We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast and beautiful views in a quaint town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comfort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek
Ranked #3 of 5 Comfort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good breakfast and beautiful views in a quaint town”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have stayed at the Meyer Bed and Breakfast for two nights each of the past two years. The property and rooms are clean, the breakfast bar is well laden and excellent with a nice eating area, and the river view is one-of-a-kind wonderful. This b&b is a good deal for the price although I would wish for nicer complimentary toiletries - the soap and shampoo is the cheap hotel kind.

Comfort is a small artsy central Texas town with a few good restaurants, antique stores, and galleries. Comfort Pizza which is just a block away has amazing pizza. ($15-$18 range and expect 20-25 minute wait) Guadalupe River state park is nearby and well worth a trip to see.

Room Tip: The Cypress Cottage has a separate entrance, private bath and wonderful screened in porch with an am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    25
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
86
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a very nice B&B. Right from the beginning of our trip we felt welcome here. The owner even called to check on us because we were running a little late. She wanted to make sure she was up to greet us. We had a total of 8 rooms because we were in town for a wedding. Our room was very nice and clean. My wife loved the decorations and space in the room. We had a gas stove along with a comfy bed. The only complaint on the room was it needed a full size ironing table. It was a little tough to iron dress clothes on a mini table. Breakfast was very good, the casseroles were great. At other B&B's I've been to there were more casseroles to choose from and more meat choices. The owner was there every morning to check to see if we needed anything. The grounds are very well kept. Across the creek were a lot of deer feeding in the morning. Some of our friends were staying at some of the other B&B's and ours was clearly the better of them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a reservation for 351 Cypress Cottage at the Meyer Bed and Breakfast. We could not have been more happy. We rode our bikes from Corpus Christi and we came in about 4:00 in the evening. The office staff was accommodating and friendly. We got into our little cottage and immediately relaxed on our screened in porch with a beer! There was ample parking for our bikes even on such a busy Valentine's weekend and easy to get to.

The room was plenty nice...a very comfy king size bed, a nice size armoire, chest of drawers, wall-mounted TV with plenty of stations, if you really wanted to watch TV. There was a deer feeder set up out across the creek and when humans didn't interfere you could sit and watch the deer feed and interact. The cottage is a separate entity so you don't share a wall with anyone else. The screened in porch was magnificent. It had the "wall" type of sliding glass doors so that you could open them up and have the outside inside for most of your stay.

We had breakfast for two mornings. It is buffet style in the Gast Haus which was just a short walk from our cottage. Each morning there was something different and it was all fresh, hand-prepared and delicious.

Maybe one of the biggest advantages to staying at the Meyer B&B is their location. If you are like us, we are very serious and safety-minded about our motorcycle riding but we also like to enjoy our beer and wine. So we would ride all day and then come home and park the bikes. Within 1 block, we had dinner at 814 Bistro (google that)...it is a small Chef Owner Operated restaurant. Reservations are a good idea because it is very small and intimate setting. The food was excellent and although pricey in terms of dollars, not at all overpriced for the quality of food we were served. Fabulous service and of course a nice bottle of wine. AND, walked home safe and sound...The next night was a Sunday...we were afraid that maybe nothing would be open, but there is a pizza place, Comfort Pizza....not a "fast food" joint. Handmade pizzas were amazing. We had the greek salads and the greek pizza and a couple of beers...yummy...and again we could walk safely home.

Comfort is "off the beaten" path, but it offers quiet streets, a couple of nice antique shops for shopping, and is in the "middle" of great roads to ride. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for something new. We have done the Fredericksburg thing for years and staying at Comfort was a real treasure.

Room Tip: We stayed in 351 Cypress Creek Cottage...it was perfect. We loved the private screened-in porch ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tchwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
405 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

If you are in Comfort for a visit and want to stay overnight, the Meyer is a nice place. It's located on the Cypress Creek and you might drive right past it if you aren't looking. It's one of those hidden places that doesn't look as beautiful as it really is. You have to park and venture inside to find its true beauty and charm. The rooms are large and uniquely decorated. The beds are comfortable. The screened porches are a treat. We've stayed here several times and Shane and Teresa go to great lengths to make sure everyone's stay is quiet and comfortable. The breakfasts are a little heavy on carbs and very light on proteins, so those with special diets, like ours, aren't overly accommodated, so bring along some nuts or jerky to off-set the early morning carb breakfast buzz. You'll enjoy your stay and it's convenient B&B to park the car for the weekend and walk the town.

I like the Ernestine Meyer Cottages or the Gast Haus if your traveling with friends. For romance, I'd pick Creekside Cottages. Any of the Mercantile are large with two beds for families.

Room Tip: Ask for Creekside rooms. Be sure to look at their online room pictures. They do a great job of with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyHoHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Recently I had made a reservation to stay at this B&B. That reservation was quickly cancelled when the owner informed me that I would not be allowed to have my best man and my one other groomsman (total of 2 additional people) with me for "two hours" prior to my wedding because they were not registered "overnight" guests.
Honestly, I can't make a comment on the remainder of the topics (such as value, location, etc) because I didn't stay there. It was sufficient for me to experience the owner's uncaring attitude and lack of customer service that convinced me this B&B was not worth staying at.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dueces, Owner at Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent experience. When we had called to confirm the online reservation, you had asked about bringing additional guests onsite. Unfortunately, as stated in our policy provided online prior to making a reservation, it states we only accept guests staying overnight. It’s our goal to ensure that all guests staying with us receive the experience they were promised. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We hope in the future you will give us another try to experience the relaxing nature of our property.


Sincerely,

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here. The huge lawn rolling down to the river is very serene. Just sit and hear nothing but nuts dropping from the trees. Very large room with a decent shower. Extensive breakfast buffet. Perfectly sited along Comfort's Main Street.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the 2 nights we spent at Meyer Bed and Breakfast. The room was great and the view of the lawn down to the creek with the deer there both morning and evening was perfect. We both enjoyed the assortment at breakfast and the view there was beautiful too. This is definitely a place we would try again.

Room Tip: When choosing a room, I would look at their website and choose what appeals to you; our room faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagleHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comfort
16.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
15.2 mi away
Best Western Boerne Inn & Suites
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
16.2 mi away
Days Inn Boerne
Days Inn Boerne
#7 of 7 in Boerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
16.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Texas Hill Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek

Property: Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek
Address: 845 High St, Comfort, TX 78013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Comfort
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Comfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1850s Texas Landmark located in Comfort, TX centrally located in the Heart of the Texas Hill Country. Enjoy a full hot breakfast each morning while overlooking the banks of the Cypress Creek. Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces available in many suites. Private cottage is available with great view of the water overlooking the creek. Pool and Hot Tub available for your relaxation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing