We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cabin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retreat at Artesian Lakes
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleveland
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice cabin!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I love that the one room cabins are on the water with their own balcony with a porch swing. They had a gas fireplace and nice bathroom and kitchenette. We didn't stay during a weekend but some rooms come with a carriage ride and breakfast on Saturday mornings. We stayed at the Thomas J. Rusk cabin. It was on the corner with no neighbors to the left, so we had room to spread out by the fire ring. Its perfect for those that want to camp but not really "camp"! You have modern conviences. The alligators are fun for the kids to watch their glowing eyes!

Room Tip: Pay attention to room descriptions. Some of the cabins have the beds up in the loft. If you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissymcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    21
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
47
30
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We used to go to this property when we were kids back when it was a campground. We had such fond memories that I was a little afraid of returning. Now we have wonderful memories as adults. Our cabin, the Cynthia Ann Parker, was a perfect retreat for us. Having just been diagnosed with breast cancer, I was looking for peace and tranquility. I was not disappointed. We enjoyed breakfast each morning on the porch swing (bundled up) overlooking the lake. We had a wonderful visitor like none we've ever had. The fattest cardinal, Jazzy Red, landed in my hand and enjoyed some breakfast. Eventhough it was winter, it was still beautiful. We walked for hours, visited with one of the owners, rested in the hospitality house, and enjoyed one amazing meal at the Hilltop Herb Farm. Definitely 5 star quality and service. We were sorry to have to come home. We are already looking forward to our next trip once all treatments are done.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Cabin was beautiful with all the amenities of home;mocrowave,coffee pot,Internet,Flat screen t.v.'s;sitting on the deck and porch can watch the raccoons,turtles and alligators;I rate it Excellent and Thumbs Up! Will be back next year 2014

Room Tip: The Big Easy Cabin is at a dead end;very quiet spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank denetta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I have stayed here often and conducted corporate retreats here as well. The property is beautiful. Each cabin is furnished with antiques and looks over a crystal clear artisan lake. Truly a special place and the staff go out of their way to be of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RolandofGilliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It has been a few years since I stayed. I have been going since it was Chain O'lakes.

First, this IS camping in a cabin!! This is not a place you go to surf the net, or watch t.v! You are going to be outside and enjoy the environment!

I have stayed in several different cabins over the years and have never been disappointed. I did not go the first time expecting to be staying in a Penthouse! But, the cabins are nice, clean and cute.

I have fed squirrels and birds by hand on my porch, watched alligators swim below my cabin and my son swim with alligators! My son a techno kid thought he would hate it, and be bored. He loved it!

If you are looking to get away from the crazy work world this is the place. If you are looking to sit in front of a flat screen t.v., or mints on your pillow this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJC824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

What a great place!!!! Loved my porch and the alligator that came to visit every day - didn't want to leave and will be back again!!!!! Tinkerbell the horse and the beautiful carriage picked us up for breakfast on Saturday - the swimming hole and pool were awesome - the trails were beautiful - I will be back in the fall to use my fire pit and fireplace!!!!

Room Tip: the one room log cabin was perfect for me and my 2 kids - any more people and I would want to go wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Porte, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family and I stayed for 3 nights during the week and had a great time. My husband researched thoroughly so we knew to take food for dinner (drinks, sandwiches stuff and snacks) because the restaurant is not open in the evenings on weekdays. There are many places to eat in Cleveland which is a short 20 min drive. The kitchen had everything we needed, paper goods, ref, stove and microwave. The only thing missing was an icemaker but you can buy ice and all other types of sundries in the gift shop. The place was beautiful, clean and well maintained. Of course you are in a heavily wooded area so there were raccoons (those were the biggest pests in my opinion) and an occasional bug or two. My children are 6 and 8 and we they enjoyed playing in the loft upstairs and swinging on the front porch. We rented horses one day (for an additional cost) and spent another day lounging in the cleanest pool I have ever been in and had a really good burger from the grill by the pool. We very much enjoyed the free breakfast buffet (one of the best quiches I have EVER eaten) not to mention, fruit, eggs, pancakes, potatoes, bacon, sausage and gravy....I could keep going but you get the idea! All of the butter and jams etc. are made right there. The staff was very nice and welcoming everyday. The carriage ride to breakfast was an added bonus! We fed the fish and turtles from the deck after breakfast and saw lots of alligators. There were many beautiful paths and landscapes to admire including the beautiful herb garden. It is a little pricey but we opted to stay here over something cheaper for the privacy and peace that it offers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleveland
18.0 mi away
Best Western Cleveland Inn & Suites
18.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Super 8 Cleveland TX
Super 8 Cleveland TX
#5 of 7 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
19.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Livingston
19.9 mi away
Livingston Inn & Suites
Livingston Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat at Artesian Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat at Artesian Lakes

Property: The Retreat at Artesian Lakes
Address: 235 Chain O Lakes Resort, Cleveland, TX 77327-8698 (Formerly Chain-O-Lakes)
Region: United States > Texas > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat at Artesian Lakes (formerly Chain - O - Lakes Resort & Conference Center) is a uniquely designed, nature-focused facility ideal for family vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, group retreats and business conferences.Located on the edge of the Texas Big Thicket National Preserve, about one hour north of Houston, The Retreat at Artesian Lakes offers overnight accommodations in authentic log cabins, log suites, and private log homes. The Retreat at Artesian Lakes is also home to Hilltop Restaurant, a famous East Texas landmark founded by renowned herbalist and cook, Madalene Hill. Hilltop's exquisite cuisine is based on the herbs grown in the adjacent garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat At Artesian Lakes Hotel Cleveland
Retreat At Artesian Lakes Cleveland
Chain o Lakes Cleveland
The Retreat At Artesian Lakes Cleveland, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing