We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and peaceful much needed time away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Cat Spring B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands Texas
1 review
“Serene and peaceful much needed time away”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed at the Lanai House located at the Oasis which is a sister property of Blisswood. The website did not have pictures but I called and spoke with Carol herself. I told Carol, my husband and I wanted a quiet romantic getaway from the kids but we needed a full kitchen (stove) because we bring our own food for breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay and will be making reservations again soon to stay again. There is no TV, radio, or cell phone signal (if you have TMobile) which was fine. We were able to really talk to each other about everything and even read to each other from our reading material. We stayed for two nights and when we were leaving we realized we had the laptop with movies and music but we never thought of it the whole weekend! Everyone that works for the ranch is really nice and friendly. They were knowledgeable about the history of the land and the area. If you stay here, you must eat at Carol's restuarant. My husband and I are good cooks and are very picky about where we eat. The food is superb. I do not eat beef or pork so I had the Salmon Kari (cooked well done) and it practically melted in my mouth! My husband had the chicken pasta dish which he is trying to replicate at home. The fried mushrooms were so good, my husband claimed they tasted like chicken. The highlight was the dessert, Carol's has the best bread pudding I have ever tasted! We’re planning to take our kids to the Frio River over Spring Break and I am seriously considering taking a detour to eat at Carol’s again and have some more of that heavenly bread pudding.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoisaDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    49
    6
    11
    13
See reviews for
77
190
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Our trip was planned 3 months in advance and based strictly on information provided by the website. It looked to be exactly what we wanted for the weekend - a relatively short drive; peaceful surroundings; historic setting. Two out of three aren't bad, but the "historic" and/or "rustic" meant yard sale pickings, tattered, unclean, broken and overall unacceptable for the price. I will admit it was very peaceful as it was cold and rainy - the perfect weather for staying indoors in front of the fireplace, but the chimney wouldn't draw, so the room quickly filled with smoke. Thankfully the smoke drove out the yellow jackets, so we were able to get rid of them early on. Heating was hit or miss - if you stood in the kitchen it was toasty, but the living areas were drafty. Lights were either not working because there were no light bulbs, no controls, or no wiring and the ones with bulbs were extemely low wattage. Plumbing was okay, but flushing the toilet sounded like a train roaring down the tracks and lasted for at least 5 minutes. My bed was comfortable, but my friend was bitten by an insect in the middle of the night (the doctor said probably a scorpion) and was a reminder that we needed to be more aware of the wildlife. The rocking chairs on the porch were pure pleasure and probably my favorite part of the weekend. We had no staff contact, but did wave at other visitors as they passed by. We laughed a great deal during our stay and much more afterwards when recalling the adventure with our friends. This was my first experience at a B&B and hopefully will not be my last, but it will definitely be my last at Blisswood.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyTravelerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thanks for your review and it is most appreciated. We addressed issues that you brought forth. I'm glad you enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch. It is always a good thing to sit and ponder on the porch. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

It's not fun for family with children. We stayed at the Oasis which is soooo far from where the excitement was supposed to be. The greenhouses are old and moldy. They could have at least liven up the place with annual blooms to make the place look happy. The pond is full of algae, we were told there were Coy fish and didn't see any. The Enchanted lake looks like a rundown haunted lake with a gazebo and bridges that are ready to fall apart. The "mini-zoo" isnt anything to be excited about. No picnic tables. The patio bistro set was all rusty. We cant find a decent place to sit. The pool is disgusting. It doesnt look anything like the pictures. We're not going back there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank violethawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thanks for your review and my sincere apologies that you were disappointed. We like guests like you who help us strive to be better and better for the next guests. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Apparently "TexasTexas2010" did not appreciate the ambiance and history of Blisswood. This place is heaven. We had no issues in our 'old' cabin, and appreciated our stay even more because of its antique qualities. I was very comfortable and all our needs were met. The old wood smell as we entered our cabin (Writer's Cabin) makes you think even more about who had been here before you. The smell reminds you of Grandma's house. We took a long, serene walk in the morning air. The smells of the ranch, the birds, etc. enhanced the walk. The pond with Gazebo was beautiful, although it was blocked due to some repairs on the bridge. That's OK, we will be back again, definitely!
When we arrived, we had Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting, along with a vase of fresh flowers. A continental style breakfast was left for us, consisting of coffee, tea, english muffins, granola bars, apples, oranges, milk, orange juice, etc. A pleasant surprise. We LOVED our stay. Thank you, Carol. See you soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seas2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Beautiful, quaint, relaxing---all good descriptions of BlissWood B & B. A great weekend getaway when you don't want to be bothered with TV , telephone, or technology. Carol Davis is a great hostess and we enjoyed touring the rest of her ranch on her beautiful Paso Fino horses. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eslmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Having drooled over the web site www.blisswood.net and booking a weekend visit after several pleasant conversations with Carol and a simple registration process with much meaningful information shared, I was counting the hours until the visit in january, 2010.
Unfortunately, there is a significant difference between the web site and the reality. The issues are really too numerous to mention them all - but several include - spoiled apples, light fixtures without light bulbs, broken lamp shades and lamp bases, torn and stained drapes, pull down blinds that fell down when touched, fireplace that did not draft, blowing all the smoke into the room - and yes, flue open, toilet flushing mechanism that made a very loud sound from flush until tanks full, bugs and cobwebs, etc. It seems that there has been little done to maintain the property in recent years, which is a shame as the web site is beautiful and the concept unique.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasTexas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

My husband and I have always loved the outdoors so when we finally picked a wedding date, we knew that the ceremony would have to be an outdoor one. When we came across Blisswood's website and watched the enchanting videos and viewed all of the amazing pictures of the ranch, we knew that we had found the place. Our arrival was greeted by a couple of miniature donkeys and a peacock as we drove up to the nostalgic farm house in which we would be staying. The entire ranch was encompassed in towering oak trees and sparkling lakes. Our days were spent taking early morning walks through the dew-kissed fields where we could spot new born calves resting. Later in the afternoon we were fishing in the many lakes catching blue gill, bass, and our favorite catfish. Our evenings were spent swinging on our porch watching the blazing fire from our outdoor fire pit dance on the warm wind of Texas nights. The staff of Blisswood catered to our every needs during our stay on the ranch. Our house was tidied up and always stocked with breakfast for the following mornings, if we wanted to ride the white majestic horses, they were instantly saddled up for us, and all of the exotic animals on the ranch were only a walk down the lane away. The owner of the ranch, Carol, also owns an amazing five star restaurant in which she could always be found mingling with her diners while they enjoyed mouth-watering dinners. Our wedding day was the best day of our lives and the most memorable. The whole place was dazzling in the afternoon sunlight and as I walked up the aisle to my awaiting husband, I couldn't have dreamed of a better place to be, and with an on-site Pulitzer prize winning photographer our memories will last forever. We were married by non-other than Carol herself who is also an ordained minister, and had a wonderful party on the ranch with our friends and family afterwards. Our family and friends had paid for packages from the ranch including roses in our house, chocolate strawberries and even champagne. Our most memorable time of our lives turned out flawlessly on Blisswood ranch and we cannot wait to go back to celebrate our new lives together. Thank you Carol.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedom1Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Spring
20.8 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
15.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sealy
14.1 mi away
Super 8 Sealy
Super 8 Sealy
#1 of 4 in Sealy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
15.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 5 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch

Property: BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
Address: 13205 Frantz Road, Cat Spring, TX 78933-5113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Cat Spring
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch is an authentic Texas experience like no other. Unwind in the peaceful country setting amidst majestic live oaks, open ranch land, and our fully stocked fishing pond. Choose from 18 unique Texas Hill Country lodging options including turn-of-the-century Texas Homes, a Hawaiian themed Oasis, The Enchanted Cabin by the Lake or a contemporary Texas ranch house. Enjoy simple life in the calming surroundings of our working Texas Hill Country guest ranch, where animals abound including horses, chickens, dogs, cats, pot bellied pigs, deer, peacocks, and even American Bison. Enjoy numerous ranch activities including horseback riding, archery, animal feeding tours, fishing and more! Our breathtaking 650 acre Texas guest ranch is ideally located only an hour west of Houston, and 2 hours to San Antonio and Austin. Come experience a laid back and authentic Texas experience, perfect for romantic getaways and family vacations alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blisswood b&b At Lehmann Legacy Ranch Hotel Cat Spring
Blisswood Bed And Breakfast At Lehmann Legacy Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing