We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar with "Pour" Service”
Review of The Republic

The Republic
Reserve with OpenTable
The Republic is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Bar with "Pour" Service”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After a long week, my wife and I look forward to a Friday evening at the Republic bar. Not only does the dark wood feel and special lighting accents make for a relaxing atmosphere, a well-stocked bar and staff help to create a perfect evening to include generous pours and great appetizers. If you enjoy your steak rare, try the steak tar-tar; you wont be sorry. If you're into swimmers only, the deconstructed tuna tower is stellar as well! If wine and cheese is your thing, well, they have they covered too. The cheese plate is filled with multiple varieties and aligns well with any of the multiple wines available. Already looking forward to next week!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    55
    17
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best Steak and Whiskey in Texas”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place is exceptional! Their house bloody mary is unique and amazing. Also, I believe they are officially the largest whiskey bar in Texas, with dozens to choose from. I suggest trying the Japanese Whiskey; you won't be disappointed. The oysters are to die for. This place is full of little extras. Be sure to notice the smoked salt butter for the bread and the little pile of smoked salt on the corner of you steak plate. They smoke it themselves and it is wonderful. Dessert was of course heavenly. We happened to be with a large group so we sampled many menu items. All were exceptional. You must stop by your next time in College Station; your life will be better for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Took my family to dinner here. My daughters filet was charred, burnt tasting, on the outside. The inside was somewhat ok. The calamari was decent. Loved the roasted pepper sauce served with the calamari. Our salad was decent. I tried the pork tenderloin. It was just ok. I really expected much better food for the price. I probably will not try it here again. : (

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2sunnybeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Food is excellent with a variety of tastes that complement the entree well. Service staff made excellent recommendation of wine to complement the meal. Portions not large but reasonable and filling. We shared two desserts 3 ways as we couldn't decide which to try. Rich and delish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Always enjoy dinner here. Have eaten here many times and food and service are always above average. A great place to celebrate special occasions. Pork loin at last meal was a bit dry but have always had great steaks and appetizers. One of the top two restaurants in B/CS.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayes39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Republic also viewed

 
College Station, TX
 

Been to The Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing