We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms -- No Vegan Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comfort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek
Ranked #2 of 5 Comfort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Rooms are worth 4 stars; but Innkeeper would not agree to provide Vegan breakfast -- not even soy-milk for coffee -- drops this Inn down to "Average" for me. The nice rooms + peace & quiet saved this Inn from my dropping them to 2 stars. Stayed one night while on a bicycling trip. Booked well in advance & Inn said they would provide a Vegan-friendly breakfast. Well, "not". Spoke with Innkeeper upon arrival who said she would only be serving an egg-dish for breakfast but "might" be able to provide some mixed fruit for me. No Vegan breakfast, here; and if soy-milk is desired, forget it. Vegans beware; "inflexibility" seems to be the rule at Meyer B&B. However a nice Vegan-friendly alternative to the non-Vegan breakfast at Meyer B&B emerges by just going up the street a couple blocks and saying "Howdy" to Comfort Cafe which does serve, upon request, a Vegan-friendly breakfast or lunch. They are flexible! Fortunately, Comfort Cafe has no association, whatsoever, with the non-accommodating Meyer B&B. And, Comfort Cafe does serve soy-milk for their excellent coffee. Returning to Meyer B&B, the rooms are quaint and cute. The cottages back to a small river or large creek; and all is peace and quiet. So, the property is nice and the town of Comfort has several nice antique shops in addition to the good food at the Vegan-friendly Comfort Cafe. Plenty of places in the countryside to bike or hike. Just don't expect a breakfast -- that is a Vegan-friendly breakfast -- at Meyer B&B. PS: my carnivore biking companions who ate the breakfast said it was not good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs to the creek. Nice view with extra peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lite T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dueces, Owner at Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

The Meyer takes great pride in making all of our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. When guests make a reservation and notate a dietary request, we contact them regarding the menu we provide to make sure it works for them or if it can be modified to accommodate their request. Since you were part of a large group and did not make your reservation directly with us, your dietary needs were not communicated to us. Upon your late day arrival, we learned of your dietary needs and discussed our buffet choices that could fit your diet. In fairness, since we are not a cook- to-order restaurant, we only stock the fresh items that we use daily to prepare our delicious breakfast buffet. Fruits, tomatoes, breads, oatmeal and cereals were offered. Since we did not see you at breakfast, we presume our breakfast menu was not what you were looking for. We make every effort to honor our guests’ requests when given sufficient time. We are glad you enjoyed the view of the Cypress Creek and the quaintness The Meyer has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

This was our second visit to the Meyer. We get together twice a year and go to cool places across Texas. Our revisit was just as wonderful as the first. We opted to stay together in the 3bed 2bath liv kit din house with porch facing the creek. It was very authentic with log walls and queen iron beds in all bedrooms. One bedroom had a jacuzzi tub in it. Breakfast was continental so don't expect eggs, sausage,bacon, anything heavy. It was really good, though.We had a full kitchen and could have cooked but didn't. I'm sure on a future trip we will return. It is just one of those places.

Room Tip: Get a screened porch or face the creek so you can watch the deer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a second floor room that was quiet and had plenty of room to spread out. The bread pudding at breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed watching the deer feed across the creek in the morning and evening from both the patio and the swing down by the creek. We walked to dinner every evening and toured the surrounding hill country during the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpdayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent two nights here in early April while in town to attend a wedding. We had a wonderful time and recommend the Meyer B&B and Comfort if you're looking for a quiet Hill Country getaway. We stayed in room #801, and it was very nice. Creatively decorated room, clean and quiet, with comfortable beds. Food was good at breakfast, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We walked quite a bit, both around the scenic grounds and into town -- which was just a block or two away-- where we visited several antique shops. We loved it because it was a relaxing bed and breakfast in a small, quiet town. If you're looking for fast-paced fun in a big city, this isn't it!

Room Tip: Our room, #801, faced the front. The noise from the road was virtually non-existent at night because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhhoffmann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

This is a great inn located on 27 acres by Cypress Creek. It's rustic and historic. The breakfast is delightful and don't miss the bread pudding. Comfort is a quaint little town situated between two larger towns if more amenities are needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Meyer Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the African themed 703 lodge. The room was quite large and was equipped with a ceiling fan in addition air conditioning. The Meyer is just a short walk from the center of town and several restaurants are nearby. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. We arrived after the office was closed but had no problem getting into our room. Bottom line, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank kangfish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Spent two nights at Meyer's B&B, in the Ernestine Meyer cottage (two separate bed/bath suites side-by-side in a small cottage, with a common porch in the front and common deck on the back).
The motley collection of buildings and grounds that comprise Meyer's are full of Texas Hill Country charm, with a combination of the old frame farmhouse/cottage styles mixed with lovely limestone buildings and a more modern "lodge" on one end. The grounds are well-kept and nicely landscaped (although they do include a few non-native, "invasive" species, which is a common problem in Texas), and they have a small, pretty swimming pool.
The true highlight of the grounds, though, has to be the location on Cypress Creek, which is lined with bald cypresses (a few giants), pecans, cottonwoods, turtles and fish in the creek, and lots of birds (we are birders, so the location was very nice for some light bird-watching). An especially nice feature is that they have about 20 acres accessible by stepping-stones across the creek, which is a lightly wooded/grassland area with a deer feeder placed within view of the lodge, thus providing an almost-guaranteed look at a small herd of white-tailed deer, who seem to know just when the feeder is scheduled to spray another round of food. My friend was walking over there in the early morning and spotted a group of wild turkey toms all in a circle displaying for each other. Very nice!
One grounds caution: you will need to get down some stairs or stone steps to reach the creekside, and if you are mobility-impaired, this could be difficult. Our rooms were ground-level, but some rooms are reached by stairs, also.
Our rooms were adorable, decorated with quilts and flowers and lots of homey touches, quite spacious, each with a sitting area, bathroom with full tub/shower, TV, and back doors that opened onto the small, private deck for the two-room cottage. The beds were not huge, but comfortable, and not overly soft, thank goodness (the older we get, the more we want some back support!) Our rooms did not overlook the creek, but had a pleasant view off the deck, and even though close to the road, there wasn't too much traffic, especially at night, so it wasn't a problem (although we could hear hwy 87 in the far distance, a bit surprising but maybe more noticeable against the relative peace and quiet). I might try to get a room overlooking the creek next time, to move a bit further from the road and see if that made any difference. We wanted to leave the doors open to take advantage of the beautifully cool nights, which brings me to a small quibble about the rooms--it was too bad that the windows had been sealed shut, as it would have been very nice to open those instead to get the great cross breeze. (I assume it was done for energy efficiency...) The rooms do have window A/Cs, which is no doubt necessary during the summer, but we didn't need.
One other room tip: the tap water is perfectly fine, but a bit too many minerals for my taste, so if you care about that, you might want some bottled water for the room.
Breakfast in the morning was generous, with an egg dish (ours was a "quiche-type" with ham and vegs in it), and lots of sweet options like pancakes, cakes, and breakfast pastries. I could have wished for more bread/toast options that weren't quite so sweet, though. They had cereal, but no yogurt (that would be a nice addition). The fruit offerings were pretty typical (melons, etc.), but I hope that they use some of the luscious local fruits like the area peaches when they come into season.
The bigger disappointment about breakfast, for me, was the lack of quality breakfast teas. I know this is Texas (yes, I'm Texan, so I can talk!), but a good B&B, whether in Texas or not, should at least carry an English breakfast or Earl Grey (or even, dare I suggest, a Darjeeling!). At the risk of sounding like a tea snob, Cain-brand tea is even worse than Liptons, and should never be offered by any decent establishment. And there is a good place serving decent tea brands in the town, so better options can be found. Not being a coffee drinker, I can't speak to the quality of the coffee they serve. It would also be nice to have access to tea/coffee facilities earlier in the morning, before breakfast, for those of us who would like an early bit before breakfast. Yes, the rooms have a coffee-maker, but again, speaking for the tea drinkers out there, you just can't run water for tea through a coffee maker without picking up some of the lingering coffee oils. It just ends up with bad-tasting tea. By the way, breakfast is only one hour long, so be aware of that timing.
The other plus to the location is its closeness to downtown Comfort. You can easily walk the couple of blocks to reach the historic, central district, where the antique shops and restaurants are. When at the B&B, you feel like you are in the country, so it's a great combination of country feel with convenient town access. Comfort has some nice eating establishments, too, and a great selection of small shops. (A fun aside--many of the shops seem to have their own "host" cats--plump, fluffy, friendly greeters who were a delight for us to encounter.)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the creek might be the most pleasant for views and distance from the road. Each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pseudonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comfort
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
495 reviews
16.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
21.1 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camp Comfort Boutique B&B
14.3 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
21.0 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek

Address: 845 High St, Comfort, TX 78013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Comfort
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Comfort
Price Range: £75 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1850s Texas Landmark located in Comfort, TX centrally located in the Heart of the Texas Hill Country. Enjoy a full hot breakfast each morning while overlooking the banks of the Cypress Creek. Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces available in many suites. Private cottage is available with great view of the water overlooking the creek. Pool and Hot Tub available for your relaxation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing