We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive”
Review of Riven Rock Ranch Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Riven Rock Ranch Grill
Description: Great open air restaurant on top of hill. It also has cabins and can host weddings/events. Beautifully landscaped.
Restaurant details
Description: Great open air restaurant on top of hill. It also has cabins and can host weddings/events. Beautifully landscaped.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
413 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We went on a cool evening and were therefore able to sit in the outdoor patio. The food was very good, particularly when one considers that it is off the beaten path near Comfort. The menu was varied and all dishes were well prepared. Service was a bit slow but we were with friends and therefore didn't mind. Also, they do not have a liquor license and the wine offerings were a bit thin with an overabundance of Texas wines. Texas has many positive attributes but wine is generally not considered one of them-even by us native Texans. We will no doubt return at some point.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed with their lunch at Riven Rock Ranch Grill”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Riven Rock Ranch Grill before for dinner and we really enjoyed it. The outside dining had a very nice ambiance, watching all of the hummingbirds was an added bonus. The food was very good and we wanted to go back there to try out their lunch. Unfortunately, it was a stark contrast to our previous experience. Instead of boring you with a long story, I will put it in an outline.

Menu is limited - Soup of the day, several salads and sandwiches. That's it.
Price was way to high for what we received.
Service was terrible. Water was not refilled and we didn't see the waiter for long periods of time. - to be fair, service was really good before
Sides are not included with your meal - including the $15.00 hamburger (which was very small and ordinary IMO)
They had issues with flies

If you are going to charge that much for a hamburger and $4.50 for fries, you better justify it with service and quality. Neither of which was there today.

Bottom line, if this was our first experience, we would never go back. We are going to give their dinner another try the next time we go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tqdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food and Wonderful Views”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

So the place is not cheap for dinner, but the atmosphere and extensive menu is worth it to splurge occassionally and this is the menu I like when I do. We had a large party so we split all types of appetizers which were all wonderful. The place is very close to the main street in Comfort, probably a 5 minute drive. The dinner entre menu is quite extensive and ranges from fish to steak to lamb so there is something for everyone. If you like a diverse menu and nice patio atmosphere then this is the place for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JarredBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wow! Outstanding food in a panoramic setting”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My wife and I stayed in Comfort at the Hotel Faust and were recommended by the hotel to eat at the Riven Rock Ranch Grill. The views of the surrounding valley are outstanding. The Grill is decorated in a rustic manner and their food is nothing short of incredible. I highly recommend a visit here for the food and the ambience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank provoshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
212 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food on a working Ranch!”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

You know your in for a true dining treat when you look at the menu. Choice of meats - preset side dishes - Great Food. The lack of prices on the Menu will give you an idea of the level of quality you get at this unique eatery.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riven Rock Ranch Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing