afternoon and then enjoyed a delicious dinner at Carols just down the road. There was a sprawling ranch to explore, live stock to watch as well as a pool and BBQ pit behind the house. Staff was friendly and charming. We enjoyed our stay and will visit again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thanks for your review and happy that you enjoyed the surroundings here and the animals. Also glad you liked the restaurant. See you upon your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It was a wonderful weekend getaway. We stayed at a big house with 2 suites and had a lot of fun out there. it was awesome for everyone, both 2 legged and 4 legged. We just chilex there with no WIFI, TV but walk around with our dogs and cook with friends in the house.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Happy that you and your furry friends had a good time relaxing at BlissWood, and thanks for letting us know. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was definitely a pure Texas style ranch getaway and the timing could not have been more perfect. Spring was in the air, the bluebonnets were in full bloom, and the best part you ask? Absolutely no technology. There was no TV, no cell phone coverage (that's a good thing), and no interent. Exactly what my wife and I wanted. We celebrated our 24 yr anniversary at the Oasis. Our cabin was called Harriet's House. The accommodations were perfect. A beautiful 2 story cabin with a king size bed. I think we only saw 6 other people in the 3 days we stayed. We rented a golf cart and toured the ranch more than once. After seeing some of the other cabins on the ranch we plan on coming back again and staying on the ranch itself. And let's don't forget about Carol's Restaurant. That was one of the best steaks I have ever eat. If you looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to get away that's not that far from Houston or Austin, then Blisswood is the place for you!

Room Tip: If our looking for more privacy, then go with a cabin at the Oasis. You can't go wrong. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Glad that you enjoyed our Oasis property and that you appreciated getting "unplugged" here. We all need that at times, and BlissWood is that place to do just that. Thanks for taking time to let us know how you experienced BlissWood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My bride and I stayed at Blisswood 4/3-4/5/14 and purchased the Elopement Package. We had a wonderful experience. We were lucky enough that our trip coincided with the peak bloom of the wildflowers. The property is beautiful. The Enchanted cabin we stayed in was very cozy and clean. It is an unhosted property so you have a feeling of being isolated, but that's what want we wanted...a country get away. We wish we could have seen more of the ranch animals, though we did get up close and personal with a bison, and the grazing cattle were plentiful. I think the Elopement Package was a great value. Carol was our ceremony officiant and Skeeter took wonderful photos!! At times we felt there could have been more communication about how our wedding day would go, but it turned out to be perfectly in line with what we wanted...intimate & stress-free!! The flowers provided were great and the dinner/cake afterwards was amazing.

We look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed eloping at BlissWood. Looking forward to having you return for future celebrtions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We just returned from an incredible week at Blisswood. We were looking for a place to get away from everything, decompress, spend time together and with God. We knew this was a special place the moment we pulled into the gate to be greeted by a pasture of bluebonnets. We stayed in the Texas Farmhouse, which was perfect for a couple that is dating, but seeking to honor God as well. The front porch was the perfect place for coffee and to catch the incredible sunrise through the trees. The pasture behind the house was where we enjoyed the sunset each night among the most beautiful field of bluebonnets we have ever seen. The beds were very comfortable and we enjoyed cooking breakfast together in the kitchen.

We took advantage of horseback riding, trap shooting, a couples massage on our back porch overlooking the bluebonnets, and an unforgettable picnic lunch at the gazebo at Enchanted Lake. Carol, Skeeter, and Armando were all so warm and helpful. They went over and above to make sure that we were well taken care of. We will never forget the long walks, our talks on the porch, and enjoying each other. This was everything we had hoped it would be. Blisswood has become very special to us and I just know we will be regulars.

Room Tip: Each house is different and unique. The videos on the website are a good guide. I narrowed it down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krich75009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

So glad you were able to be here when the bluebonnets were in full bloom. They truly showed us their "true colors" this year. Happy you enjoyed BlissWood and will be regulars! Thanks for taking time to let me know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you're looking for THE authentic Texas country experience (and you also don't mind a healthy dose of luxury), then BlissWood is your next vacation getaway spot. As my lady and I are split between Austin and Houston, we wanted a convenient rendezvous somewhere in between for a weekend getaway. Suffice it to say, this spot blew us away on each and every front. The magic begins when you manually open the swinging gate (a required attribute of any Texas ranch), and travel through the sprawling grounds, painted with bluebonnets, Indian paintbrushes and lush countryside, complete with cattle and horses and everything else you would find on a true blue ranch. Each cottage, individually situated throughout the grounds, offers a unique experience. We stayed in the Lotus Room, an Asian-inspired decor that had a shower and jacuzzi hot tub unlike any we've ever encountered. The tub filled from the bottom and the shower had a built-in radio and foot massage device - that should give you an ample idea of the caliber you're dealing with.

Anyway, we woke up Saturday and drove to the nearby town of Chappel Hill (home of the annual Bluebonnet Festival) and had a bite to eat at Bever's Kitchen, a quaint spot on the main street. Great sandwiches, excellent pie. We then drove around until we landed at a cool bar that appeared to be a nice little fancy restaurant as well. It was called "R Place at Washington-on-the-Brazos." A surreal experience as we relaxed on the back patio of this relatively isolated venue, taking in the last of the daylight.

On our way back to Blisswood, we spontaneously dipped into a restaurant called Carol's in Cat Spring. Come to find out, the restaurant is owned and operated by the proprietor of BlissWood, the lovely Miss Carol. Once we put the two together, it all made sense - she was the embodiment of the charm, authenticity and everything else that was uniquely BlissWood. Carol greeted us like long lost family, not only asking if we had everything we needed, but genuinely interested in what brought us there, what we thought about the place, and the like. It was one of those experiences that can't be replicated with lavish expense or so-called 5-Diamond service of say, a Four Seasons or an Aman property. It's that personal touch that makes BlissWood an unforgettable Texas gem.

So, if you're in search for a hidden country getaway spot, one that presents itself like something out of a Larry McMurtry novel, look no further than BlissWood.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the Lotus Room, which was amazing. I'm sure each cottage has something unique to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_Rex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thanks for taking time to let us know about your experience at BlissWood. Sounds like the perfect place for you and your gal to meet between Houston and Austin. Glad you came at a time when the bluebonnets were in their peak splendor and glory here. Mother Nature blessed us doubly!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch

Address: 13205 Frantz Road, Cat Spring, TX 78933-5113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Cat Spring
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Spring
Price Range: £174 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch is an authentic Texas experience like no other. Unwind in the peaceful country setting amidst majestic live oaks, open ranch land, and our fully stocked fishing pond. Choose from 18 unique Texas Hill Country lodging options including turn-of-the-century Texas Homes, a Hawaiian themed Oasis, The Enchanted Cabin by the Lake or a contemporary Texas ranch house. Enjoy simple life in the calming surroundings of our working Texas Hill Country guest ranch, where animals abound including horses, chickens, dogs, cats, pot bellied pigs, deer, peacocks, and even American Bison. Enjoy numerous ranch activities including horseback riding, archery, animal feeding tours, fishing and more! Our breathtaking 650 acre Texas guest ranch is ideally located only an hour west of Houston, and 2 hours to San Antonio and Austin. Come experience a laid back and authentic Texas experience, perfect for romantic getaways and family vacations alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blisswood b&b At Lehmann Legacy Ranch Hotel Cat Spring
Blisswood Bed And Breakfast At Lehmann Legacy Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing