We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly, Texas at Its Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Cat Spring B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2010

My husband and I spent our 10 year anniv. at blisswood in the enchanted cabin. The room was so cozy, charming, and very clean. The bedding was the softest I've ever slept it, and the jacuzzi was much bigger in person, along with the mood lighting and total privacy, this was the perfect romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2010

The four of us had a great time staying at the Lehmann House at Blisswood for our small business retreat. Carol was more than accommodating and the staff and service was excellent.

We are a web development company and needed internet access during the day. Carol opened up Carol's restaurant up for us all day for 2 days with coffee, iced tea, and an excellent lunch both days. One of our employees brought his dog and Carol's staff even went to the house to walk the dog while we were at the restaurant during the day.

The property is beautiful. There are hundred year old oak trees everywhere you look.

The Lehmann House and the property were both beautiful. The house had an awesome front porch with 4 rocking chairs, a great dining area that we used for work / eating / poker, and 4 bedrooms with plenty of place to sleep.

As for drawbacks, we had 2 minor ones. First, even though the Lehmann house does have 2 bathrooms, the first bath has a nice whirlpool tub without a shower. This does not a lot of good on a trip with 4 guys.

Second (and we knew this going in), there is no internet access at the house. We did rent a Verizon MiFi for our stay, but it was spotty at best. The internet at Carol's Restaurant during the day was better, but it too was spotty at times.

All-in-all, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Blisswood to family, friends, and colleagues!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpmtamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

My husband and I and a group of frinds recently stayed at Blisswood Ranch for 2 nights which in one word was absolution Bliss! We stayed in Lehman House, a gorgeous cottage with period furniture and heritage decor that also had modern amenities such as heating and air-con + a little luxury with beautiful white fluffy towels and crisp linen. The owner and ranch host, Carol, is amazing and took us for a 'blissful' horse-ride across the property - in our group were beginners to more adventurous horse riders and all were well catered for. We had the pleasure of visiting the local Country Club in Cat Springs - CrossRoads - which was great fun and the locals were so very friendly. If you are in the area on a Friday you must visit them for Bonnie's weekly CatFish fry-up. We also were delighted to dine at Carol's restaraunt which had fantastic food - steak, catfish - all with that great Texan flavour ! The restaraunt has a great atmosphere with Carol welcoming us personally for pre-dinner drinks at the bar. A wonderful trip which we will all remember for many years to come!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonerOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Absolutely relaxing and charming bed and breakfast in a country setting that is not too far from the city by any stretch of the imagination. It's like having the key to your own 650 acre ranch where you can relax and soak up the fresh air and choose to do a number of activities or nothing at all . You have the ability to choose the unique house or cottage that appeals to you most (assuming it's not already booked)...the one we chose was immaculate, very spacious, yet with a cozy feel (had a nice porch which overlooked a waterfall and duck pond) and came with a king bed that was much better than a standard hotel as well as a well-equiped kitchen. We dined at the owner's nearby restaurant & bar (guessing a mile or so) and found the food and wine list to be very good...the jalepeno grits and scallops were simply outstanding. The staff at the restaurant and on the ranch are very helpful and friendly, but respect your privacy so that you are not suffocated with undesired attention. We enjoyed looking at the exotic animals on the ranch even saw a bobcat run across the road on our way back to the guest house from dinner on New Year's eve. I would certainly recommend Blisswood to a friend and hope to return again sometime.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTravelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Carol and her staff went to every effort to make sure that our "many!" request were met. Everything was just as she and the website stated. We all felt right at home and part of the family. Even though there were other guest on the ranch we still felt like we were the only ones there and free to enjoy all the animals. We are looking forward to our next weekend there! Thank you Carol!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This is a perfect eye-opening place for people who live busily in the city. There are so many roaming animals (chicken, peacock, HORSES, camel,...etc.) that it felt like a gigantic petting zoo at times. The animals aren't afraid of people, they come near you, and it's a great experience. The gorgeous nature aspect was my favorite...from the ponds to the aesthetic cabins, everything made this vacation super fun and relaxing!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dippindots12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We can not imagine a better place for the weekend in houston area. We stayed there almost 4 times, and still want to go there..
We went there with our 7 and 2 years old children. They loved all the animals especially horses ,dogs and kangroo. It is totally relaxing place...No T.V, no reception for cell-phone....Highly recommended, very unique houses, nice atmosphere...The owner ,Carol is very nice, always there in case of you need something...
We can hardly wait to spend another relaxing weekend with our kids:)

Zeynep-Emre Senyuva
Houston, Texas

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeynepsenyuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch

Address: 13205 Frantz Road, Cat Spring, TX 78933-5113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Cat Spring
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Spring
Price Range: £172 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch is an authentic Texas experience like no other. Unwind in the peaceful country setting amidst majestic live oaks, open ranch land, and our fully stocked fishing pond. Choose from 18 unique Texas Hill Country lodging options including turn-of-the-century Texas Homes, a Hawaiian themed Oasis, The Enchanted Cabin by the Lake or a contemporary Texas ranch house. Enjoy simple life in the calming surroundings of our working Texas Hill Country guest ranch, where animals abound including horses, chickens, dogs, cats, pot bellied pigs, deer, peacocks, and even American Bison. Enjoy numerous ranch activities including horseback riding, archery, animal feeding tours, fishing and more! Our breathtaking 650 acre Texas guest ranch is ideally located only an hour west of Houston, and 2 hours to San Antonio and Austin. Come experience a laid back and authentic Texas experience, perfect for romantic getaways and family vacations alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blisswood b&b At Lehmann Legacy Ranch Hotel Cat Spring
Blisswood Bed And Breakfast At Lehmann Legacy Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing