We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
George Bush Presidential Library and Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The George Bush Presidential Library and Museum is a research institution and academic environment dedicated to the preservation, research and exhibit of official records, personal papers and memorabilia from the life and career of George H.W. Bush, the 41st President of the United States, with more than 43 million pages of official and personal papers, 2 million photos, 2,500 hours of videotape and 100,000 museum objects. Covering much of U.S. history since 1941, the library and museum features a World War II Avenger Torpedo Bomber, a 1947 Studebaker, a piece of the Berlin Wall, and precise replicas of President Bush's Oval Office, Camp David office and White House Situation Room. The museum also features a temporary exhibit gallery which lends to an ever-changing museum to visit. Museum hours are Monday through Saturday from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from noon to 5 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This library ranks as one of my favorite. We have visited Truman's, Eisenhower's, Reagan's, Hoover's and Lincoln's Libraries. I found President Bush's Library to be one of the best. The library covers President Bush's youth, military service, education, move to Texas and government service.
You are able to see into the more personal side of the Bush Family and understand their contributions to our country. I came away proud to have had President Bush as a president. If you are a history buff, you will enjoy the breadth of the information covered in the museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    143
    30
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Historical Visit”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It is a blast to the past. reviving memories of past president and some functions of this great country.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Presentation of a True American”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The museum is very current in how the information is presented. All the latest from touch screens to videos. The information reinforced why he was the most qualified person to every become President. From his family growing up to his Navy service, college, Midland life, Houston and then his government service, all were presented. High recommend you visit this to learn about a true American hero, who jumps out of planes for his 90th birthday.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank282856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great President and a Great Museum/Grounds”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited and walked away so very impressed. We have always liked or 41st president but we are even more in awe of him and his lovely wife . There is so very much to see, hear, and enjoy. Wonderful pieces of history and a close up view of President Bush and his family. A must see. I will be back with my family!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Presidential Library”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This was a very informative library and museum. I enjoyed my time there. It starts with an 18 minute video on the Bush family and what lead to President Bush's run for the office. The number of items in the museum is great and the sections set to the different posts he had through his political career. The is also a good exhibit on Mrs. Bush and her accomplishments.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BizTravelerMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Bush Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 
College Station, TX
 

Been to George Bush Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing