We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable spot in Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High's Cafe and Store

High's Cafe and Store
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Comfort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Breakfast & Lunch 7 days a week! Fast, Fresh, Friendly Cafe in the heart of downtown Comfort, Texas. Soup, Salads, Sandwiches. Full espresso bar, great coffee, wine by the glass, draft beer. Fresh made baked goods and sorbet. Retail store offers Wine, Beer, Books, Texas Hill Country Sundries
Canyon Lake, TX (near Austin)
Level Contributor
146 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Comfortable spot in Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is a very nice casual place to enjoy a light meal and a tasty dessert from the bakery case. When the weather is cooler the outdoor seating areas are very inviting. We look forward to visiting this friendly place when we have some wine at the likewise comfortable Bending Branch tasting room a few doors up the street. By the way, you can get a take out at the cafe and enjoy it at the Bending Branch with a glass of their excellent wine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CanyonJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    76
    17
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I had the chilled avocado soup w/mango salsa and the caprese salad. My husband had the crab cake open face sandwich. All of these items were so fresh and delicious! Nice atmosphere with friendly staff and good service. Wish there were a place like this close to Cypress! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a great sandwich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

An appetizing array of choices, with so much flavor- we've had several meals there and it never fails to disappoint- delicious and fresh ingredients and a friendly staff with nice wine and beer selection!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank needstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
850 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Great service low price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

A nice place to have lunch and take a rest. I like the ice tea very much. A restaurant with a big space at the back. It's very comfy. Sure I'll be back when I visit comfort

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Solodam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Encore after encore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Though the suggestion of a fiiend six years ago, when we moved to San Antonio, we made the first trip to Comfort and thought we were eating at the restaurant we had been told about. This was not the case, so we made a return trip several weeks later to eat at "High's" I shall suffice it to say that on a Saturday when we want to treat outselves we make the 45 minute drive to Comfort to have lunch at High's. We have traveled a great deal and we would have been thrilled in any of those locales to find a restaurant of an equal caliber......the service, the food, the staff , the value- it is one of the best EVER! If you don't take the opportunity to eat there when you have it - then it is your loss........ENJOY!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to High's Cafe and Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing