We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Channelview
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed here on business for about a week. When I arrived, the lady at the front desk asked for my card for incidentals and accidentally charged my card 715 dollars. It took three days to reverse the charges. On Thursday of that week, I had my stay extended by one day. I was told that I would not need to provide a credit card to check back in. However, when I went to check in, Ish insisted I provide a credit card. He was very rude but promised not to charge my card again. He proceeded to charge my card $250. Later that day, I was awoken with two calls and pounding on my door. Maintenance needed to get in my room, so I was moved. Personnel understood that I slept during the day yet persisted on being rude.
Other complaints include-- no free coffee, no continental breakfast, terrible internet, and bad cable tv. This hotel is definitely not worth the price. Worse holiday inn I have ever stayed!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwoodard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

mwoodward79,

We do apologize for the in convenience you experienced at the hotel. I would like guarantee you next time you are in area to reach out to myself and you will not have any problems,

Mari Vasquez

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I was in Houston for two weeks and stayed in this hotel. The surrounding area is dirty, but the property itself is great! I found the desk staff great the whole trip. They had upgraded me to the jacuzzi suite (pics attached). There is a nice pool, work out room, and hot tub downstairs. Nice bar and okay food. I didn't not find the highway noise a problem because it's a constant white noise.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gilbert0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Gilbert0,

Thank you for the great review. I have shared you post with the staff .We all invite you back to our hotel .


Mari Vasquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed at this property for three nights in January while my son was receiving some medical attention. Overall, the hotel is very good, although with some minor problems. The heat exchanger in the guestroom cycled on and off quite rapidly and disturbed our sleep the first night. We then just turned it off, and solved the problem. Guestroom service by housekeeping was very good and timely. The Front Desk attendants were attentive and responsive to our requests. Surprisingly, the restaurant was quite good, with ample portions of well-prepared and tasty food. The Chef knows how to cook a steak! Bar service was very well done. Did not use WiFi, Fitness Center or pool so can't comment. If in that area again, I would not hesitate to stay at this property. Good value for the cost.

Room Tip: Ask to be on non-highway side, as the hotel is very close to Interstate 10 with lots of truck traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDK2759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

PDK2759,

First all the staff would like to thank you for your comment. We strive to make all of our guest happy.

I hope next time you are in our area you will stay at our hotel. We will make sure Chef will cook you a steak.


Thank you,

Mari Vasquez

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for 3 night in this hotel. Location is along the highway, my room was facing the highway so you hear the traffic. Room was fine and clean, everything worked well, fast & free Wifi, complimentary tea & coffee in room available. Staff was helpful. Buffet & a la carte breakfast a little lackluster. Ample parking available. Overall clean & tidy hotel, would come again. Sound proofed windows would make a real difference in this location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari V, Manager at Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hi M Z,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We always welcome feed back and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Houston East. We hope that you'll come back to see us the next time you're in town.

Regards,
Mari Vasquez
Holiday Inn Houston East - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed here two nights [in November] for a venue that took place somewhere else.

The Bad:

When I phoned to make reservations the receptionist was so unprofessional I didn't want to give her my credit card number. Her giggling and inarticulate demeanor added to my sense of unease.

Even though there were over 70 authors who stayed at the hotel they elected to close the only on-site restaurant at 10 PM with many having no way to go anywhere else for food.

There was no maid service provided, only towels (this was unintentional; I asked). That's the first time I've ever had that experience in my life and I've traveled a lot.

We ate at the restaurant twice and both times waited over an hour for food. One guest that ate with us had the wrong thing served twice and though they got it right on the third time, they never offered to comp the meal- deplorable.

Room service was over an hour late.

The Good:

They comped the meal for room service tardiness.

The rooms were nice, though the position of the AC was directly over one of the beds, pouring cold air on the sleeper. Ugh.

The front desk guy was nice and seemed to feel genuinely bad about the overall chaos of the place.

Overall, I'd never use this particular hotel again and it left a bad taste for ever using Holiday Inn for future stays as there is clearly a quality control issue. So many issues across a multitude of different services... needs to be resolved.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Tamara B,

I would like to extended our sincere apologies .We have addreesed the issues with all our staff and would like to have you vist our hotel again.

Mari Vasquez
Holiday Inn Houston East -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Do yourself a favor and if you live in Houston area, go eat lunch or dinner at Time Out. Chef Jerry in a word, AWESOME! Not only is his food absolutely delicious, he is a great guy and unbelievably accommodating. Not on the menu....Chicken Fried Ribeye with bacon jalapeño gravy, holy crap is this good! If your traveling to Houston, Chef Jerry is enough of a reason to stay here but, the rooms are great and employees are all friendly. Chef has daily specials from chili to seafood. Truly a one of a kind dude and an absolute 5 star food experience and in unlikely location. GO GO GO!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Rlong10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you ,Thank you and Thank you. We all agree with your comment,please continue to vist our restuarnt.

Mari Vasquez

Holiday Inn Houston east -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Amazing food. Chief jerry is amazing. Food is outstanding. Can't get enough. Always has a great attitude and is always having a special of the night. I stayed here for a while (because of work) and I never got tired of his food.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandman7102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Sandman7102,

Thank you for your comment,Chef Jerry;s thanks you as well. When you come back to our area please do not hesitate to stop in our resturant.



Mari Vasquez

Holiday Inn Houston East-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Channelview
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Channelview
7.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baytown
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston E - E Sam Houston Pwy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#273 of 517 in Houston
24 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Channelview
7.7 mi away
Motel 6 Baytown - Garth Rd
Motel 6 Baytown - Garth Rd
#20 of 27 in Baytown
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview

Address: 16311 East Fwy, Channelview, TX 77530-4319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Channelview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Channelview
Price Range: £93 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn – East Houston, the newest, most state of the art hotel in the East Houston area. We are a full service hotel designed to cater to your needs. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, Holiday Inn – East Houston is the ideal location to be your home or office on the go.We offer brand new state of the art amenities, including the fastest internet speed currently available. We also have the only indoor pool in the East Houston area. In addition, Holiday Inn – East Houston also offers our guests a sauna, individual cabanas, a 24 hour exercise facility and business center.Our Sports Bar and Grill is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and offers American cuisine with an emphasis on healthy choices from the grill. We have the premier sports bar in the area where you can catch your favorite game from baseball to college football and everything in between. Holiday Inn – East Houston has 3 conference/banquet rooms totaling 2300 square feet which can accommodate up to 240 people. We also feature a grand pre-function area which adds more space and elegance to any event, whether it is a meeting for 20 or a wedding party for 200. Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of East Houston. It is just minutes away from several industrial areas such as the Port of Houston, Lyondell-Citgo, Exxon Mobile, and Shell. It is also in close proximity to several popular destinations such as the Galleria, NASA, Reliant Stadium, Downtown Houston, The Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, and Baytown’s Pirates Bay Water Park.Our Holiday Inn – East Houston is the most premier property in the area, and we welcome you to enjoy our hospitality and amenities as we make your stay with us our number one priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houston East-Channelview Hotel Channelview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing