We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average BBQ”
Review of Smokey Mo's BBQ

Smokey Mo's BBQ
Ranked #7 of 214 Restaurants in Cedar Park
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very average BBQ”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've been there for dinner and then breakfast. It wasn't horrible but wasn't great either. The BBQ is too fatty - both brisket and sausage, and the brisket is tougher than it should be. The hot BBQ sauce was tasty though.

For breakfast we got a sausage breakfast taco, a brisket taco, and biscuits and gravy. The tacos were not what I expected. The sausage taco was a whole sausage in a tortilla! Likewise the brisket taco was just slices of brisket in a tortilla. The biscuits and gravy were a highlight and pretty good. I also had coffee which was horrible but I'm somewhat of a snob for good coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Austin BBQ”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It's not Lockhart, Elgin, or Taylor BBQ, but it's also not a 45 minute drive. For convenience it's good local BBQ. It's right in there with Rudy's and Salt Lick for flavor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim3109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BBQ????”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Some of the side dishes are not to bad, but the BBQ? If your into BBQ fat, go for it. They are one of those lets put the brisket on the pit long enough to give it a little smoke and finish it in the oven cooks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kking936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stopped in here to eat before the Stars game. I must say i was impressed. Had the 3 meat platter, which i ordered the Turkey, pork ribs, and sausage. Turkey was very good, great flavor. Pork ribs were good also, but kinda dry. Sausage was the best out of the three. I chose two sides, potato salad and cole slaw, the slaw was excellent and not too much dressing, potato salad creamy and not overly mustard tasting. Heard so much about this place at the hockey games, and just had to try it. Was not disappointed, very friendly staff, will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cds72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
371 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Everything was good”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our group had the chopped brisket, baby back ribs, smoked turkey and four sides. Everything was great. The Baby Back Ribs were small but the meat was terrific.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KegMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokey Mo's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Mo's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing