We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can tell by the smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn College Station
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in College Station
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
“You can tell by the smell”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

They charged 149 + tax the room was clean, the furnishings were updated (typical Hampton) but it was very small and the HVAC unit was hanging on by a thread, very old, very noisy and smelled like moldy water. There is construction on both sides of the place, and they start working at 7am, even on weekends. The breakfast was disgusting, brown bananas, watery powdered eggs, transparent microwave bacon, you know the usual motel fair, tho the Coffee was drinkable, We headed out to Cracker Barrel. The more jaded traveller may chalk this one up to, it's college town, you're lucky to get a room at all (some nights), but this is a pretty disappointing Hampton, especially when the hit you for 150 bucks a night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    123
    88
    46
    25
See reviews for
191
59
34
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The location of this hotel is prime, right next to Texas A&M University. However, the Inn is experiencing some growing pains around them. The hotel is surrounded by a huge job site. I am sure the hotel will benefit greatly when the development next door is complete. By staying on the weekend, we did not hear any construction activities.

The hotel is a bit old, but you could tell they still take pride in the building. The management has upgraded some components, such as the bathrooms, room finishes, and breakfast area.

The breakfast in the morning was well-stocked with cereal, oatmeal, eggs, bacon, biscuits, bagels and waffles. Fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee round out the dining experience. The breakfast met our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Moved to this hotel after the Fairfield across the street ended up overbooked (stay there! STAY THERE!). There is active construction on three sides of the hotel, nothing they can do about that. Staff was friendly but once I got up to the room it seemed like they really didn't give too much of a damn about the small things. No-name tv set that sounds like a fifty year old radio, fan slowly falling out of the bathroom ceiling (not so nice looking around the hole it had made either), the shower curtain that was about a foot too long so I was constantly standing on it in the tub, hard mattresses that shifted about throughout the night so I woke up with pillows wedged between the wall and the mattress, and an AC unit loud enough to wake the dead (though it could explain why I never heard any construction noise). The alarm clock was quite securely glued to the night-stand, good for deterring those light-fingered guests, too bad for anyone trying to plug something into the outlets which it was also securely blocking. General cleanliness seemed just a bit off, I always felt like I was going to toss back the sheets and spot something terrifying, never happened, but it definitely gave off the vibe. As with the Fairfield across the street, there are very few dining options within walking distance beyond an Applebee's and a Denny's. Best part of the stay was the wi-fi which was substantially more stable than usual for a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel had a nice, cozy feel. But the key was the shuttle to/from the stadium. It was cheap and very easy. The complimentary breakfast was very good and had lots of choices. There was some construction next to the hotel but we never were bothered with any noise. The check-in staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff is very friendly, room is clean, breakfast is good. Internet connection is good as well. Location is in heart of College Station and next to Texas A&M University. Overall a good value. I would recommend this for a business person for a good value in College Station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our room was particularly small, the bed was too soft and the pillows were too hard. In addition, the room was grossly overpriced for new parents weekend. It was very convenient to North Campus and the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel has been updated well. Very clean and friendly staff. Rooms are a bit small, but a good value. We were afraid this would be college party hotel being so close to campus, but it was not. Everyone staying there during the A&M Auburn game were adults and we had no issues. Great place to stay and within walking distance to campus (if you don't mind a 10 min walk).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these College Station hotels
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton College Station
Home2 Suites by Hilton College S...
#4 of 36 in College Station
368 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus College Station Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus College Statio...
#1 of 36 in College Station
173 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#13 of 36 in College Station
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton College Station & Conference Center
Hilton College Station & Confere...
#10 of 36 in College Station
773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place College Station
Hyatt Place College Station
#6 of 36 in College Station
353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham College Station
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Colle...
#8 of 36 in College Station
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn College Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn College Station

Property: Hampton Inn College Station
Address: 320 Texas Ave S, College Station, TX 77840-1722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in College Station
#9 Business Hotel in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn College Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn College Station hotel is conveniently located within one block of Texas A&M University and offers free airport shuttle service to and from Easterwood Airport. Relax in a comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning and free WiFi access. Take advantage of the close proximity to a variety of attractions in College Station - nightlife at Northgate, President George H.W. Bush Library and Museum, Wolf Pen Creek Park and Amphitheater, Messina Hof Winery and more. Catch a game at Texas A&M University or play golf at one of the many nearby courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn College Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn College Station Hotel College Station
College Station Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn College Station Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing