We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Jarritos

Los Jarritos
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Comfort
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Comfort
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

A good, local family owned restaurant. Waiters remember us and what we often order. Service is usually quick and always friendly. Menu has good variety. Salsa is excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rancher091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort Food in Comfort, Texas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled across this delightful eatery while trying avoid over priced offerings in downtown Comfort. The portions are generous and not over priced. The Enchiladas Verdes and Carne Asada plates were especially good. Everything tasted fresh, homemade and authentic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“MMMM GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The food was great and service excellent. My friends had never been and they really enjoyed the meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good, home made Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I've been eating in and driving through Los Jarros for a number of years. You will love their salsa and hot, fresh just made chips. Prices are super reasonable and the staff is family - literally! I'll keep on eating here again and again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapparral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Seriously, The Best Chicken Enchiladas Verdes in Texas (and thereby the World)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

In the category of Mom and Pop Home Cooking, this place is absolutely World Class. It's a family owned (the Avalos Family), and operated (sisters Maria, Adrianna, Rosario, and Luz all take turns in the kitchen and out front, while Husbands Michael and Belmar take care of the front) restaurant using family recipes, and absolutely fresh ingredients. They mix and roll their tortillas by hand, and they are individually grilled. By comparison, mass production tortillas in chain joints have dough rolled into a ball, and run through a machine, which produces a baked product. The tomatillas (used in the verde sauce) are ground fresh every day. If they find they have a little extra towards the end of the day, they serve it. Nothing is stashed in a fridge. Their veggies are delivered fresh daily. Their beans are cleaned by hand and cooked fresh every day. Their onions are delivered fresh every day. My personal favorite meal (which I drive 22 miles to get, and frequently order to take home for more that night) is their Chicken Enchiladas Verdes. The chicken is cooked fresh, rolled in fresh enchiladas, garnished with fresh verdes sauce, and fresh salad, add in double rice (sorry, I don't eat beans), add two eggs over easy over the rice, add some extra verdes sauce, and VIOLA! THE BEST CHICKEN ENCHILADAS VERDES IN TEXAS, AND THEREBY THE WORLD. Other folks I dine with have tried other menu items, and all report they are delicious. How could you miss? It's like eating Sunday dinner with your Grandmother from Mexico. I have distinctly mixed feelings about writing this review. On the one hand, this is that secret place known mostly only to locals and a treasured gem in a small, antique town. On the other hand, there are literally thousands of people driving east and west on Interstate 10 between San Antonio and Kerrville, who don't realize that this place exists, and offers such delicious food. I hope the day never comes when I can't get a seat in this small place (seats about 60 people) because of all the tourists from the interstate. But, the Avalos Family works hard, they care about the quality of their food, and they deserve every accolade they get. So, if you go, try the Chicken Enchiladas my way, tell'em Catfish sentcha, and lemmeknow if you don't agree. If you have a candidate for anything better, I'd like to know about it. I've travelled the Globe, and for me, Los Jarros is the best in Texas, and thereby the World. Enjoy.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rangercatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Jarritos also viewed

 

Been to Los Jarritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing