We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 5th Year at The Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haven River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comfort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haven River Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Comfort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
“Our 5th Year at The Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is the 5th year in a row that our group, The Second Half of Life Ministries of the First Assembly of God Church in San Antonio, has held our annual retreat at The Haven River Inn. This year we were a group of 28 and rented the whole main house. We come back every year because we have found The Haven to be just that...a haven of rest and relaxation. The staff are amazing...kind and helpful. We always love the breakfasts, and our group has dinner prepared for us as well and it is delicious. The setting is so peaceful and the main house is beautiful and cozy. Wood floors, high ceilings, antiques and the most amazing wrap around porch full of rocking chairs to just sit and relax in. We have already determined we will go back for a 6th time in the fall of 2013.

Room Tip: Cheryl, the Inn manager, will be so helpful in guiding you to select the best rooms for your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    24
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
114
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have been to the Haven River Inn about 10 times and it is always amazing. On this trip, we rented the whole house for a ministry school retreat. The Haven is so peaceful and relaxing. Cheryl, the innkeeper, is very kind, sweet and helpful.. The cost is so reasonable and the breakfast is always amazing. Great views, nice pool, swim in the river, horseshoes, deer to watch, great place to relax. I highly recommend the Haven for group, personal and couples retreats

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actswaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

If you want a fantastic get away!!! My wife and I want to celebrate her birthday and we couldn't be happier. The staff is great and the Room 1 was fantastic. We actually went on a Wednesday evening and had the WHOLE 3-story house to ourselves! We got Pizza at "Comfort Pizza" (the 'angry simoan' is highly recommended) and came back to the house to eat it after a long day at Enchanted Rock and Fredricksburg. High's Cafe was a GREAT for lunch and I really enjoyed looking at the gift shops around comfort. Great location by the Guadeloupe River.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have stayed at the Haven Inn 3 different times and we loved it! It is the perfect place to get away and marvel at God's creation. The atmosphere is homey and comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious. The rooms are so cute, each with their own style. We enjoyed just sitting out in the swing under the huge oak tree, talking for hours. Highly highly highly recommend spending time out here!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lirpa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

The River Haven Inn was the perfect place to celebrate our 40th anniversary. The Inn's scenic location allowed us to relax and recharge our souls. Our room was perfection in a home which exuded tranquility. The river was soothing, especially in the evening. The pool provided a cool, relaxing end to a stress-free day. The wraparound porch offered a panoramic view of the Hill Country.

Each morning at nine we enjoyed a delicious breakfast. The menu varied daily with pancakes, omelets and a spinach quiche offered as the main items during our three days. The homemade granola and yogurt, fruits and assorted beverages complimented the meal daily.

We took food items to picnic, and experienced the local cuisine for one meal per day. The Mexican food at Los Jarritos was an inexpensive, but delicious fare. Guenther's Biergarten Grill offered a sumptuous menu of generous portions. Setups, frozen mugs and an ice bucket are provided for your preferred beverage which can be purchased next door. We wanted to try Comfort Pizza which bakes its pies in a wood-fired oven, but couldn't find the time. High's Cafe was closed for vacation, so that was the only disappointing part of this trip.
,
The Haven's staff, accommodating and friendly, met our needs more than adequately. . Suggestions were on target. On the third floor a flat screen TV/DVD player is available for movie viewing only. Wifi is easily accessible.

Comfort is a small country town which is truly reflective of its name.

Room Tip: Corner rooms 1 and 6 provide lots of natural light.. Other rooms have various perks primarily depend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moomoo_Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I only wish there were better words to describe our stay. Ours was an overnight stay enroute to Yellowstone. We will be back for a more extended stay. The room was great. The breakfast was superb. Both innkeepers were charming and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doughboy115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Haven River Inn for about 8 yrs. It is always "just what we need". This time we brought two friends. They loved it as well. Sometimes we come just to get away for the solitude, relaxation, and rejuvenation. Sometimes we do that and also use Comfort as "home base" for doing things during the day in San Antonio, Fredericksburg, or Kerrville. This year we could tell someone has worked to upgrade the physical plant. The property and the house looked great.
We love and appreciate our times at Haven River Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comfort
17.7 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
14.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Boerne Inn & Suites
15.8 mi away
Days Inn Boerne
Days Inn Boerne
#7 of 7 in Boerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunday House Inn
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Texas Hill Country
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven River Inn

Property: Haven River Inn
Address: 105 Highway 473, Comfort, TX 78013-3651
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Comfort
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Comfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing