We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plato Loco Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plato Loco

Plato Loco
Ranked #30 of 103 Restaurants in Cedar Hill
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
DeSoto, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Plato Loco Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Their food is consistently good, margaritas are very nice, and just an all around homey atmosphere. Friendly owner and wait staff too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller55736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the best places in south Dallas county”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Absolutely a great Mexican place to eat. Nice, friendly servers who make sure your order is exactly as you want it...thanks Lupe. Tried all the enchildas, chicken with sour cream was best for me. Packed full of solid chicken and covered with ample sour crean... Do yourself a favor and order the charro beans for a special taste. Everything is great, flavorful, adult beverages available and the super nice people makes for a great home town atmosphere dining pleasure.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TxOutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
362 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Great Tex-Mex at a Reasonable Price!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I was in Dallas visiting my sons and we at lunch at Plato Loco in Cedar Hill. The quality of the food was outstanding. it was fresh and hot. I was impressed and my sons were impressed. We all had something different and we all felt the food was excellent. The chips before the meal were thick and the salsa was spicy and good. And, the service was top notch. Didn't have to ask for refills on our drinks or anything. The only problem is that the portions were huge! If you're in the area and you feel like Tex-Mex, you won't go wrong by stopping in here.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bohste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“service”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I went to Plato Loco and the food was great. We had a Parillada which 3 of us ate from it. It was awesome. It has Beef, Chicken, Shrimp fajitas and Sausage. It was excellent tasting. You should go there. I also visited their Waxahachie location, just as great and full service bar. Very reasonably priced

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alvconst919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We've been dining at Plato Loco for years now. It's a family favorite that's sure to please. Visit a few times and you'll start realizing most of the customers are regulars and the owners are always nearby.

The food is very reasonably priced and is your typical cafe style TexMex. Nothing fancy and nothing fancy needed. This is where you go when you want a plate of sour cream enchiladas or fajitas done right. They start you out with chips and individual bowls for salsa (the salsa is in a pitcher that is left on your table).

The service is always quick and courteous.

If this is your first or hundredth visit to a simple TexMex restaurant we feel sure you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TopazMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plato Loco also viewed

 
Cedar Hill, TX
 

Been to Plato Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing