We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent Texas Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Opulent Texas Resort”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Maybe opulent is a bit overstated, but this was a fantastic location and facility for our small sized (30-50) conference and meeting. The wait staff was outstanding.

I didn't really get to enjoy the grounds due to meeting schedules but it looks great. Well kept and the golf course looked inviting. Not my idea of a personal vacation, but I can see how it could be a blast for kids/family.

Rooms were comfortable and clean. Downside it the layout. LONG walk to room if you are in a far wing. Not that strategic to pop into your room to refresh your self. One picky issue does not negatively your stay...(their tile contractor was horrible. Used wrong material to caulk. Beautiful materials used, but lowest paid worker made it look cheap). I digress. Sorry.

I'd love to go there again for business...but not for my vacation.

Room Tip: It is spread out...so ask about this if you don't like to walk. Other than that, choosing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahmiJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Many thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We are absolutely delighted that your conference brought you to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines. It is wonderful to know that you were pleased with the resort grounds and that you found Wolfdancer Golf Club inviting. Thank you for your candid comments regarding the distance along the corridors and the tile work in the bathrooms. We will share that with our leadership team for their review and consideration. We invite you to return for another stay soon and enjoy all the amenity and activities the resort has to offer. Our very best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,399
    580
    239
    80
    54
See reviews for
1,023
410
42
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I spent 4 nights during a conference being held there. Great service, several meals were provided for 300+ people. The food was very good considering. The staff were friendly and accomendating. The room was clean and very comfortable. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venus700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Greetings and many thanks for your thoughtful review. We are delighted that your recent conference led you to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa. It is wonderful to know that you were pleased with your stay, that you enjoyed your meals and found the staff to be friendly and eager to help. We hope you'll make plans to return for another stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Lost Pines resort this weekend. Unfortunately there were a couple of disappointments:

1. The quality of the food. We tried both the breakfast and the bar. Both were OK, but the breakfast appeared to be made from powdered egg and the burger and fries from freeze dried and reheated ingredients. OK at a lower chain of hotel, but absolutely not the standard I’d expect at a Hyatt Regency. We ate all subsequent meals outside of the hotel.

2. The trails were closed at the resort. This wasn’t advertised anywhere on the website or in any of my communications with the hotel. It was our sole reason for coming and paying a premium to bring our dog. We found nearby parks, but this involved more travel, research, etc and less time enjoying ourselves when we were already there. In addition it was another hotel guest that told us about Mckinney Roughs, not the information desk in the hotel. Too late, it was already Sunday and it was closed.

Also, the wifi signal was terrible!

I was expecting sophisticated country lodge, more like a family fun camp. OK, but not right for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Your feedback is taken very seriously, and we appreciate your candor in presenting your thoughts. We are very sorry to have fallen short of exceeding your expectations. Your review will be shared with our leadership team so they may evaluate the quality and standards of the food served in our restaurants. We are disappointed that our trails were closed during your stay as well. We received an abundance of much-needed rainfall a few weeks ago which caused the Colorado River to slightly rise above the banks, flooding some of our trails. Because the safety of our guests is a primary concern, we had to close the trails for a few days until they were repaired and safe to use. We will communicate with our guests services team so they may know to offer convenient alternatives in the event of trail closures. Again, we are sad to know that you were not pleased with your stay. It is our hope that you will grant us another opportunity to welcome you, so we may correct these missteps and improve upon your opinion of Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Hyatt Lost Pines and was very impressed overall.

The resort itself is beautiful-the large, sprawling property is well-themed and kept impeccably landscaped and clean. The fitness center is one of the nicest I've visited and we took advantage of using it as often as possible.

We stayed in a Junior Suite and were pleased with the space and amenities in our room. The bathroom was very large and allowed 3 adults and 2 children to stay comfortably. I was shocked to find that even the sleeper sofa was quite comfortable.

The activities and amenities at the resort were excellent, especially in keeping two little ones entertained. We participated in the daily complimentary children's craft and were even able to enjoy the beautiful pool during the one lucky warm day we had. The playground was also helpful in keeping us busy.

We dined at Firewheel Cafe for breakfast and dinner and had delicious meals every time. The buffets are especially worthwhile. We also enjoyed lunch from McDade's emporium (sandwiches) and the Starbucks coffee there was a welcome surprise.

The service at the resort was another positive. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, welcoming, and accommodating.

The area itself is quite isolated, but I would highly recommend going into Bastrop for a meal or two-we were pleasantly surprised with the options there.

In sum, I would highly recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lg9567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review! We are so happy that your family enjoyed your time at our resort. It is great to know that you found the junior suite spacious and comfortable, that you enjoyed our arts and crafts offerings, and that you had a lucky warm Texas day and were able to enjoy the pool. It was such a pleasure to have you with us, and we hope that we are fortunate enough to welcome you back for another stay. Thank you again for your kind words - we will share them with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Visited the Hyatt Lost Pines for a five day conference.
1) Very clean and housekeeping was really on top of everything *****
2) Room service....Lacking. No menus in the room, had to visit the internet to get the menu
While food arrived timely, it was cold, plain and no flavor. ***
3) Resort amenities..Lacking. While the golf, spa and horseback trails are great, we were here for a conference. At night this resorts dies, we had to drive to Austin ****
4) Concierge...Worthless...Seems they hire anyone all they knew was how to call a cab. They recommended a steak house in Bastrop that had one star and another Sushi restaurant with 4 stars with over an hour wait on a Monday. The Concierge did not even offer to call and make a reservation. The concierge desk needs more training and systems to offer guests a great experience within their budget and desires.
5) Restaurant we ate at the Firewheel and Stories
We order items not on the menu at Firewheel and it was not a problem, very good experience, and the waitress went above and beyond what is expected...she was the HYATT difference. Stories was a total ripoff, too expensive
6) Resort fee
This in my opinion is a total ripoff and begs of days gone by
$25 for parking in Texas?, Internet and golf bag storage
The conference offered free internet, I put my golf bags in my room and I took a cab to the resort. At least at Gaylord hotels it includes the water in the mini fridge, the water here is additional and its $5 per bottle. Just increase the room price and stop misleading guests that the price is in fact lower.
7) Internet check out
OPT out! My folio was wrong, I had to waste my time and call the hotel and have it fixed, they fixed it but If they sent the bill to the guest on the night of departure, I could have visited the front desk to fix it.

At the end of the experience, this is a beautiful hotel that falls short on the guest experience
If the conference comes to this hotel next year, I would not stay on site

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exempt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor. We take guest feedback very seriously and - while we are so happy to know that you were pleased with some aspects of your stay - we are equally thankful for the areas of opportunity you have present us. It is our goal to continually evaluate our practices and procedures so we may improve upon the guest experience. We are so happy that both your meal and server at Firewheel Cafe exceeded your expectations. We are also glad that you were pleased with the cleanliness of our resort and that our housekeeping team were attentive and appreciated. We appreciate your feedback regarding our room service, concierge team, amenities, Stories, resort fee and internet checkout option. Each of these points will be evaluated and shared with appropriate departments for thoughtful evaluation. We will also take this opportunity to review policies and procedures with our team so that we may improve upon your experience and provide a pleasant experience to each and every guest we have the opportunity to welcome. It is disappointing to know that we fell-short in exceeding your expectations during your stay - we apologize for the inconveniences you were caused by the issues you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We sincerely hope you will plan to return so we may correct these missteps and provide you with a pleasant and wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I visited Lost Pines with my daughter. We met several mothers and daughters for an end of school trip. Wow, what a great place that I never knew existed. We drove from Houston, Texas through Bastrop to get to Lost Pines in Cedar Creek. I recommend driving through Bastrop to view the true devastation of the forest fires that occurred in the last year or so. This is an amazon site and worth seeing. When we arrived at the resort, we drove down a long lovely road to find a really pleasant site...not a huge square and towering resort but sort of a village or lodge that seemed right at home in the pines. In fact, we were told the the property was designed not to interfere with the natural environment on the grounds which was music to my ears. We were met at the energy-filled front drive by very friendly valet parkers. The lobby of the hotel was glorious. They were serving fresh lemonade and some sort of warm great smelling sweets to everyone waiting to check in. I loved the layout of the hotel because it was all very quiet and the rooms were sort of away from all of the activities. Yes, a very child friendly hotel in the summer but I can see where it could be a very romantic getaway as well in the off season. We loved the great pool that had a child and adult area as well as the restaurant and outdoor activities. If you visit, make sure and take advantage of all they have to offer. Ride bikes all over the property to see their unique animals and view the Colorado river. Great workout facility as well. All in all a great getaway.

Room Tip: There are lots of room options there. If you want quiet, ask for a room that is sort of away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your kind thoughts with other travelers. We feel privileged to know that you chose to stay with us for your mother/daughter getaway. It is great to know that you were pleased with our location, layout, amenities and activities -from relaxing by the pool to riding bikes around the river, past the corral. We hope that you make plans to return for another stay, and hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This resort and grounds are lovely and all is well maintained. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. The problem, this resort is mostly family oriented.

We went away to have a long girls weekend by the pool and to relax. Problem....kids everywhere. Us girls have kids and love kids but wanted to getaway for an adult weekend. There are activities all day long and nite too for the kids and nothing for adults only. Stargazing is really neat and educational; however, throw a few wild kids in the mix at 9PM in the dark and telescopes....forget hearing or seeing too much. The parents let the kids run wild, scream and hang all over the telescope and it ruins it for all. Adults can go to the bar at night or watch a kids movie.

The resort has an adult pool but it was dirty compared to the kids pool and river pool. We moved over to a small section of the river pool and still kids running everywhere. Pit fire at 9PM at night.....kids. Trying to sleep in in the morning....kids. Even an elderly couple sitting at the adult pool reading could hear kids screaming and the woman said "you can't get away from screaming kids." She's right. If you're traveling with kids this is the place for you. If you want a relaxing and quiet weekend away without the kids.....not the place.

The spa was lovely and QUIET. You can use their pool and hot tub, gym and sauna for $15 per day. Wish we would have known that it was that quiet on day one. We had Texas Two Step foot massage and it was good. Free use of spa pool and other facilities all day if you book a treatment. No kids.

I would probably not return to this hotel simply because they pride themselves on kids stuff and that's ok if that's what you're looking for and you know it up front. I would return for an adult only weekend which I think the resort is missing out on. There are endless ideas for adults at this place. A lot of people would spend good money to stay at this beautiful resort and do adult activities. So much potential for guests and the resort to make a profit.

Room Tip: Those not traveling with kids should ask for a top floor away from Hyatt kids camp and outside playg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Many thanks for sharing your review and thoughts on your recent getaway to Hyatt Lost Pines. Your feedback is very important to us and will help us as we evaluate the guest experience at Hyatt Lost Pines. We regret that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. A copy of your review has been shared with our activities and recreation team for review and consideration moving forward. We are delighted that you found solace and relaxation at Spa Django, and hope you will plan to return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Creek
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
375 reviews
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 203 in Austin
280 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
Address: 575 Hyatt Lost Pines Rd, Cedar Creek, TX 78612-4136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 492 room resort located 17 miles from Austin offers chapionship golf, exquisite dining, outdoor adventure activities and full spa service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Lost Pines Resort
Lost Pines Bastrop
Hyatt Cedar Creek
Lost Pines Resort Bastrop Texas
Lost Pines Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing