We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost Pines - Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lost Pines - Great Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I took my family down to Lost Pine in early August. In addition to my wife and myself, we have a 4 year old sonand an 8 months old son. We had a great time. Starting with check in. Everyone did what they could to accomodate us. At no time did we ever feel like we were the annoying people with kids. This resort is setup for families and kids. They go out of their way to make sure that we felt comfortable. I highly recommend that you stay here if you have a young family. Other reviews have other details, so I'd like to outline a few of my own....
- They do not nickel and dime you there. So many of the activities are "free". The bigger activities, like horseback, archery, etc, cost you, but arts and crafts, pics with the longhorns, smores, movies on the grass at night....all free.
- The restaurants are all very kid friendly, except the higher end one, which we didn't go to. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was great. It's $19.50 for adults, which is steep, but free for kids 5 and under and $7 for kids 6-12. Over 13 is an adult charge. So, that is relatively reasonable for them to do.
- Smores are night and the movie on the lawn was awesome. It was very comfortable and everyone had room.
- The pool is really great. Might be a touch overcrowded, but it was to be expected. The pool staff was also very attentive with food and drink (although it's pretty expensive down there).
- Bikes are free for 1 hour per day. Honestly, ride for an hour, then give them back. There isn't that much area to ride anyway.
- Try and stay in a room that is away from the pool area. Basically stay on the other side of the resort. All of the activities are on one side of the resort. It is much quieter on the other side of the resort.

All in all, I would go there again with my family. Everyone treated us well. We did not have a single off putting experience with anyone.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite. Rm 2019. It was the perfect location and setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D2Dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your kind words with others. We are thrilled to know that your family of four enjoyed a memorable getaway at our resort. We are especially grateful for your insider tips - we know that travelers researching out resort will appreciate your expertise. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,330
    547
    220
    76
    49
See reviews for
957
378
40
621
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 3 days before Christmas at this resort. Our planned outdoor activities ( skeet shooting and horse back riding) had to be cancelled due to a heavy thunder storm, but the hotel still offered fun activities for the kiddos such as cookie decorating, indoor games and even a brief indoor miniature pony meet & greet!

Kids loved the long horn cattle show and being able to sit briefly on top of these beautiful animals. Pools were heated and looked very appealing, but it was simply too cold for us to want to swim. I think this venue will even be more enjoyable in Summer. Big fire pit at night became a nice place for adults and kids alike to meet new friends. Kids loved feeding apples to miniature horses after breakfast.

Room Tip: after booking room, accept offer of upgrading to hospitality suite if available. Much more space wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IiM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Greetings and many thanks for sharing your review with fellow travelers. We are so thankful that you chose our resort as your pre-holiday getaway. While we are also disappointed that your planned activities were canceled due to weather, we are delighted that you still found plenty of fun and entertainment at our resort. We would be over-the-moon delighted to welcome you back - whether you choose to make it a fun-in-the-sun, pool-splashing getaway or a winter retreat! It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've been coming to the Hyatt Lost Pines with our kids and several other families every year for the last 5 or 6 years. I have several other reviews on TA about the property and all of our experiences have been positive. I have to say this trip was even better than the last few. The food has always been good, but now they seem to focus their main restaurant on locally sourced produce and meat. The quality in the food really showed (and I ate entirely too much as a result). The grounds and rooms are still in great shape, they look even better than when they originally opened. The staff is also excellent. Everyone we met went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The valet and one of the pool bartenders actually remembered us by name from last year. Those kinds of things go a long way, and it's good to know the resort is able to retain great staff year after year. I particularly want to thank Michael Jackson and Chelsie at the pool bar for doing an excellent job. If I had to mention any issue at all, it would be a minor problem we had with housekeeping. They tended to service our area of the hotel very late in the day. We have a young child who takes afternoon naps. So on the second day we specifically asked housekeeping to come earlier so they would not interrupt his nap. They promised to have it done by 2pm, but did not actually get it done until about an hour later. Not a huge problem but it was a minor inconvenience. However, they did give us a $50 credit to the bill and made sure it didn't happen again. Other than that, there was really nothing else to criticize. I hope they keep up the great work and commend them on how good the staff is trained. I also appreciated the free wifi. We also went on the rock climb and zip wall while there. The kids and parents both enjoyed it and we'd highly recommend it. Anoth

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SATravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello to you! Thank you so much for this -and past - reviews of your stays at our resort. We are so grateful that you chose to return to our resort and that you enjoy your time here. We are delighted that you find our team of associates to be attentive and friendly - and we will be sure to tell Michael and Chelsie that you mentioned them by name! It is wonderful to know that your family enjoyed rock-wall climbing and zip lining this trip. That is such a fun and adventurous activity! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I'm not sure where these other people stayed who write these wonderful reviews?

This hotel is not what you would expect from a Hyatt Regency. The surroundings are nice, very woodsy and plain and about a 5-10 minutes drive off the main road.

Upon entering the lobby, the temperature is maybe 5 degrees cooler than outside (which was in the 90's at the time). They try to say that they are "green" but to is that just seems like a fancy word for "cheap."

Our room is on the first floor and I type this at 8am after having listened to what sounded like someone moving all the furniture in their room for the past hour. The room smells very musty and was accompanied by a faint sewage smell this morning. I'm not sure if it was due to us being on the first floor but in the two days since we arrived we have killed many bugs in our room- spiders, rolly polies, and just 5 minutes ago a worm in the bathroom.

The bathroom was barely stocked (tissues are apparently a luxury item these days?), and the shower could use a major grout cleaning and resealing.

Our carpets are so dirty my toddlers feet were black after walking around with her bare feet. There are glass plates on top of the wooden furniture with layers of dust underneath. The walls are marked up and stained with various black markings and liquid splatters.

The hallways for the most part seem like they haven't been cleaned for some time. Room service trays left outside for hours and spider webs coming down from light fixtures.

The food here is barely palatable and the room service is overpriced and has the worst coffee I've had in years. Starbucks? Yeah, I wouldn't believe it. Forty dollars for two simple plates of food for breakfast seems a little high for the caliber of food they serve.

The one really great thing about this "resort" is the staff. The kids that work here are all very sweet and friendly and seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs.

I wouldn't say this is the worst place, but I've seen cleaner holiday inn expresses and for the price you pay I'd sooner go stay at a JW Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balashi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback. We are grateful that you chose to stay with us and are very disappointed to know your stay did not meet, much less exceed, your expectations. The conditions you described - state of your room, carpet, hallways, etc - are not our Hyatt Lost Pines standard. We are grateful that you chose to outline your experience so we may know about it. We will take this opportunity to evaluate our procedures and make any necessary adjustments to improve upon the overall guest experience and ensure an experience like this does not happen again. We are happy to know that you were pleased with the service and attentiveness of the staff. Our hope is that you will return for another stay giving us a second chance to delight you and leave you with a positively memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
525 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We were at Lost Pines for just one night. We were not there with children, we are not golf or tennis players, we are not even swimming pool people...and we still thought it was awesome. Beautiful grounds for strolling, quiet places to sit and read, animals to commune with, great photography spots, nice restaurants, excellent rooms...and to top it off, when we were (sadly) leaving, a gorgeous doe stepped out of the woods and posed for us. We were very impressed with this resort!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Greetings from the Lost Pines region of Texas! We are thrilled to read that you were impressed with our resort. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at our luxurious wilderness escape! We are thankful that you shared your kind words with fellow travelers - your feedback means very much to us. We hope you'll make plans to return for another stay chock full of reading, walking along the scenic paths and visiting with our native guests - like the sweet doe in the picture. Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort for the third consecutive year for our annual family get together. We have enjoyed the resort all three times but this year it was even better thanks to the wonderful team at the resort. They really went the extra mile for us and it made our stay the best it could be.

This is a very unique property with its location in a very wooded area of Texas and its extensive property offering more amenities than you can think of. There is so much to do for all age groups including the lazy river, a man made beach, golf, petting area, hay rides, basketball, tennis, hiking, an indoor area for the children, a camp and so many other activities.

There are several restaurants on site offering a nice variety of food.

This is a treasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello! We are delighted that you chose to stay at our resort for a family getaway for the third consecutive year! Thank you so much from the entire Lost Pines team. We are so happy to know that you feel each year gets better than before. We hope this family tradition will continue - we'd be over-the-moon delighted to welcome you back for another stay next year (or sooner than that!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I recently visited this property for a business conference and found what looks like a terrific family vacation place. There are endless activities for kids and adults and there were lots of families with kids there. It was extremely hot the few days I was there and there is a water park on the property which was will attended!
In the evenings there was live music. the only down for me was a room service order of oatmeal for breakfast which came cold, however when I mentioned this, I was later contacted by management and the charge removed from my bill. That's pretty incredible service!
Although I don't live in Texas, I would certainly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great place to take the family. Be aware however that you are pretty much limited to the resort property as there isn't much around for restaurants in the area. Of course if you are willing to take a drive Austin is very close.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onionryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello from the Lone Star State! We are so grateful for your recent stay and are thrilled to know you enjoyed it. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your oatmeal did not arrive in a timely (and warm) manner. We apologize for this inconvenience, and are glad to know that our associates removed that charge from your bill. We're delighted that you enjoyed the Crooked River Water Park in all its glory. We hope you'll make plans to return for another stay when next you are in our neck of the woods - it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Creek
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 200 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
Address: 575 Hyatt Lost Pines Rd, Cedar Creek, TX 78612-4136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 492 room resort located 17 miles from Austin offers chapionship golf, exquisite dining, outdoor adventure activities and full spa service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Lost Pines Resort
Lost Pines Bastrop
Hyatt Cedar Creek
Lost Pines Resort Bastrop Texas
Lost Pines Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing